Blank Log

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by tiptop78, Sep 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tiptop78

    tiptop78 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Hi,
    started using LnS after ditching Comodo, I am using Phantom's rule set version 8. Tested at the various test sites it's fully stealthed. The only problem is, when I view logs it's just a blank page. Can someone advice me on this please.

    regards
     
  2. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi tiptop78,

    When visiting the Look 'n' Stop - 'Welcome' screen, does your machines IP address show? or does it show with '0.0.0.0' in that IP address field?

    Are you behind a Router? If yes, is the NAT Firewall enabled or disabled?


    Regards,
    Phant0m``
     
  3. tiptop78

    tiptop78 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Hi Phantom,
    my IP address displays on the welcome screen ok, I am behind Netgear D834G v3 router. The firewall is enabled.

    regards
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hi tiptop78,

    What I do is remove everything from Application Filtering and then reboot and that seems to sort things for me!

    HTH,

    TH ;)
     
  5. tiptop78

    tiptop78 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Hi Triple Helix,
    tried your suggestion, but still blank log page.Thanks for trying.

    regards
     
  6. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    Maybe there is simply nothing to log. This may happen if you router blocks already most of the unwanted packets.

    Did you check the stats on the welcome page ?
    If they stay at 0 there is a problem, it they are not at 0, then the packet filter is working.

    If you want to check the log anyway, you can temporary enable the log attribute (the !) for the rule "TCP: allow most of the standard protocols", open a web page, and the log should contain some alerts. Don't forget to remove the ! after the test, to avoid having a big log for nothing.

    Frederic
     
  7. tiptop78

    tiptop78 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Hi Frederic,
    the only stat at 0 is "Filtered packets in downlink"

    I will do the test that you suggest.

    regards
     
  8. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    So, the packet filter is running properly and probably your router is already filtering the incoming packets.

    Frederic
     
  9. tiptop78

    tiptop78 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Looks that way Frederic, thanks for your time.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.