blue screen of death

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by roxdoctorp, Apr 19, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. roxdoctorp

roxdoctorp Registered Member

hi guys..anyone got the wits for this?!

first off i am a relative novice..so go easy on the tech lingo.

w-xp home, 800MB RAM, 1.6GHZ pent 4/20GB etc.

story:

i am having multiple problems and i dont want 2 reformat/clean install
    basically i got a "blue screen of death" and a dell rep helped me temp thru it
    with som repair using thee re/installation cd. she said i would lose som files
    in the process + indeed i did.

i have copied all pertenant stuff in case of an inevitable clean install.

basically i dont really know the culprit.what i know is that couple weeks ago
    spybot caught "my soft" + expanding the Plus sign revealed redirected host
    dektop.kazaa.com=127.0.0.1.....? file is being used and wont be able to be removed?

at some point,weeks late the system started acting funny. did all the needed scans
    with updates(avg,spybot,spysweeper,xcleaner,online virus scan from trendmicro.com
    etc)+ everything is ok + yet got the blue error screen.

dell partially repaired this helping boot into w-xp.

so far i have also performed chkdsk,sfc-/scannow with installtn cd..nothin' !

right now, the boot is VERY SLOW + when i log into my user account, i get a message
    that the system has no paging file or the paging file is too small.
    despite my efforts to reset the file(1.5x RAM for initial size and 3x that for max) i
    constantly get this message when i log in.

there is no audio. when i go to control panel>sound/audio devices, volume controlls
    are shaded/greyed out. when dell first partially repaired system, there was a message
    that CLTFACE.SYS file is missing. i tried downloading it from www.dynamiclink but
    i get crazy PAYPAL messages! so i uninstalled soundblaster and reinstalled it from the cd.