Bitdefender Antivirus Free - English GUI

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by PaulBB, Dec 23, 2012.

  1. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,044
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    BD-free-2016 includes a web-filter,
    so it may not be the right stuff for you.
    Otherwise I rate it the best free AV, and I like the fact that it does have a web-filter.
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2016
  2. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,853
    Does this still not support Win 10?
     
  3. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,359
    It supports Win10 now, very nice. But I hate autoquarantine ...
     
  4. porrkanon

    porrkanon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Posts:
    57
    thanks, installed the new version a few days ago and iadded those in tinywall. works well. very happy with it
     
  5. Someguy

    Someguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Posts:
    31
    Hi,
    Is there a way to have a custom install, where you can specify the installation path, for the new version?

    Also I had to remove Spywareblaster and have problems to make it coexist with Safepay (on Windows 7)
    I have to constantly use Bitdefender_UninstallTool because the installation is in an inconsistent state and asks for reboots that don't fix the problem.
    I have now been trying for a couple of hours to get it to work, but I am very close to giving up.

    Thanks all,
    Al.
     
  6. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    Belgium
    No there is no custom install, its not somethig like avast.
    Why Bitdefender_UninstallTool o_O doesn't work for the new version !
    The new BD free can be uninstalled also with Revo uninstaller free , Geekuninstaller .... etc.
    Are you having any errors ?
     
  7. Someguy

    Someguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Posts:
    31
    I have now reverted to the old version, that one has custom install.
    If the install process is in an inconsistent state, no tool is able to fix this.
     
  8. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,359
    Maybe the uninstall tool is still a beta version, that's Bitdefender. :thumb:
     
  9. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    Belgium
    Bitdefender_UninstallTool is for the old version, there is no new ... ;)
     
  10. guest

    guest Guest

    Does bitdefender free has whitelist? Or what happens if you recover a file from quarantine, does it get detected again?
     
  11. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    41,863
    You can whitelist (exclude) files, after they were quarantined:
     
  12. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,044
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    There is a full user-manual:
    http://download.bitdefender.com/windows/bp/Bitdefender_AntivirusFree_2016_en.pdf
     
  13. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,073
    I just gave this a quick test. It seems quite light, but I really need to test it on my main compuer I use which has lots of software installed to get a better idea of the system impact. I know that in the past, I've found it to be too heavy for my liking, while others have found it light.

    It uses caching which makes repeat scan times extremely fast. I like that rather than quarantining files as soon as they are found, Bitdefender lists everything found when the scan has completed, and you can choose what to do with the threats then. There is the option to ignore detected files, while will leave the files in place, but unfortunately does not actually whitelist them.

    The auto quarantine is an issue. While, it's easy to restore and whitelist quaratined files, you have to do it file by file as there's no way to select multiple items, which would be a hassle if you wanted to restore and exclude a number of files.

    When I launched installers that had been detected by Bitdefender when I ran a context menu scan, Bitdefender actually let them run, which is a big issue.

    It does very badly at detecting ithe installers for PUPs, which is a good thing if you have PUPs you actually use, but less than ideal if you always want to remove PUPs.
     
  14. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    Belgium
    Like in avast with pups enabled you have more chance for many FalsePositifs...
    Bitdefender almost have no FP (see chart at AV-test & AVC)
     
  15. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    835
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I've tried installing the latest free but after BD downloads the programme I get a pop-up saying' 'cannot copy installer'. The previous version (is it win10 or not) installs fine.
     
  16. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,145
    uninstalling was terrible .....i had to use iobit uninstaller and other cleaning tools plus regedit. seems light but i think avast is lighter on browsing
     
  17. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,359
    Well known bugs but still not fixed, however we got a new GUI again. Well done Bitdefender, you know what's really important ...
     
  18. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    8,005
    I had to go back to the old version the other day. I can't be 100% sure, but it seemed like the new BD's web filter was interfering with video streaming a slight bit.. it doesn't happen when using the old version, so I'll stick with that for now...
     
  19. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    835
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I noticed that. After having been unable to install I used the method here, https://cyberraiden.wordpress.com/2016/12/08/bitdefender-antivirus-free-offline-installation/, to successfully install. Unfortunately, I had the same experience as when I used the beta: it stuffed my viewing of EPL on Optus as the picture was unwatchable.
     
  20. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    Belgium
  21. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    835
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    In this instance it is as I have tried other AVs with no probs. And, yes, Optus is getting crucified for abysmal service that, I have to admit, is improving, albeit slowly. However, it's still not good enough for me to pay for it (it comes free with my internet). Is there a specific email for issues with free BD?
     
  22. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    Belgium
  23. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    835
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Thanks, have emailed them. Do you know whether it is possible to exclude an url in the paid version?
     
  24. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    Belgium
    Today BD free 2017 updated to version 1.0.5.14
    ? No changelog?
     
  25. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,044
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    Although I had no issues with the previous version, it's good to know, that Bitdefender is active developing this free version.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.