Blocked out of Yahoo! Malware?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by still_longhorn, Oct 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. still_longhorn

    still_longhorn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    256
    Whenever I try to log in to my Yahoo ID, I go into a loop... Have I been blocked or malware?
     
  2. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    I guess your internet browser is blocking cookies from yahoo.
     
  3. Marja

    Marja Honestly, I'm not a bot!!

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    In the Vast Fields of My Mind
    I use Yahoo sometimes, what do you mean you go in a loop? It won't log you in at all? Or it keeps asking you to sign in over and over again?
     
  4. still_longhorn

    still_longhorn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    256

    Makes me sign in over & over again...
     
  5. still_longhorn

    still_longhorn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    256
    Hi nadira,

    Unblocking the cookies enabled me to access my disposable ads. However, I can't delete nor reply to any mail... what happened?
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,797
    Location:
    Texas
    You need javascript for Yahoo mail also.
     
  7. still_longhorn

    still_longhorn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    256
    Hi guys! Thanks a lot. Enabled cookies & Java script in my trusted zone and included Yahoo there. Finally got things going... I can open, answer and delete mail again... Thanks for the help...

    Longhorn
     
  8. still_longhorn

    still_longhorn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    256
    Wow! All these malware, sleazeware business is making me see spies under my bed! When anything goes wrong, I see things in the context of malware. LOL! Sometimes, I forget the basics....
     
  9. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,878
    Location:
    New England
    Here's a topic you may want to read regarding just what exactly you entered as trusted in your browser to make that email work.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=268354

    yahoo.com is very large and covers a whole lot of content you may not want to trust besides email. Did you enter only the email site itself, or all of yahoo.com into the trusted zone?
     
  10. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Here is an example of cookies I have in Firefox relating to Yahoo.

    2 allowed to log in to Yahoo mail and how LWM was explaining the name differences and 1 blocking all the rest of yahoo's domains [group].

    Cheers, TAS
     

    Attached Files:

  11. still_longhorn

    still_longhorn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    256
    Unfortunately, all of Yahoo although I have really been very suspicious of the website since Spybot has intercepted quite a lot of bad cookies sprayed along the way. I'm removing yahoo.com and enabling just login and mail.

    Thanks guys!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.