BKDR_HACKARMY.J Is TDS really the best?

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by jhietter, Jan 25, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jhietter

jhietter Registered Member

I guess I'm a bit a novice re security, so maybe someone can set me straight. On 1/24/04, I was transferring files just fine, but my browsers wouldn’t work, so I took a look at my processes. I found svchhhost.exe running from my system32 folder & it obviously seemed suspect (svchhhost instead of svchost). As soon as I killed it, my browser worked again. So I put it in its own folder & scanned that folder with TDS, AVG, AdAware & Spybot and none of them found anything. When I ran it myself, I did a mutex memory scan & a process memory scan in TDS and it found nothing!! I searched all the major security software sites and only one has record of it; TrendMicro; in an article about BKDR_HACKARMY.J. I tested it out & this thing runs exactly like they say it does. They found it on 1/21/04. I submitted the file to TDS, but I thought the scans in TDS would pick up on this type of process, even if it was a new one. It's been 4 days since Trend Micro discovered it & still no one has any record of it. I know what TDS is, and yes, I also always have a virus scanner & 2 firewalls (soft/hard) running, but I'm losing my faith in TDS a bit. Can someone set me straight?
    Thanks,
    John

2. Jooske

Jooske Registered Member

Hi John, Welcome!
    You zipped and send it to submit@diamondcs.com.au and/or gavindcs@iinet.net.au and no reply yet?
    Do you mind zipping and sending it again to both addresses to make sure they have it?
    Thanks in advance!

There are several variants in the pirmaries list since some time, this might be another variant.
    I'm going to dig for the info now.

You might like on the www.avp.ru site, in top get the english site, at the bottom get the "online virus check" and have in a few seconds the KAV analyses of the file too.

3. jhietter