Bitdefender Antivirus Free - English GUI

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by PaulBB, Dec 23, 2012.

  1. PunchsucKr

    PunchsucKr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Posts:
    138
    Bid adieu to MSE.. BD free running fine on all 5 of my home PCs. Strange having to reboot all of them not after the installation but after the first update.
    One thing I love about it is how it uses the native windows tray notifications for all messages, provided it doesn't start popping up many ads in those :x.
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2013
  2. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
    OK so after having troubles with Qihoo I gave this a whirl after listening about problems with this program.

    Suprisingly,I was able to get BD free installed and quickly updated and working like a gem in very short time.

    I really like BD's protection. :)
     
  3. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
    Also I like the silent and light autoscan feature.

    Really,I earlier hated scheduled scans but now I am really started liking BD autoscan it started 20 minutes ago under my nose I didnt even notice its impact LOL :D
     
  4. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    BD Free does offer great protection and for that reason I don't think I'll ever switch to another AV.
     
  5. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,359
    Sometimes I think that's the limitation of the free version: Autoquarantine and no way to restore files because the LOGS button doesn't work. :D :)
     
  6. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    8,007
    Yeah, this one is inexcusable IMO... how long has this been going on now? At least several months?
     
  7. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
    Well,I turned off the machine yesterday while autoscan was on and now when I am back up it starts again from the place it had stopped.

    I like this kind of a scanner ;)

    No slow downs,no problems with updates,no nothing.All in all great free product.What I can say really is: This is more like Bitdefender :cool:
     
  8. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    565
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    BDFree + PrivateFW = Incompatibility?
    I tried again BDFree (and I can confirm is multilanguage now if you reinstal it) but in my system (Win 8 64bit) I have some issue with Private FW (no other tools in realtime)
    a) during BD installation, the install process seems frozen at 70% even if I corretly allow all PrivateFW popups relate to BD. Disable PrivateFW, abort installation and restart installation solve the issue but...
    b) At startup I can't access my system, simply dark screen after boot process.
    I think BDFree is in some case incompatible with PrivateFw so thanks god I have my system Backup rolling back to my previous setup
     
  9. Malware fighter

    Malware fighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Posts:
    253
    I had almost the same just with WIN xp and PW FW - BSOD and had to revert to last known good config. Ask yourselves : is this the way decent AV should act ?
     
  10. Iulika0069

    Iulika0069 AV Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    We'll investigate the issue; until now, almost all the issues with the other firewalls were in fact a conflict between BD file system driver and the correspondent FW suite file system driver
     
  11. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    565
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    thanks, yes I think the same, probably a driver issue between the 2
     
  12. ZeroDay

    ZeroDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    714
    Location:
    UK
    Iulika0069 Is it correct that Bitdefender trafficlight uses the same web blocking as BDAV free?
     
  13. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    7,009
  14. ZeroDay

    ZeroDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    714
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks 7anon :thumb:
     
  15. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
    Installed Bitdefender Antivirus Free yesterday on my gaming computer. I rebooted after installation and Windows wouldn't even boot. Had to boot into safe mode and uninstall - after that Windows started normally again.

    BIG :thumbd: :thumbd: :thumbd:

    You ought to be ashamed Bitdefender! That was even worse than getting hit by malware.
     
  16. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    953
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I have it running without any problems (only the logs issue) on the 5 computer I maintain in my direct family on Windows 8 x64, x32 and Windows 8.1 x64.
    So maybe there is a conflict with other software on your computer?
     
  17. Jale

    Jale Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Earth
    Also had the 'Booting into Black Screen issue' as described a few posts earlier (Win8 64x). No Personal FW installed. Only other File System Driver is that of a Disk Imaging program, so I guess there's more compatibility issues at the moment...
     
  18. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Strange. I have it running on 4 differnet pc's and no issue at all. Even the logs button works! I also have it running on my laptop with comodos firewall and autosandbox and they are happy together.

    Ice
     
  19. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Is it still annoying everyone with stupid Android AV ad?
     
  20. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Not on my machine since the latest version update.
     
  21. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    same here, it stopped thankfully.

    Ice
     
  22. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    8,007
    Is the Logs button fixed yet?
     
  23. dmc21

    dmc21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Hi guys,

    We can't reproduce what you are saying so we need more info.
    Can you tell me that this is the app you are referring to which is in conflict with BD AV Free http://www.privacyware.com/personal_firewall.html?

    Also can you provide me some logs?
    -gzserv.log located in the istallation folder of our product
    - "number".bdinstall.bin located in ProgramData on Win 8 and in Docs&Settings\All Users\Application Data on Win XP

    There is indeed a first slow boot on sluggish systems but after that things should be allright.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  24. franckinou

    franckinou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Posts:
    16
    Location:
    france
    A new product update is available - version 1.0.16.1022

    Changelog:
    - Add "Full System Scan" entry in systray menu icon
    - Change "Full Scan" into "Full Sweep" in Auto Scan section
    - Refined Threat Control tab; Per-item actions are now displayed on mouse-over
    - Fixed Logs button issues
    - Fixed Explorer freeze at startup
    - Fixed Multiple entries in Threat Control for the same blocked process
    - Fixed Duplicate entry in Threat Control for an active infection
    - Auto Scan and On-Demand Scan improvements
    - Other fixes and internal improvements
     
  25. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,204
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    You're the second person to report this observation in this thread. I'd like to know the answer to this question as well. It's concerning to me. If true, then it means that BD Free is not nearly as effective as we have assumed.

    BTW, the current BD Free release is 1.0.18.1047 and the Logs button is still not working correctly.

    Later...

    Bob
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.