Bitdefender Antivirus Free - English GUI

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by PaulBB, Dec 23, 2012.

  1. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    I am and they both run great with each, absolutely no conflicts with each other.
     
  2. 1000db

    1000db Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Missouri
    I'm running them together without any conflicts on a Windows 7 64-bit laptop.
     
  3. mudfish

    mudfish Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    usa
    thank you guiman,i did instal it last year.
     
  4. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,909
    Location:
    USA
    I did Have the 2009 version of BD Free in early2012, I uninstalled that and installed Avast 7.0 (which I have use now) and I plan to install the present version of BD Free when it is FULLY ready:isay:
     
  5. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    Thanks guys! :thumb:
     
  6. Macolm

    Macolm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    In bdfirewall.txt, the message:
    [BDFW] Error: BdprIoSendToLocal failed with error code c0000225.
    repeated many times.
    What does this mean?
     
  7. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,790
    Delete.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2013
  8. Iulika0069

    Iulika0069 AV Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    I'll quote an answer from the developer of the firewall sdk (part of the BD firewall is used in BDAVFree for web/http scan):

    "Hello,

    If the software is working fine, you should ignore that message. It is only for the developers to help them debug any issues with network filtering that may appear.

    C0000225 means STATUS_NOT_FOUND. This error appears when BitDefender tries to pass intercepted traffic back on the network and the original connection was closed already (either the server or the client issued a reset meaning it is not interested in any remaining data). This can happen during normal usage but it is sometime exacerbated if other network filters are installed (that is why support tells you to uninstall other conflicting programs)."
     
  9. AVusah

    AVusah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Posts:
    274
    January's coming to an end. Gotta fix that autodelete problem.
     
  10. koliko

    koliko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Posts:
    105
    Which firewall plays well with BDAVFree?
     
  11. jdd58

    jdd58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    551
    Location:
    Sonoran Desert
    Wirelesskeyview fp is fixed. Superscan download still blocked.
     
  12. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    What's the download size of the complete installation?:doubt:
     
  13. jdd58

    jdd58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    551
    Location:
    Sonoran Desert
    I have 141mb in program files, one file in program data 151kb. Not sure if there are other locations.

    I'm liking it so far except for the occasional false positive. Once the ability to restore these files is possible I will recommend it.

    Also it would be nice to be able to over-ride the web scanner and continue to the site.

    Lighter than Panda Cloud, almost as light as Avira free IMO.
     
  14. Vilmalith

    Vilmalith Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Posts:
    68
    BD Free + Privatewall working great together, still worry about the delete rather then quarantine... But performance has been great.
     
  15. rinem

    rinem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts:
    156
    There should be an option in BD to re-enable itself (10 minutes for example) after realtime potection was temporarily disabled. You can easily forget that its turned off.
     
  16. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,377
    Location:
    Germany
  17. Iulika0069

    Iulika0069 AV Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    Actually, we were thinking to automatically put Shield ON at restart (at least) :)
    Still:
    - this would have been intrusive and frustrating for advanced/power users
    - BDAVFree uses UAC - and for most of the users, an elevation window will appear, who'll supposedly scare the user or make him think again and don't forget that easily
    - and Windows already reminds you thru his Security Center that you are unprotected..

    In the end we stated that we cannot protect the user from itself.. so, no automatically ON to nothing..
     
  18. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    The lack of restoring files is really scary. Gonna wait till the option is added. Then it's gonna be my favorite free av.:)
     
  19. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    What happens when UAC is disabled?
     
  20. Iulika0069

    Iulika0069 AV Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    Will simply turn VirusShield OFF without any warning..
     
  21. Sprocket

    Sprocket Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Posts:
    75
    Just curious, is BDFA smart enough to stop its Auto Scan (full or quick/partial) when a laptop goes on battery? Since BDFA can start its Auto Scanning at any time, I would think *not* doing a file system scan - or at least not doing a *full* file system scan - when on battery would be a good default.

    I know the user can turn off Auto Scan completely, so this isn't critical, but since the goal is zero configuration questions, it would seem smart to defer scanning till the system is on AC power.

    Just a thought :)
     
  22. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,377
    Location:
    Germany
  23. Iulika0069

    Iulika0069 AV Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    It's already on our todo list ;)
    Will be available in the next update or two.

    Thanks for the suggestions, it is a type of feedback that we look forward to hearing it
     
  24. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Apparently version 1.0.13.862 was released. Any changelog for it?
     
  25. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    I'd seriously like to give it a try once the auto delete issue is settled.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.