Blink Personal Edition

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by rookieman, Jan 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rookieman

    rookieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    409
    Has anyone ever ran this software here?My buddy phoned me up and asked about this product from Eeye.I just thought I would ask about it here.I know nothing about this software at all.Thanks for any info on this.o_O
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,729
    Location:
    Texas
  3. rookieman

    rookieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    409
    Thank-you ronjor,I'll tell my buddy to give this a read.It's tough sometimes when people asks about software that I know nothing about!:thumb:
     
  4. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I think the suite is still free for a year.:thumb:
     
  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    But it is still not Vista compatable!!!!:(
     
  6. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    they say it will require SP1 and should be out in Febuary.
     
  7. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    sounds good :thumb: :thumb:
     
  8. rookieman

    rookieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    409
    You are correct on both of these.He's running Vista and it's free for a year.I'll tell him to wait for SP1 for sure.:thumb:
     
  9. ethernal

    ethernal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    132
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    i haven tried Blink, but eEyes other corporate products are impressive, like Iris and Retina. well, they used to be anyway, haven't been in contact with them for some time, most corps in need of a checkup uses a combination of snort and nessus
     
  10. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
    For america and canada, europe did work once, but one day, my key dropped dead. :'(
     
  11. s4u

    s4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    It's a pitty it's only in the US. I would have loved to test it
     
  12. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Go through an anonymous proxy server.
     
  13. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    or maybe one of the U.S lads can send you the free key and program :)
     
  14. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
    I know how to do that, but all seem to be paid and jap don't offer no free american. dont no tor.
     
  15. DasFox

    DasFox Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,825
    I played with Iris when this company first began years ago, and I forgot all about them. Iris seemed like a pretty decent program years ago. One thing for sure is eEyes has been around, so I'd love to see how Blink stacks up.

    I just wish this thing didn't have a firewall...

    Interesting what the Norman article says on their site:

    we had a large kind of honey pot that we had set up with about 20 or so antivirus vendors, and consistently the one company that kept detecting viruses ahead of time, before everybody else, was Norman...

    Personally I've never known of Norman for being a head of any of the big names in AVs at all, for someone like eEye to consider them, hmmm
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2008
  16. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    I believe eeye's decision to use norman isn't based on its detection rate but on other technology that norman incorporates into their engine.

    You can disable the firewall and other components if you don't need it.
     
  17. s4u

    s4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    That's actually a good idea.
    Anyoneo_O?:thumb:
     
  18. rookieman

    rookieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    409
    I've sent you a key.Post your opinions on this.
     
  19. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
    send me one please. :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
     
  20. s4u

    s4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    thanx, will test it for you
     
  21. rookieman

    rookieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    409
    I'm considering giving this a run.My KIS only has a few days left!!!
     
  22. s4u

    s4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    unfortunately I'm on Vista. Program does not work with Vista
     
  23. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
    Again, thanks for the key program is very light i have to say. 7of10 i would say. :)
     
  24. s4u

    s4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    I see you changed to McAfee?
     
  25. DasFox

    DasFox Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,825
    Even though you can disable things, it sure would be nice if they made a lighter version, just an AV/malware app.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.