Bitdefender Free

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by WilliamP, Aug 16, 2015.

  1. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I have a good friend that is computer illiterate. He has an old Dell with XP. It had never been updated. So I have tried to get it up to date. I took off Norton and tried to install Avira. Well I found out that I couldn't because it was XP. So I installed Bitdefender free. Well he told me there was something wrong. It was shut down. It said the Trial had run out. What kind of Free is that.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2015
  2. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    If it is truly BitDefender Free, there is no trial, and it is indeed free with no restrictions.

    Btw, asking what is the best free av will get this thread closed in seconds...

    Make sure you actually have the BD Free version first, and if necessary, uninstall the trial product, and install the free one.
     
  3. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Thank you.
     
  4. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
  5. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,097
  6. Spokesman

    Spokesman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    383
    Location:
    Belgium
    It is free but you have to register after 30 days with a bitdefender account to enjoy the free version.
     
  7. Impet

    Impet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    896
  8. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
  9. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
  10. Wendi

    Wendi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    522
    Location:
    NY, USA
    To the best of my knowledge there hasn't been any official word (from Bitdefender) re further development of BD-Free. I only know that it is still supported (updating in a timely manner) and performing very well on our Win7 PCs.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2016
  11. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,152
    hi
    i have installed the free version on a laptop with w10 64bit and it works perfectly
    light ,very light , i really like it
    never had a problem with it under w10
    i had more problem marked compatible with w10 like eset smart security 8 (w10 compatible ) and v9
     
  12. Spokesman

    Spokesman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    383
    Location:
    Belgium
    It can't be perfect because its not compatible with Win 10 !!
     
  13. haakon

    haakon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    SW USA
    @ mantra
    It looks like it's working, but not at all perfectly. Windows 10 incompatibility had been confirmed by Bitdefender sometime last year in their forum. Let me find a link to that... Oh wait. Impet did in post 7 above.

    Unfortunately Bitdefender doesn't use massive flashing red text about that on the Web site for those that don't pay attention to the published System Requirements way down there at the bottom where 10 is not listed.
     
  14. haakon

    haakon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    SW USA
  15. Impet

    Impet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    896
    It's really sad that they don't update it, RIP Bitdefender Free.
     
  16. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Yeah, many of us thought it was sad they don't update it years ago. Guess nothing much has changed since then either... Sad.... It was pretty good as far as it went.
     
  17. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
    Even if one install and run it in Compatibility Mode?
     
  18. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,097
Loading...