Boclean v4.22 Problem

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by peterc, Sep 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. peterc

    peterc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Australia
    I was using v4.21 and never had an a problem with it, but this latest version shuts itself down after I do a manual update.

    I have uninstalled it rebooted then cleaned registry and installed again, if it updates automatically there is no shutdown, it only occurrs when I manually update, very strange :doubt:

    Is anyone else having this little hiccup?

    My computer is XP home SP2 with latest updates and the apps running are Firefox v1.5.0.7 with these exts (Noscrpt, Adblock, AdblockfilterG updater, DictionarySearch), aswell as Nod32 2.51.26, ProcessGuard v3.410, Wormguard and LnS v2.05p3.

    peterc
     
  2. Robyn

    Robyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,189
    Hi

    I have just installed the new version and do not have the shutdown issue.
    I always use manual update for BOClean & have the auto update disabled within the config. settings if this makes any difference to the problem o_O Hopefully mine will continue to work as it is at the moment as I have only had the update after install which was an auto one. I will know more when I actually have an update to collect - just have 'you have the latest'
     
  3. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    Me too.

    I don't have the shut down issue. 4.22 is running as smooth as silk...:D :D
     
  4. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,617
    Location:
    Canada
    Same thing here.
     
  5. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Hi Peter,

    Is there perhaps a setting in your ProcessGuard that must be changed?
    Can you find something in the log from ProcessGuard?
    Unfortunately I have zero knowledge about ProcessGuard, so I am only guessing.
     
  6. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    PS:

    I assume that ProcessGuard must be temporarily disabled when installing a new program. Did you do that?
    Again: please note that I have no knowledge about ProcessGuard, so I am only guessing!
     
  7. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    Hm...I also have Process Guard 3.410 installed prior to installing BOClean 4.22 but I have disabled the protection from Process Guard before installing BOClean. After BOClean was successfully installe, protection from PG is restored. BOClean is running great with PG. However, both PG and BOClean are clean and fresh install for me in Windows 2000. Maybe some other programs are making the BOClean shut down. Peter may need to contact BOClean for support.
     
  8. MaB69

    MaB69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    540
    Location:
    Paris
    May be PG blocked silently the BOClean Kernel Monitor driver installation.

    Look at PG history

    I second FanJ, never install something trusted when PG protections are enabled

    MaB
     
  9. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Thanks Chubb and MaB69 for confirming what I thought ;)

    Well, at the moment we don't know whether Peter did disable ProcessGuard temporarily before installing the new BOClean.
    So we don't know whether that caused his problem or something else.

    BTW: I myself too run updates of my scanners manually. We'll see what happens with the next BOClean update ;)
     
  10. peterc

    peterc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Australia
    Hello thank you all for your feedback regarding my 'little hiccup'

    I disabled ProcessGuard and Nodv32 and Wormguard and also uninstalled the previous version of BoClean v4.21, before I installed the latest v4.22, there were no problems when I ran the installation , no messages or pop up alerts nothing, except for the usual wanting to access the internet which it did to find an update, then I did a reboot.

    When I rebooted PG was still disabled the only program that started again was Amon in Nod32.

    There was nothing in the PG alerts to say that it had blocked Boclean or any other program.

    I have no problems using PG with the version 4.21 ??

    I actually went back and downloaded the new version again and the same little hiccup occurred again, this is after running the reg cleaner in JV16 powertools.

    I've taken Boclean off at the moment, it's a long weekend here in OZ so I'll have to try isolating different apps one by one to see if I can find the 'culprit'

    Thank you all again

    I'll sort this out eventually just a process of elimination.

    Peter
     
  11. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    Hello Wilders Friends,
    I have had my new version of BoClean just under 24 hours on my PC. I do not know about auto update. I tried manual just now it said it found the update loaded it, but the date and time did not change. Hmmm.

    Hit reload/test update and the date changed. o_O
     
  12. MaB69

    MaB69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    540
    Location:
    Paris
    Hi peter,

    From Device Manager/ non PnP device (had to select show hidden devices) is BoClean Kernel Monitor driver correctly installed ?

    MaB
     
  13. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Hi Mercurie,

    Like you and Peter, I too had now a strange thing after manually downloading the update.
    Maybe I'll try later again. I can easily do that because I made a backup image with Acronis after I installed the new BOClean..
    Not sure at the moment what is happening...

