Block a specific file in NOD32

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by mzbcracker, Oct 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mzbcracker

    mzbcracker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Posts:
    13
    hi.i use ESET Smart Security 5 Trial.i used to use McAfee and Kaspersky.now i want to shift to ESET Smart Security 5.and i have some questions:

    1-in McAfee and Kaspersky i could deny access to a specific file.for example i could deny access to autorun.inf files so that when i clicked on them, it would give me the following message: "access to this file is Denied".or i could deny access to any other file.How can i deny access to a specific file in NOD32 ??

    2-How can i Exclude a Process from being scanned in Nod32?? i know how to exclude files and folders but i want a process to be excluded.by the way i have searched all the forum for this and i haven't found the answer to my question.
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2012
  2. Niels

    Niels Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Belgium
    Hello mzbcracker,

    Answer to your first question :

    Right click on the Eset icon (green circle) near the system clock, in the context menu click on advanced setup, open Computer section by clicking on + after expand antivirus and antispyware removable media, check the box filter device access. There you can allow or deny access to a removable device. Or you can create a new rule in HIPS to deny access to certain files.

    Answer to your second question:

    A process is also file. Open task manager right click on process name and click on show file location. All what you have to do is exclude the location of the process file in the exception list of the realtime protection.

    Regards
    Niels
     
  3. mzbcracker

    mzbcracker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Posts:
    13
    hi.thanks for the reply but this is not what i want.
    for the first question i do not want to block access to USB disk completely.i want to block only access to "autorun.inf" and some other files.and when i try to make a rule in HIP, nod32 does not block "autorun.inf".maybe you can help me to block it with HIP.
    for the second question : a file and a process are two different subjects.i do not want to stop scanning a specific .exe file and its folder.i want to stop scanning all the activities that are done by a .exe file and that is excluding a complete process and all the activities it does on a pc.
    i'd appreciate any answer in advance.
     
  4. mzbcracker

    mzbcracker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Posts:
    13
    hi.i have a trial nod.i want to decide to buy it.can you please guide me??
    those issues are very important for me.can anybody help??
     
  5. mzbcracker

    mzbcracker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Posts:
    13
    if there isn't such feature in nod32 please tell me.i'm deciding to choose an antivirus.if there's no such option i wanna swtich to another av.please answer me.
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    Blocking a specific file(s) is simple: create a new HIPS blocking rule with the "Start new application" operation selected on the "Target applications" tab and browse for the desired files or folders in the right pane:
     

    Attached Files:

  7. mzbcracker

    mzbcracker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Posts:
    13
    i did what you said.but it does not work.believe me.i tried to block a file in h:\ and it didn't block it.here's a picture:
    please help.i do need it.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 222.png
      222.png
      File size:
      41.7 KB
      Views:
      946
  8. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    Autorun.inf is not executed but interpreted by the operating system so there's a difference and this will not work.
     
  9. mzbcracker

    mzbcracker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Posts:
    13
    i could do that in kaspersky and mcafee.so what should i do now ??
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.