BOClean and Jetico Personal Firewall

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by nameless, Mar 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    Is anyone using BOClean 4.12.x and Jetico Personal Firewall 1.0.1.56 together, on Windows XP? (Anyone also running NOD32 2.12.3 gets a gold star.)

    If so, how long have you been running these programs beside each other? And is everything working OK?

    I'm asking because I'm having problems with BOClean, and trying to narrow the problem down. And since the problem isn't reproducible on demand, and may not even occur every day, any bit of info may help.
     
  2. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    nameless,

    What's the specific nature of the problem?

    Blue
     
  3. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    Essentially, it's a total system freeze. Not a hard freeze though... At least some applications seem to keep working in the background, but I lose all control over the interface, and can't even reboot.

    It's really weird, and Kevin doesn't know right off what it is--which is why I'm wondering if it has something to do with JPF. I didn't want to disable JPF for an unknown amount of time, but it's no big deal...
     
  4. Ren1

    Ren1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    nameless

    I have boclean 4.12 & jetico 1.0.1.56 on xp

    these have been running together since 15th March without any problems so far

    Not using Nod so no gold star ;)
     
  5. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    Thanks. Aww crap, not what I wanted to hear. :(
     
  6. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Have had those three programs together for a couple of days (so I earned my star :p) . Not running them at the moment though (KAV/LnS/BOClean for now). Had no problems whatsoever.
     
  7. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    *
    Thanks for the feedback. I guess it's either something else, then, or BOClean alone.
    *
     
  8. dukebluedevil

    dukebluedevil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2002
    Posts:
    177
    I am using Jetico, but not BoClean with it.

    The only thing in Jetico that I can think of that might cause a problem is the Process Attack Table. You might want to try going into the Process Attack Table, then look for the rule that is second to the bottom: ? ASK "Suspicious process activity" event: Any. Change it to Accept and turn on the logging level to Alert. Now see if it still freezes up on you or not and check the logs to see if there are any red logs for Suspicious process activity that were allowed.
     
  9. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    You could also try to use the "Program excluder" in BOClean to exclude the NOD32 and Jetico executables from constant scanning.
     
  10. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    Thanks--good ideas. I'll try those suggestions.
     
  11. Robyn

    Robyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,189
    If it helps I have NOD32 and BOClean but not Jetico (Outpost Pro) all running fine.
     
  12. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    Kevin recommends excluding the entire BOClean folder, and the BOClean INI file, from NOD32. I didn't have it configured that way... Though I have trouble thinking that that was the problem.

    I've made a couple changes, now it's "wait for the next freeze... maybe". :(

    Thanks for the additional feedback.
     
  13. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    I haven't had a freeze in a few days now. The one change that seems to have done it is to add exclusions for the entire BOClean directory in NOD32--in SFN and LFN format (that is, "c:\progra~1\boclean" and "C:\Program Files\BOClean"). Kevin agrees with this.

    Previously (i.e. before I knew that NOD32 was hosing my system by scanning BOClean), I had excluded the BOClean directory by way of LFN alone. I knew that NOD32 was stupidly-designed in this regard, and that it the BOClean directory wouldn't be "truly excluded", but I didn't think it mattered--I only added the exclusion for performance reasons in the first place, and adding an LFN entry seemed to be enough (since I stopped seeing BOClean.exe being scanned continuously).

    I think this adds a lot of weight to my argument on how NOD32 shouldn't need the user to screw around with LFN and SFN entries individually. And it's a real kick to the nuts for those who think it's just dandy that it does.

    Thanks to everyone who replied.
     
  14. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    No jetico, but have NOD32 and BOClean. Get an occasional freeze, seems to be BOClean though, not NOD32. Spikes to 100% utilization.
     
  15. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    With the freezes I was having, I couldn't even see what was going on--it may have been that I was having CPU spikes, too. But I lost all control over the interface, so my hands were tied.

    I know that Kevin is working on a compatibility issue between ProcessGuard and BOClean 4.12, and that that problem involves CPU usage.

    It's an aggravating problem no matter the cause. I guess an email to PSC is your best option.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.