Bitdefender Antivirus Free - English GUI

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by PaulBB, Dec 23, 2012.

  1. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    Belgium
    Maybe you can send feedback to them via options in BD free and tell what kind of problems you have, its the only way they can make bugfixes.
    I don't think they read this forum.
     
  2. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,487
    Location:
    Sweden
    Oh, I have in the past. I don't have problems now!
     
  3. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    524
    Location:
    USA
    I am running Bitdefender Free on my last Windows 7 Pro system. It is happy as a clam in that setup! :thumb:

    The only thing that I can add about the free version, is that it has NO configuration options at all. So control freaks will hate it. Can't beat the price if it works for you.

    Also I have not tested it on Windows 10, so I can only vouch for Win 7. :D
     
  4. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    423
    Location:
    Italy
  5. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,229
    Location:
    USA,IA
  6. Petrovic

    Petrovic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Posts:
    77
    Location:
    Russia
  7. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    423
    Location:
    Italy
  8. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,487
    Location:
    Sweden
  9. fmon

    fmon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,163
    What's new?
     
  10. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,017
  11. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    524
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the heads up! I still have one PC running Win 7 that I use BitDefender Free on. It was updated automatically. This is a light, non-intrusive program that works fine for me on this system, which I use as a media center and home entertainment system.
     
  12. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,106
  13. fmon

    fmon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,163
    I see but why don't they fix it? I've never ever got notifications with other Antivirus so I guess there must be a way to fix it. :geek:
     
  14. fmon

    fmon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,163
    Update problems seem to be fixed? That would be great. :thumb:
     
  15. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,487
    Location:
    Sweden
    I think so. I don't get the update notification problem anymore. Bitdefender finally did it!:thumb:
     
  16. fmon

    fmon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,163
    It's still working, I really like Bitdefender Free. :thumb:;)
     
  17. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    711
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    BD-free just updated to 1.0.9.19, and asked for a reboot.
    During the update there was a warning from action-center,that AV is out of date.
    After reboot there was a warning,that AV is off...
     
  18. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,865
    Each major BD Free product is usually pretty buggy for years until they finally get around to fixing it.
     
  19. fmon

    fmon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,163
    Hey Kerodo, is your Bitdefender button working finally? :D BD-free updated to 1.0.9.19 and no problem so far, it's amazing. :geek:
     
  20. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    Belgium
    Today another update 1.0.9.21 and no reboot needed like previous update.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2017
  21. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,865
    Nope.. I did a fresh install of the latest, and when I booted up the next morning, windows reported that BD was off... no good. I gave up for now and just loaded my linux image...
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2017
  22. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,487
    Location:
    Sweden
    All working perfectly. Wish they had release notes though!
     
  23. fmon

    fmon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,163
    Same problem here, not good at all.

    Windows Defender is still active, did Bitdefender disable your Windows Defender shadek? o_O
     
  24. Pirate_fin

    Pirate_fin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    Finland
    i ran speedtest on speedof.me and with bitdefender free installed my latency is 300ms, but without bd free installed it's 8ms, so could it be webshield thats causing increase in latency for me?
     
  25. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    Belgium
    We don't have that problem with BD free, 15 ms with webshield on or off, test done on 2 laptops, so BD free is doing fine.
     
Loading...