Blocking a program

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by TONPumper, Aug 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TONPumper

    TONPumper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Posts:
    112
    Since ESS disables my Windows firewall and uses its own rules, how do I block an application from accessing the internet? o_O
     
  2. Geraner

    Geraner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Stockholm / Sweden
    Hi,

    You can still block your own programs but you have to change the firewall settings.

    Go to the Firewall settings of ESS.
    At "Filtering mode" change from "Automatic mode" to "Automatic mode with exceptions (user-defined rules).
    Go in Firewall settings to "Rules and zones".
    Click on "Setup.." under "Zone and rule editor".
    Click in the "Rules" map on "New". Give the rule you want to create a name.
    Check that the settings are "Direction = Both" and "Action = Deny".
    Go the map "Local" and click under Applications on "Browse...". Select the application you want to block access to and from the internet.
    Press on OK to save the new created rule.
    Press OK once again to close and save the "Zone and rule setup" window.
     
  3. TONPumper

    TONPumper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Posts:
    112
    Thanks! Now I have another question: if a program has an option to add an exception to the Windows Firewall, should I uncheck this option, since I'm not using Windows Firewall?
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2010
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Might as well disallow it in case you ever fall back to windows fw
     
  5. TONPumper

    TONPumper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Posts:
    112
    Will I have to add the exception to ESS manually?
     
  6. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    If you want it to connect out and ESS does not allow it, then yes
     
  7. TONPumper

    TONPumper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Posts:
    112
    Okay, now for a general question: Do I have to continuously add exceptions to the firewall?

    For example, when Skype updates, it asks me if I want to add an exception to the firewall. I just left it checked every update and when I looked at my firewall exceptions, I had a lot of Skypes! I don't think all of those are needed, but then again, I'm not 100% sure. And now that I'm using ESS, I shouldn't add exceptions to the Windows firewall if they already exist, right?
     
  8. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Right
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.