BitDefender IS 2008 problem

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Tony, Apr 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    722
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Hi, In the bitdefender realtime settings, if i enable http scanner, then click ok and close the gui, when i open the settings again the http scanner has been disabled.

    I have uninstalled/reinstalled.
    Downloaded BDinternet security again, tried a repair install but the http scanner setting does not stick.

    I am sure that i read somewhere on wilders that there was a gui problem for some people but i have been unable to find it.

    I have posted this problem yesterday on BD`s forum but i have not as yet had a reply.

    Anyone have any of the same or similar experiences?
     
  2. s4u

    s4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    Why not post in the BitDefender forum?
     
  3. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    He did. Read the complete post. :rolleyes:
     
  4. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum

    Did you try running the uninstall tool after using the normal add/remove method, then try reinstalling?

    http://bitdefender.com/uninstall
     
  5. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    722
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Thanks for the suggestion NAMOR.

    I have just tried this and the realtime protection still reverts back to default.:(
     
  6. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    722
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    I would assume that this must be a gui problem then as if i go to http://www.speedtest.bbmax.co.uk/
    After enabling realtime default settings, then the scan starts immediately and performs quite quickly.
    Then if i enable http scanning, the gui when restarted shows the setting back to default, but the speedtest takes a few seconds to start, and takes much longer to complete..

    So i take it that the http scanning is actually saved and working and it is just a gui problem not showing the saved settings once restarted.
     
  7. Nike_P

    Nike_P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Europe
    please post on their forum, we dont know if there is a GUI or not.
    i wish i could help you, but let the support of bitdefender help you better there.
     
  8. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    722
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Hi yes i have done and sent an email to support.

    I will update should an answer or solution be found.
     
  9. s4u

    s4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    You are right.
    I think I'm getting old ;)
     
  10. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    722
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    I gave on bitdefender.
    Someone kindly tried to help on the forum without success.
    The only reply from support was to tell me how to enable http traffic scanner inspite of the fact that i had already explained that exact procedure to them in my contact with supporto_O

    I would assume the the scanner was performing as when i tried a speed test it was very slow, but when i reset default settings then the speed test performed as normal.

    So i guess that there must be some bug with the gui.
    I was prepared to work with support to find a solution but if they cannot be bothered to reply again then its time to move on.

    Next please.
     
  11. EsoxLucius

    EsoxLucius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    I'm sorry to hear that no one could help you with your problem. As you know the best way for support is by using the classic support from BitDefender. The forums although are built and managed by us are just a mean for users, fans and techies to meet and discuss about anything that has to do with security and antiviruses. The thing that everybody comes there for support doesn't make it an official support forum.

    Sorry again and I hope you will at least try to test a little the new BETA for 2009.
     
  12. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    722
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    I did try bitdefenders classic support (quite why classic god only knows)
    The first reply which in their favour was quite quick only told me how to enable traffic scanner, which i had explained in my contact to them i had done exactly.

    The second reply then took just over a week asking me to try what niels on the forum had already asked me to try which was unsuccessful that i had also explained to support.

    Thanks for the suggestion EsoxLucius, but bitdefender has a long way to go in improving the products and support if they are to be taken seriously in computer security
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.