Bitdefender Antivirus Free - English GUI

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by PaulBB, Dec 23, 2012.

  1. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    Now that BD has a quarantine I'm back to using BD.

    I don't know how long I will be able to use it with the horrendous economic storm that is about to hit us.

    All of us might have to use MSE. :'(
     
  2. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,030
    Location:
    United States
    You don't have to. You are always welcomed to stay in the bamboo lodge. :cool:
     
  3. truoc

    truoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    United States
    Long time lurker here and have been following this post for awhile. Having never used a Bitdefender product before I was intrigued to install this in place of avast since it has been giving me issues as of late. So I installed this on my older Dell Laptop (running Windows XP) without any issues, but just this morning decided to install it on a different machine running Windows 8. The install went fine, but there is one problem. Check out the date of updated definitions! LOL. Had to do a double take when I looked at it first. Have restarted multiple times and it doesn't change so I'm going to leave it be for awhile and see if it updates. Like the program so far, but would like a few additional features that others have mentioned as well.

    kRJuh.jpg
    http://imgur.com/kRJuh
     
  4. Smiggy

    Smiggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Posts:
    237
    Location:
    The Angel Isle
    Truoc
    Try running a repair re-install via start, run, appwiz.cpl
    Worked for me and also updated to latest version.

    :thumb:
     
  5. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    609
    Location:
    usa
    I've installed BitDefender Free without any problems. It automatically scanned my Win 8 laptop computer. I did not get any messages or pop-ups about any issues. When I checked the logs for BD, it said, "Infected items detected: 5".
    The deleted files were GlarySoft Utility Backups.
    ========================
    Scan Results
    Auto Scan has completed a Full Scan cycle on 12/30/2012 6:19:05 PM.
    Effective scan time: 00:10:30
    The scan took: 00:29:34
    Files scanned: 127377
    Infected items detected: 5
    Files known to be clean: 41329
    Scan Results
    File Name Infection Action
    c:\users\user\appdata\roaming\glarysoft\glary utilities\backups\41273.7140500579=>0000000001.sfi Unknown None (password protected)
    c:\users\user\appdata\roaming\glarysoft\glary utilities\backups\41273.7140500579=>0000000002.sfi Unknown None (password protected)
    c:\users\user\appdata\roaming\glarysoft\glary utilities\backups\41273.7140500579=>0000000003.sfi Unknown None (password protected)
    c:\users\user\appdata\roaming\glarysoft\glary utilities\backups\41273.7140500579=>registryfile Unknown None (password protected)
    c:\users\user\appdata\roaming\glarysoft\glary utilities\backups\41273.7140500579=>glary.ini Unknown None (password protected)
    =============================


    As it was mentioned many times in this thread, it is impossible to scan a file, even a small one, on-demand. It would take probably many hours. Twice I've started scanning 0.6 MB file, but after 10 minutes of scan-in-process, canceled it.

    So far, I really like BitDefender even with all those "false positives" and hickups.
    The program is very light on CPU and Memory, plus that sense of having the BEST ANTIVIRUS on my computer adds some extra value. It's a very good program for people who are ready to pay $40 - $50 for Antivirus and do nothing after installing it.

    It's strange but I don't see BitDefender in the Startup list.
     
  6. chinook9

    chinook9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    443
    Is BD Free easily uninstalled?

    Does the BD Uninstall work for it? That is, clean it up completely?
     
  7. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    well, installed the first day released here on 3 computers and guess what, it is still on all 3 computers.

    Cant find a thing wrong with it and what else can I say.:thumb:
     
  8. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    I had a really hard time uninstalling this on Vbox. Had to go into safe mode to get rid of it and delete the folders in program files.
     
  9. truoc

    truoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    United States
    Yeah I actually just left it alone for awhile and checked it again and it updated fine to 2012. Just found it odd and funny at the same time that it would say 1969.
     
  10. Macolm

    Macolm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    Which application in BD Free needs network access?
    Besides update.exe which application I have to let it pass the firewall so My Bitdefender can be logged in?
     
  11. THESAWISFAMILY2005

    THESAWISFAMILY2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Posts:
    198
    Location:
    SACRAMENTO CALIFORNIA
    using internet explorer bitdefender free works like a champ:)
     
  12. jo3blac1

    jo3blac1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Posts:
    739
    Location:
    U.S.
    Not for me. Regardless of whichever browser I use, bitdefender logs me out of flash content. Fully uninstalling bitdefender seems to be the only solution. went right back to MSE. too bad...
     
  13. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    Using Opera x64 Bitdefender Free works like a champ.
     
  14. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    I don't have any conflicts ,but I keep Mbam Pro off.

    Before I connect to a WIFI spot, I turn on Mbam Pro. ;)
     
  15. Sprocket

    Sprocket Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Posts:
    75
    zymechys - When I ran a full scan, it told me it found around five "infected" files - turned out they were all password-protected Excel files, and it didn't delete any of them. It appears that is also what happened to you.

    I think BD should use a different term to say that it couldn't scan a file, and not call it "infected".

    Other that that, it is running very well here (Win 7, 64 bits).

    Oh, and thanks to Iulika0069 from BD, who has helped get the issues with myBitdefender worked out.
     
  16. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    609
    Location:
    usa
    @ Sprocket,

    I don't see BitDefender AV on the Startup list. Why?
     
  17. Smiggy

    Smiggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Posts:
    237
    Location:
    The Angel Isle
    I had the exact same happen to me with Glarysoft Utility backups.
    :(
     
  18. Sprocket

    Sprocket Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Posts:
    75

    Did you look for gziface.exe or gzserv.exe? I believe those are the two process names associated with Bitdefender free.
     
  19. indie

    indie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    USA
    My GlaryUtilities Startup Manager does not show anything on BitDefender.
    Win 8 Task Manager Startup also does not show any signs of BitDefender.
    I could only find something in Context Menu of CCleaner's Startup: GzShellIntegration.dll
     
  20. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
  21. pintas

    pintas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    171
    I tried it and i liked almost everything about it, but it removed a bunch of stuff without even asking me, and that i hated.
    Add a damn whitelist BD!!! Who do they think they are to delete files from a guy's computer like that?
     
  22. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,715
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I've followed this thread from the begining and BD Free doesn't seem ready for prime time at this point, perhaps next year.
     
  23. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,741
    Location:
    UK
    From what I'm seeing here, it seems to me that while the idea of automation/"set it & forget it" is a good one, the omission of being able to deal with quarantined files is a glaring one. Evidence here and in their own forums shows this; while BD say they're "the experts", there is always the margin of error and processes need to be in place to deal with legitimate files that get accidentally quarantined, even for novices.
     
  24. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,850
    My question is how many of these false-positives could be construed as malware, and how many are 100% false-positives?
     
  25. JoakimM

    JoakimM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Posts:
    51
    Location:
    Lomma, Sweden
    Thank you Bitdefender, you just solved the forever ongoing problem with zero-day malware that plagues MSE ;-).

    Solution?

    I ditched MSE and the computer is as responsive as ever with Bitdefender AV Free installed instead, and I feel way more secure ;-).

    Regards,
    Joakim
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.