Bitdefender Antivirus Free - English GUI

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by PaulBB, Dec 23, 2012.

  1. Iulika0069

    Iulika0069 AV Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    The interface is started by our main service (gzserv.exe)
     
  2. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,163
    Reporting in a bug that has happened with me now on two machines.

    Not sure if any of you use Ninite? -http://ninite.com-

    In any event, when you pick your apps and save the "installer" to your desktop, it will automatically download and update everything for you.

    However, with Bitdefender Antivirus Free, it throws up an error message. See attachment.

    Hope this can be sorted, thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,850
    So I know this appears to be light, but has anyone said how it is on disk I/O, since that seems to be a big thing for performance?
     
  4. Smiggy

    Smiggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Posts:
    237
    Location:
    The Angel Isle
    Have attached its state of play after running all day.
    Windows 7 Ultimate, 3GB RAM.

    :D
     

    Attached Files:

  5. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Bitdefender Antivirus Free

    Another Review
     
  6. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,822
    Re: Bitdefender Antivirus Free

    Thanks for the link :thumb:

    Looks like I'm sticking with this one
     
  7. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,915
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2013
  8. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    Re: Bitdefender Antivirus Free

    :thumb: Many thanks for the link.
     
  9. DrBenGolfing

    DrBenGolfing Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Posts:
    251
    Location:
    Hometown of Van Cliburn
    Will it auto-update its version?
     
  10. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,915
  11. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Re: Bitdefender Antivirus Free

    You are both Welcome! :thumb:
     
  12. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Re: Bitdefender Antivirus Free


    smart man.. BDFA almost makes all of this talk about security products, obsolete.;)
     
  13. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    Re: Bitdefender Antivirus Free

    I dont mind being auto quarantined without asking. I mean the product is aiming to be hassle free and users shouldn't even have to worry about it.

    The problem is how does it guarantee from false positives?

    And Let say if it quarantined it, and later update discover the file to be safe and restored that would be perfectly fine. But i need to know it!, At least keep the log somewhere in the advance settings.

    So if i deploy this to 10s of computers I hope i dont get phone calls asking me why a file is gone and i dont know what the heck to do with it.
     
  14. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    607
    Location:
    usa
    Re: Bitdefender Antivirus Free

    Just one thought. BitDefender Antivirus Free uses only cloud protection.
    How can it scan for Rootkits?
    How can it work in the safe mode without networking?

    I liked the reviews about BitDefender Antivirus and decided to install BitDefender Antivirus Plus 2013 on Win 7 and Bitdefender Windows 8 Security on Win 8.
    The paid versions have virus signatures downloaded on your computer.
    At this moment - 8491001 sigs.
     
  15. flik

    flik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Posts:
    49
    Re: Bitdefender Antivirus Free

    I tested it a little bit. Here are my conclusions:
    1. Great protection. The best I found among free av's.
    2. Not as light as I thought. Avira/avast/avg are faster in my system at least.
    3. It deleted 1 patch file, this is the only obstacle that keeps me from installing it in other pc's of my family.

    I am looking forward to it's improvement.
     
  16. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,915
  17. DrBenGolfing

    DrBenGolfing Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Posts:
    251
    Location:
    Hometown of Van Cliburn
  18. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,711
    Re: Bitdefender Antivirus Free


    I really hope they rethink its current behavior. I want a choice of action.
     
  19. guiman

    guiman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Posts:
    23
    Re: Bitdefender Antivirus Free

    Bitdefender Antivirus Free Edition doesn't use cloud protection exclusively. You are protected even if you don't have a network connection, but the AV has updated recently (a couple of days).

    It has the same anti rootkit scanning engine as the paid version.
    BD AV Free doesn't work in safe mode.
     
  20. Iulika0069

    Iulika0069 AV Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    We'll look into it, thanks for reporting the issue.

    L.E. @Tele2k, @zip - I've sent you PMs
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2013
  21. Iulika0069

    Iulika0069 AV Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    Re: Bitdefender Antivirus Free

    There are two things here:
    - bd anti-malware engines have internal protection for delete/quar when it comes to critical system files
    - bdavfree checks the quar for false positive after each signatures update (hourly); any FP is automatically restored
     
  22. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,036
    I think the automation is a good idea for the average home user but i think most people would prefer the choice of a manual restoration of a false positive although if the bitdefender av is automatically restoring false positives then why was it detected as such in the first place.?
    Anyhow manual control would be a nice option.
     
  23. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    607
    Location:
    usa
    Re: Bitdefender Antivirus Free

    I'm not a BitDefender specialist; therefore, I see what I see.

    1. Several times I tried to scan a very small file - 2 MB - with the BD Free antivirus, but could not complete, because after 10 minutes of scanning, I used to stop it. My nerves were bad.

    It took about 40 seconds for BitDefender Windows 8 Security AV on the same computer to scan a 1.2 GB folder with 4893 files. Please note, that scanning time could vary but nothing like trying to scan with BD Free AV.

    I had BD Free AV on my Win 7 computer and got the same results while trying to scan a file. After installing BD Antivirus Plus 2013 on the Win 7 computer, the scanning time question completely disappeared.

    2. I posted a question about "not seeing BitDefender Free Antivirus on the startup list" and received a vague answer from Iulika0069.

    After installing BitDefender Windows 8 Security and BD Antivirus Plus 2013, I can click on the Startup tab in System Configuration and see BD AV clearly.


    I understand that for so many reasons, we cannot get a very clear answer about the way any AV, not only BitDefender works; therefore, I can be 99% wrong about BitDefender Free Antivirus. Don't judge me.

    But, I'm a big fan of BD Windows 8 and Antivirus Plus 2013.
     
  24. Iulika0069

    Iulika0069 AV Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    we'll have manual restoration from the quar tab..
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2013
  25. Jim517

    Jim517 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    United States
    Hi, I was using Vista home premium, IE9 and the latest version of Avast free and everything was working fine. I thought I'd try Bitdefender free and it also seems to be working fine except I am having a problem with streaming. I go to dennisprager.com and it connects me to saleminteractivemedia.com. I can hear an introductory statement and then nothing and it says disconnected. I tried turning Bitdefender autoscan off and still no connection. I did not have this problem with Avast. Also. the task manager shows PresentationFontCache.exe and this is new. Thanks for any help you can give me.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.