BitDefender can't load av engines .. Ubuntu/Scientific Linux

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Ocky, Sep 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    The latest definition updates, could be from 22nd or 23rd Sept. seem to have resulted in not being able to scan ' Failure to load anti-virus engines' and/or core initialisation failed.
    This affects me since today on Lucid, Maverick and SL 6.1. ( and wife's Lucid ).

    I don't think updates to Ubuntu are responsible as scanning was fine after the updates and before updating BD defs.

    Can you confirm mack_guy or anyone else ? Remember to do the BD update before scanning.

    EDIT: Latest update and it's working again ! Must have been something with the definitions.

    :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2011
  2. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    BitDefender is actually one of the better-working ones of AVs I've tried so far. Many just fail to work properly on modern Ubuntu.
     
  3. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Bitdefender getting to be a nuisance. Used to be really good, now there is another problem.
    Trying to scan will result in a crash as mentioned on their forum here

    I don't like the 'fix' suggested as it requires running as superuser (su).

    Furthermore the fix doesn't make sense to me as one cannot make a soft link to a non-existant file (bdcore.so.linux-x86_64).

    I wonder why Bitdefender went from very good to pretty bad .. :p
     
  4. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    yeah strange i face the same problem now i switch to avast but i guess its due to bleachbit temp cleaning maybe i am wrong :rolleyes:
     
  5. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    I think you need to run this command first as superuser:-

    cat /opt/BitDefender-scanner/var/lib/scan/versions.dat.* |awk '/bdcore.so.linux/{print $3}'|while read bdcore_so;do touch /opt/BitDefender-scanner/var/lib/scan/$bdcore_so;bdscan --update;ln -s /opt/BitDefender-scanner/var/lib/scan/$bdcore_so /opt/BitDefender-scanner/var/lib/scan/bdcore.so;done

    To get the bdcore.so.linux-x86_64 file.

    Then followed by this command:-

    # rm /opt/BitDefender-scanner/var/lib/scan/bdcore.so
    # ln -s /opt/BitDefender-scanner/var/lib/scan/bdcore.so.linux-x86_64 /opt/BitDefender-scanner/var/lib/scan/bdcore.so

    mack_guy do you perhaps have a test machine where you can try this ?
     
  6. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    i try that on my main machine but it didnt work give error -1008

    GVFS-RemoteVolumeMonitor-WARNING **: cannot connect to the session bus: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.NoReply: Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken.


    also on scanning give me same error let me again check i install

    i downloaded it from here

    http://download.bitdefender.com/SMB...er_for_Unices/Unix/Current/EN_FR_BR_RO/Linux/

    and install like this way

    http://linuxpoison.blogspot.com/2009/10/bitdefender-antivirus-installation.html

    now i try old rpm link

    http://download.bitdefender.com/repos/#
     
  7. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    OK, it's working for me using the commands I mentioned. I am on 64 bit system.
    The commands have to be issued in a root terminal.
    After you have done that, open Bitdefender and try a scan. You will get a message failed to load av sigs. Then just click update and scanning will work again.

    Bitdefender.jpg
     
  8. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    have you face this error any idea about how to solve this one :rolleyes:

    thanks in advance :))
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    mack_guy, I am sorry, I really have no idea why those commands are not working for you.
    Try maybe only the first long command and see what gives.
    Also check the forum to see if there are any new developments.
    One of the updates a few days ago caused all this nuisance.

    (Don't let it spoil your weekend !) ;)

    Edit: The commands work on all my installs Ubuntu/Kubuntu/Scientific Linux.
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2011
  10. ameyap

    ameyap Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    87
    thanks ocky ur solution worked for me perfectly, i am on a 64 bit ubuntu. :thumb:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.