    Cheers, Jan.
     
  14. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    OK, I restored a backup image made after I installed the new BOClean version.

    I tried again manually to update.
    Double left click on the BOClean icon near the clock.
    Click on "Check for update".
    The usual message box comes up, saying an update is available.
    It says "unpacking and verifying".
    That message box disappears.
    So far everything as usual.
    But now: nothing happens !
    The BOClean 4.22 Autoupdater seems to hang now; its message stays in the task-bar.
    The BOClean icon near the clock does not turn red (as it did in the past).
    Finally I click "Reload/test update" in the BOClean menu.
    Now in the BOClean menu the usual message "authenticating" appears and now I have the right date/time of the definition.
    I click "Close this menu" in the BOClean menu. It closes.
    But the message-box "BOClean 4.22 AutoUpdater" stays in the systray. It only disappears after I click somewhere on an empty space on the desktop.

    For the record some MD5 checksums:
    decode.exe
    MD5 - 587A96B58F77B5DEDF0E791324B3D858
    BOC422.001
    MD5 - C95B8DD9E81F177544FE286521754A62
    BOC422.EXE
    MD5 - E57AADC9E1573CF013A1ACD234F48817

    System:
    XP-home Dutch, fully updated as far as I know.
    NOD32, BOClean, IEClean, WormGuard, RegRun (but I close RegRun manually after the system has fully started up).
    The XP-firewall.
     
  15. peterc

    peterc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Australia
    Hello MaB69,

    I went to device manager, enabled show hidden devices and the Boclean kernel monitor is installed OK etc [this device working properly]

    I install as admin too

    I just installed Boclean v4.22 again tonight disabled PG, Wormguard and Nodv32 , rebooted and the same problems.

    If I just let Boclean run by itself and do not manually update, it auto updates OK and appears to be running OK but when I right clicked the icon next to clock in the task bar it shuts down.

    If I start Boclean again wait for it to auto update, I see that the auto updater message stays in the task bar next to the start button bottom left corner and as soon as I go to right click it and close it, Boclean shuts down.

    If I go to task manager after it says it has to close Bocore.exe is still running. I'm only new to Boclean as I purchased when the discount was available.

    It's a strange one this because I can install v4.21 and it runs smoothly no problems.

    My computer is an AMD Athlon 1.333, 512 DDR ram, video card is ATI Radeon 9250 256 ram

    Peter
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2006
  16. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,875
    Location:
    New England
    I see this behavior, too, on both of my Windows XP PCs with BOClean 4.22.

    The update doesn't seem to "apply itself" after a manual update is run, even if you close the BOClean menu and re-open it. You have to either hit "Reload/test update" or run a manual update again, which seems to force the authenticating process to occur.
     
  17. Robyn

    Robyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,189
    my first manual update this morning I had this icon although BOClean didn't shut down - I updated - reloaded test update and then noticed Autoupdate to the left just as I was about to close the icon it vanished itself.

    I don't have Autoupdate configured and BOclean updates manually as before but I didn't have the taskbar (left side) icon there with previous versions. Mine seems to be working just the icons o_O
     
  18. Cloudcroft

    Cloudcroft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Posts:
    433
    Location:
    The Hill Country of Texas
    I'm having similar problems with Boclean v4.22
     
  19. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    For your info:

    I have send an email to Kevin with link to this thread.
     
  20. Cerxes

    Cerxes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    Northern Europe
    The difference I have noted between 4.21 and 4.22 is that it scanns much more = higher frequence of CPU usage...

    Regards, C.
     
  21. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Same for me and also I fine that it takes much longer for Outlook to open up :(
     
  22. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    I see this too, it really slowed the pc, so much in fact (even after a new image) that i have uninstalled it and will simply wait for a fix or 5.0 when/if it's going to be released?
     
  23. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,875
    Location:
    New England
    Same slow down here on my older desktop system, though it's not bad on my newer laptop. CPU spikes are occurring very frequently as programs open, and at occasional other times. One of the past versions had a similar problem, and Kevin did manage to fix it with an update release.
     
  24. strangequark

    strangequark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    OZ
    Problems here too, can't manual update and no sign auto update is doing anything
     
  25. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Although I have none of the problems as described in this thread, I see that when running the manual updater, that the update is verified/reloaded while the updater has not completed it task (updater is still running).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.