Bitdefender Antivirus Free - English GUI

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by PaulBB, Dec 23, 2012.

  1. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,060
    Everything is ok with k9 until it comes to the point if you wish to uninstall it.
    If you dont have an active internet connection for whatever reason then basically k9 kills your connection.

    Just a note of caution.
     
  2. chaos_69

    chaos_69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    right! so call it a workaround..
     
  3. ipstefan

    ipstefan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Romania
    I installed the AVF in the New Windows 8.1 Pro Preview Build 9431(updated Windows 8 from preview.windows.com). Most of the functions are compatible.
    The antivirus should be completely compatible with Windows 8.1 at the time of its release.
     
  4. ipstefan

    ipstefan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Romania
    What is your country?
    Usually you should have a drop down where you can select the language, but some exception might apply.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. ipstefan

    ipstefan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Romania
    Ads were disabled for now.
    There was an issue that had as a result the ad appearing every day. When a campaign is made you should only see the ad once, then never again. It was fixed in the 1.0.16.1023 build. I don't know if it was put in the changes list though.
     
  6. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,204
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    I installed BDF in Win 8.1 Preview 64 bit. I normally install Firefox but due to Sandboxie not working under 8.1 yet I installed Chrome. I went to the EICAR site and instead of BDF blocking the download it allowed it. BDF then threw up a message box saying that an infection was still present and it needed to reboot. Just my experience.

    Like you said, hopefully by Win 8.1's release BDF will be completely compatible.

    I'm back on Win 8 now so I can't provide any more information.

    Later...

    Bob
     
  7. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I hate it that BD Free interface pops up on every system resume from standby and on every boot. And it doesn't go away if you click on something. You have to first click on its GUI and then somewhere else and it will go away. Very annoying.
     
  8. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    145
    i am using BD free on win 7 ultimate 32bit system for over 6 weeks now & i haven't faced any issue like ads/logs button(except for 1 day after a program update which ironically was supposed to fix log button issue) or interface popping up at anytime so it can be concluded that as far as 32bit win 7 is concerned BD free is stable & works fine.
     
  9. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,853
    I've never had that happen, but my log button is still not working.
     
  10. silent850

    silent850 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    30

    I live in Saudi Arabia my friend could you please tell me when am I getting the chance to use it like everyone I feel left out and I cant understand Romanian at all :D

    Thank you for your kind response :thumb:
     
  11. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
  12. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Well whaddya know. LOGS button not working again. Some days it works, other days it doesn't.
     
  13. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    Same behavior here on W7 Home Premium x64 SP1
     
  14. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    same OS I'm using
     
  15. james246

    james246 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Posts:
    139
    1.0.16.1026 build now updated
     
  16. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    1,294
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    Got that update today.
    Did a full scan.
    Strange results...
    A pop-up said I got 36 infected items that was neutralized.
    If I open the logs, I see these: (attached pictures)
    The top of the log says there are 36 infected items and lower it says that "No infected items were found"...
    The Threat Control shows nothing either...
    o_O

    P.S. This is on a XP SP3 machine BTW.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,853
    Lol. Good to see a mostly-positive review, amazing it didn't beat AdAware Free though. I don't see how in the heck AdAware Free is doing so well in their tests, given it uses Vipre, and Vipre doesn't do that well in the major tests.
     
  18. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,359
    Very interesting, there seems to be a further bug ...
     
  19. ipstefan

    ipstefan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Romania
    See page 2 of the Event.
    Usually password archives are labeled as infected, even if they might not have any issues. You shouldn't be worried if you know the archives are clean. Also active viruses don't do anything from inside of a protected archive; you have to extract them to enable them, if any..
     
  20. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,854
    @ ipstefan,
    What about the changelog for 1.0.16.1026 build?

    btw, your official thread is dead=
    Last post: May 15 2013, 09:17 AM for Version: 1.015.946
    :thumbd:
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2013
  21. J0p0

    J0p0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    "Christian from BD"

    Hello,

    A new product has been released with the following details:

    Date: 07.03.2013

    Affected software:

    - Bitdefender Antivirus Free Edition

    Localization: EN;

    Version: 1.0.16.1026;

    Platform: x86, x64

    Updates + fixes:

    -the following files were updated:

    continuousscan.dll, httpav.dll, mdavc3.dll, onaccessal.dll, update.dll, update.exe, scansp.dll;

    Size: ~3 MB

    Update method: Automatically by Live Update module
     
  22. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,854
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2013
  23. Sprocket

    Sprocket Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Posts:
    75
    Funny, I don't have it pop open that often, but I did just have it pop open when I closed an application I was running. The bugs in this thing never cease to surprise. At least the "logs" button seems to be working (for now, anyway :)

    1.0.16.1026 on W7 x64.
     
  24. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    1,294
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    Thanks.
    These were indeed password protected archives.
    Seems ridiculous to me to label them as infected though.
     
  25. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
    Ok then..How effective is this? Never tried it..should give it a whirl I guess :)

    How big is the initial update?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.