Bitdefender: light on resources?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by zeppelin1919, Dec 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zeppelin1919

    zeppelin1919 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Italy
    In this moment I am using Dr.Web trial (AV) + Sygate PF Free (FW).
    I really like to try Bitdefender, but i don't know if it can works on my old pc (Amd Duron 800M - 128M Ram - WIN XP PRO SP2).
    Is better for me to choose Bitdefender AV 10 or Bitdefender IS 10?
    I really like to try Bitdefender 'couse I alwais love its GUI (I used BD8 for 1 year)

    Do you think I can do this test or is better for me to keep me Dr.Web and Sygate (they run very good and it is very light on resources).

    Thanks a lot for your help and suggests.

    zeppelin
     
  2. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    light on resources, can mean 2 different things.

    ram usage: bitdefender IS 10 will use the lowest amount than any other suite.
    system performance: you might notice a 'very slight slowdown'

    i would use the IS over the AV, as the IS has better firewall and more features, for not much more in price.

    i have to add that avg suite, although uses between 35-50mb ram, is by 'far' the best for performance, and you will notice a significantly faster machine, especially boot times.

    bitdefender is a great product, will work no problems im sure with your machine, so try the trial.

    if un-installing bitdefender, when it asks you to reboot 'please do it' as you might be left with a corupt windows security centre still saying bitdefender is turned off even though you un-installed it, so make sure to reboot when it tells you to, if you dont and do experience this problem... there is a removal tool from bitdefender, so no worries.

    good luck and keep us posted.
     
  3. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Before thinking of additional software, particularly running BD in real-time, I would recommend increasing your installed RAM on XP to at least 512 MB. You should then be able to trial a wider variety of programs, including AV's.
    If you decide to stay with the same amount of memory, then I would definitely stay with this combination, particularly with Dr Web as your primary AV. However, there may well be better choices than Sygate as a firewall.

    With your older system, light footprint software is the key.
     
  4. EsoxLucius

    EsoxLucius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    The official system requirements are:

    Code:
    - Pentium II 350 MHz or higher processor
    - Minimum 128 MB of RAM Memory (256 MB recommended)
    - Minimum 60 MB available hard disk space
    
    Operating Environment:
    Windows 2000/XP IE 5.5 (+)
    The performance slowdown isn't noticeably, unless your machine is filled with other software that has resident proccesses in your memory.
     
  5. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    im suprised xp runs on that machine, try and limit your ram usage.

    stick with dr.web / maybe get outpost for firewall for low ram usage.
     
  6. EsoxLucius

    EsoxLucius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    Yeah maybe you should try a Win 2000 sollution. I know I did that with my PII@350, veeeeeeery old but did his job.
     
  7. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    As for a firewall, I ran Kerio 2.1.5 when I only had 128, and later 256 Megs with W98. I never had any trouble. For additional info, I also had BD as my AV.

    I still use Kerio 2.1.5 on my laptop. I think it is a very good firewall, and is very light. It does not have bells and whistles, but I have never felt the need for more than it is.

    Best,
    Jerry
     
  8. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    outpost 4 only uses about 6mb ram if memory serves me right, and that does offer great firewall protection with the bells and whistles, sort of. :)
     
  9. zeppelin1919

    zeppelin1919 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Italy
    Thank you all for the help.
    I need to upgrade my pc with new ram.

    In the next days i will start to try BD 10 AV.
    Then i will post here my impression.

    zeppelin
     
  10. disinter1

    disinter1 Guest

    I hope bitdefender is a good choice for you, but Dr Web has been darn great and I love it, so maybe if needed try Dr Web again.:D
     
  11. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    yayyyy for dr.web :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.