Blocking China

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Rainwalker, Oct 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Is there a simple way to block China IPs as the China IP Ranges number about 500?
     
  2. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Hello,
    Could you please clarify what you want to do? Inbound, outbound?
    Mrk
     
  3. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    I just need the ranges Mrkvonic...i will block in/out......thank you
     
  4. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi, folks: As I can see, their IP may range from 58(such as 58.34.19) to 222(such as 222.204.15). Beyond that, I do not know.
     
  5. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, those are their ranges..i was wondering if there was some way to block the lot of them, other then entering each range piecemeal into a program.
     
  6. controler

    controler Guest

    Not sure if you were going to do this via software or hardware firewall
    but here is a site which generates an IP range script for the country you chose.

    You may have seen it already.

    http://blacklist.linuxadmin.org/
     
  7. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks controler.....i really do not know what to do with a long list like that....suggestions
     
  8. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    PeerGuardian 2 perhaps?
    (btw OA2 can block countries, i thought that was pretty cool :) )
     
  9. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Hello Pedro....Vista OS
     
  10. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Hello,
    There is a beta release if you're interested, but use at you own risk etc.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.