Black Screen woes

Discussion in 'Prevx Betas' started by Triple Helix, Dec 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2009
  2. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Black screen eh: I had something similar the other day :ouch:
    Dual screen set-up: one screen BLACK, secondary screen showing mouse but black background: heh, no response to clicking anywhere.

    Not even sure what I was doing at the time :doubt: : I think, readjusting the graphics(nvidia)/desktop settings: I might have 'done' something; but nothing I haven't done before. In the middle of adjusting settings, had to answer the phone, came back to Black screens. :eek:

    No obvious malware related problems; no new in/uninstalls no beta testing, very routine day; so possibly different to TH, and looks like many causes around.

    On another box; Googled that search:
    http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&q=black screen windows for clues..

    I rebooted to safe mode and tried various fixes with no luck after several reboots...reaching for imaging apps...XP nlite and FDISR...mumbling under breath..

    Rebooted back to safe mode and used "Last known Good Configuration"..rebooted..worked !!!... and back to normal screen.

    Large sigh of relief.
    Scanned with all the tools at hand = NADA.
    Interesting -somewhat alarming- problem .
    LOL, makes a change from other BSOD , still same acronym.:)
    Really didnt need anything new..:gack:
    Hopefully wont need PrevX fix any time soon.
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2009
  3. rolarocka

    rolarocka Guest

    I have seen this black screen two times and made a reformat because there was nearly no info on the net about this. It would only load the windows explorer after reboot and nothing else, no desktop no taskbar. The Task Manager worked though.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 1, 2009
  4. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  5. sded

    sded Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    I had the problem on one machine (Vista Ultimate x32, Prevx, Avast5, OA4) just after the updates, happened after a later reboot, and solved it by going back to an image prior to the updates. Didn't know about the Prevx patch then, but applied it anyway just in case. Also didn't reapply a couple of the updates I thought were superfluous. No recurrence.
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    So who's problem is it?

    http://blogs.technet.com/msrc/archi...of-issues-with-november-security-updates.aspx

    TH
     
  8. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Very true and the Fix that Prevx supplied is working fine on my machine thanks to them! :thumb:

    TH

    Edit: It was a funny situation on Boot up it goes to the sign in screen I put my password in and click my Icon then it would take longer then usual goes to Black screen with MY Computer page only no desktop or taskbar so I could run anything I want to because the My computer page was there so I went to system Restore and picked a restore point and went back a rebooted and all was well for a couple of days then it did it again so I did another restore to fix it then got the info from Prevx to fix it and we will see if it happens again!

    So system restore does work sometimes!:D
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2009
  10. Eice

    Eice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    1,413
    "At least"?

    You seem to have rather low standards of what you expect from software companies. As far as I'm concerned, I'd expect no less that the company that caused the problems to fix them.
     
  11. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Caused the problem..... Not very versed with Microsoft are you, Black screen of death is nothing new. It hit vista it self quite hard in its early days, Its not just one company that causes it.

    We traded in our BOSD's (Blue Screen of Death) for the Upgraded BOSD's (Black screen of Death)
     
  12. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Windows 7 and its built in System image does a good job also.
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I use Acornis TI so that's not a problem! ;)
     
  14. Eice

    Eice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    1,413
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2009
  15. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
  16. Eice

    Eice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    1,413
    And this changes the fact that this black screen isn't Microsoft's fault, how?
     
  17. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
  18. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Had to chuckle at LoveSophos comment
    Actually I read somewhere recently that MS points to the cause of maybe malware.
     
  19. sded

    sded Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    The only thing I have seen is statements that malware could cause this, not that it did cause this particular set of incidents. I was running Prevx and Avast5 RT, also OA in run safer when I downloaded the updates and got the BSOD. Also had run MBAM and SAS earlier. But looking for unknown malware that appeared with the updates and mysteriously disappeared afterward is probably part of the investigation. And I rhink Microsoft response is actually "you can't prove we did it" at this point. BTW, in these incidents it is not just a black screen, but a black background with a working copy of Explorer in the center, which I think adds to the confusion.
     
  20. Eice

    Eice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    1,413
  21. rolarocka

    rolarocka Guest

    Haha yeah. I was really thinking of making a fake BSOD screenshot for him. But then i thought nah... Too much work uploading etc.
    :)
     
  22. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    I have had a quick look here and there and must ask others here on Wilders.

    Has anyone who does not use PrevX experienced the Black Screen Of Deatho_O
    That is, the recent one not the older ones.
     
  23. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Lol.

    Mmm, maybe a one word answer will do...
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2009
  24. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    It don't Exonerate anything. It says Microsoft says it could be Malware, STILL pointing the finger elsewhere even tho its there updates that triggered it. But meh we are just going in circles now. Guess we will just agree to disagree. ;)
     
  25. Eice

    Eice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    1,413
    *facepalms*

    Dude, did you even read the article?

    "Windows updates do NOT cause the black screen of death ..."

    I don't see how one can be any clearer than that.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.