Block China and Russia

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by treehouse786, Jul 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    i would like to remove all possibility of my computer being able to connect to Chinese and Russian domains/networks.

    go easy on me as i have no idea how to go about this but i would like to accomplish without installing anything (would just like to use windows 7 OS built in tools and maybe router config.

    i do recall seeing similar threads but alas i could not find them using the search function.

    thanks in advance
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  3. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    thanks but what do i do with those i.p's?

    how do i use them?
     
  4. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Host file!
     
  5. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    You are the weakest link. Goodbye. :-* (Sorry, but I had to say it. :D :thumb: )

    @ treehouse786

    You could use the portable version of PeerBlock and use IP blacklists to block China and Russia.
     
  6. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Those will block China and Korea, not Russia. :)
     
  7. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    What are you waiting for? Post them ;)
     
  8. noway

    noway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Posts:
    351
  9. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    :argh: I could swear that I did. Then again, it was nearly 5 AM here. :D

    Anyway user noway mentioned a site that provides them. Here you can get for different formats -https://www.countryipblocks.net/e_country_data/

    Those for PeerBlock/PeerGuardian/other that supports the same format list are those lists ending with _pg2.txt

    This is a direct link for PG2 format, though https://www.countryipblocks.net/country-blocks/pg2-format/ (I always missed this link in the main page, for some reason. :oops: )

    You can also get them from here (different author(s)). -http://www.iblocklist.com/lists.php

    I knew another service, but the lists haven't been updated in a while, since I last verified, though. I'll see if I can remember about it.
     
  10. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Where was your computer manufactured? Why are there Russian tools on your site, and I presume your setup?
     
  11. Pinga

    Pinga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Posts:
    1,420
    Location:
    Europe
    Don't forget the network infrastructure :D

    Seriously though, the notion that one's sense of safety can be enhanced by removing 'all possibility of my computer being able to connect to Chinese and Russian domains/networks' is not only naive - it's on the verge of racism.
     
  12. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    i think YOU are being naive, i have been testing malware at an amateur level for many years and i know for a fact that most of the malware that 'calls home' have their home situated in china or russia.

    on the verge of racism? lol its MY computer...i should be able to block whoever i want without any form of prejudice.. ;)
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2011
  13. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    whats that got to do with anything? i paid for my computer so i can do as i wish with it. if all you have for input is 'morals related' then post on a different forum, this is a security forum.

    by the way this is not for myself, it for my customers who would like this doing, my personal security will not be affected by blocking certain countries but less tech savvy people will benefit from this for sure.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2011
  14. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    hi KOR

    how do i add all the IP's to the host file without manually adding 127.0.0.1 before each IP?
     
  15. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Most computers are made in China. Morals are a part of computer security, especially malware and subjects like this.

    Change you first contradictory post then. They won't be able to access much of the internet then.
     
  16. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Please stay on subject. OP expressed a simple wish of blocking ip addresses.
     
  17. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    You don't. You can't block IPs with the hosts file. Only domains. Unless there's some way, which I'd love to know about.
     
  18. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    There's one more service where you can get lists to block countries.

    -http://services.ce3c.be/ciprg/

    -edit-

    One more: -http://www.ipdeny.com/ipblocks/
     
  19. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    791
    Location:
    India
    Am not sure with W7 inbuilt tools. but (if you are willing to try) with OA, you can simply add the list of countries you want to block it. Its just a matter of few clicks.

    Thanks,
    Harsha.
     
  20. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    thanks for the info guys :thumb:
     
  21. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    RequestPolicy (Firefox/SeaMonkey add-on) has a regional filter on set-up. If that's any help, I can't think of anything else.
     
  22. trismegistos

    trismegistos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Posts:
    365
    Sophisticated attackers would use proxy or their captive botnets. Hardening your system(firewalls, NoScript, default-deny policy, etc) from such attacks is enough. No need to block some IP's or domains.
     
  23. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,267
    Location:
    England

    Attached Files:

  24. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    Correct. And if I were to go that direction, I would assign them all 0.0.0.0 rather than 127.0.0.1, and even then this will stop only outbound connections. It will do nothing for inbound. A properly configured firewall would take care of the inbound. Just pointing that out so nobody thinks a HOSTS file will stop it all.
     
  25. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    Looks like they are never going to support server OS (2008, 2008r2). :(
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.