Blocked out of Yahoo! Malware?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by still_longhorn, Oct 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. still_longhorn

    still_longhorn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    256
    Whenever I try to log in to my Yahoo ID, I go into a loop... Have I been blocked or malware?
     
  2. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    I guess your internet browser is blocking cookies from yahoo.
     
  3. Marja

    Marja Honestly, I'm not a bot!!

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    In the Vast Fields of My Mind
    I use Yahoo sometimes, what do you mean you go in a loop? It won't log you in at all? Or it keeps asking you to sign in over and over again?
     
  4. still_longhorn

    still_longhorn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    256

    Makes me sign in over & over again...
     
  5. still_longhorn

    still_longhorn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    256
    Hi nadira,

    Unblocking the cookies enabled me to access my disposable ads. However, I can't delete nor reply to any mail... what happened?
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    64,286
    Location:
    Texas
    You need javascript for Yahoo mail also.
     
  7. still_longhorn

    still_longhorn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    256
    Hi guys! Thanks a lot. Enabled cookies & Java script in my trusted zone and included Yahoo there. Finally got things going... I can open, answer and delete mail again... Thanks for the help...

    Longhorn
     
  8. still_longhorn

    still_longhorn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    256
    Wow! All these malware, sleazeware business is making me see spies under my bed! When anything goes wrong, I see things in the context of malware. LOL! Sometimes, I forget the basics....
     
  9. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    18,133
    Location:
    New England
    Here's a topic you may want to read regarding just what exactly you entered as trusted in your browser to make that email work.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=268354

    yahoo.com is very large and covers a whole lot of content you may not want to trust besides email. Did you enter only the email site itself, or all of yahoo.com into the trusted zone?
     
  10. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Here is an example of cookies I have in Firefox relating to Yahoo.

    2 allowed to log in to Yahoo mail and how LWM was explaining the name differences and 1 blocking all the rest of yahoo's domains [group].

    Cheers, TAS
     

    Attached Files:

  11. still_longhorn

    still_longhorn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    256
    Unfortunately, all of Yahoo although I have really been very suspicious of the website since Spybot has intercepted quite a lot of bad cookies sprayed along the way. I'm removing yahoo.com and enabling just login and mail.

    Thanks guys!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.