Boot CD not able to see my USB Hard drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mujjuman, Nov 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mujjuman

    mujjuman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Posts:
    21
    Hello all!!
    I am using True Image 11. I have successfully backed up my hard drive to a USB hard drive.
    Now it is time to restore my image. I created a bootable CD using the tools in True Image 11.
    When I boot using the CD created in TI11, my USB hard drive isnt readable. Actually, its not even listed.
    USB boot IS enabled, and my computer is able to boot from USB drives/devices and "see" them otherwise.
    Before I used TI11, I had an older version (either 9 or 10 I forgot). I had made a CD from that and it worked just fine if I chose "Safe Mode".
    The new CD from TI11 only has "Full Mode" listed not "Safe Mode".
    I had this problem before and I read somewhere that the new bootable CD is not compatible etc (I cannot find the link anymore! :( ) so I successfully used the old CD to restore my image and it worked just fine (on this same computer).
    I do not have access to that CD because I am away from home and I need to restore my image right now.

    What should I do?
    I hope you all understand my problem and what I'm trying to say/ask.
     
  2. mujjuman

    mujjuman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Posts:
    21
  3. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Remake your TI Rescue CD from the TI Tools menu. You have 3 items which can be included in your CD and the Safe Mode is one of your options.

    Go to your personal Acronis registration page and fill out a support request for a new version of the CD which will see your usb drive.

    http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/my/updates/
     
  4. mujjuman

    mujjuman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Posts:
    21
    I did! The only items that are available are "Full Mode" and some other program that isnt "Safe Mode"

    (DriveCleanser)
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2008
  5. mujjuman

    mujjuman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Posts:
    21
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    You need to log into your Acronis account and download the Safe Media/BartPE addon. Once installed, you'll be able to include the Safe Media version on your TI CD.
     
  7. mujjuman

    mujjuman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Posts:
    21
    Oh I see... thank you.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    mujjuman, please submit a request to Acronis Customer Service Department here or use our Live Chat service here in order to receive immediate support, you should be prepared to give the operator your license information.

    Thank you.

    __

    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.