Bitdefender Antivirus Free - English GUI

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by PaulBB, Dec 23, 2012.

  1. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    637
    Location:
    USA
    Well I guess that makes me a junkie! ;) ....it's been running smoothly on my system for over a year and every time I run a scan with MBAM Free (just as a double-check) it doesn't find anything, so I'm a happy camper. :)
     
  2. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    8,005
    Well, we all have to use whatever works, right? :)

    I did use it for a while, but had continual issues with that logs button bug, sometimes it worked, and mostly it didn't... so I couldn't access the quarantined stuff if needed, etc.

    Panda Free seems ok. I could probably use Avast if I had to also, but it suffers from serious feature creep, so I prefer to avoid it.
     
  3. porrkanon

    porrkanon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Posts:
    57
    ive had no probs with bd free whatsoever. i just wish it had a button for manual update and it would be perfect
     
  4. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,204
    Sometimes occasionally the webshield gives prob.
    Like try to download sandboxie 64 bit installer from official site & it will take time for the download window to appear. Disable Bd & download window appear instantly.
    I faced this prob 2 days back. My net is 4mbps connection.
    Currently I am working on different system otherwise would have checked now.
     
  5. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    958
    I like to keep trying them all and still come back to this one. No problems here, regular updates and the logs work. Great protection for free.
     
  6. ufakai75

    ufakai75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Posts:
    183
    2 yrs. and no virus/malware... will continue bd free.:D
     
  7. MeAgain

    MeAgain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Posts:
    65
    A lot of well informed people here. Anyone worried about a system file being auto quarantined? I know BD has a low false positive rate, but I like to set an AV to ask. Just wondering. Thanks.
     
  8. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    637
    Location:
    USA
    If you definitely want to retain a file that BD blocked and quarantined just restore it. ;)
     
  9. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,292
    I'm glad this is just your very own personal opinion.
     
  10. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    8,005
    What else would any of us be writing about but our own personal opinions? ;)
     
  11. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,072
    If you restore a quarantined file, is the option to add it to the ignore/whitelist so it does not get quarantined again, or does that need to be done manually?
     
  12. garrett76

    garrett76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    221
    If I remember well, when you restore a quarantined file, it is automatically added to the whitelist.
     
  13. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    637
    Location:
    USA
    That is correct (based on my experience with BD-Free).
     
  14. haakon

    haakon Guest

    I can also attest that when a process is terminated by Active Virus Control, there is the option to either whitelist or remove the parent application.
     
  15. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,072
  16. ufakai75

    ufakai75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Posts:
    183
    Free a/v after free a/v and time again, BD FREE keeps rockin' on.:D:);)
     
  17. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,059
    Does anyone else have a problem going to the BD site? I can't access it at all...
     
  18. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    637
    Location:
    USA
    Maybe that's because you're Infected ;)
    (seriously though - no problem here)
     
  19. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,059
    LOL maybe! I reinstalled W8 this morning, was having some problems, now it works fine. :D
     
  20. ufakai75

    ufakai75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Posts:
    183
    You can always go to the PC MAGAZINE 2015 BEST FREE A/V'S site, for a full review of BD FREE as well as others.:D
     
  21. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,059
    Yes ty. I'll give it a try. ")
     
  22. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    Belgium
    Bad news guys , installed Windows 10 today and BD free is not compatible, also confirmed by Bitdefender on facebook ....... so we have to switch to another AV ! (think back to Panda free)
     
  23. Maji

    Maji Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Posts:
    33
    Are you saying that BitDefender free will not work at all on Windows 10? I upgraded 2 PCs today to Windows 10, both running BD free, and it appears to be working fine. It hasn't caused crashes, bluescreens, or anything...and it is recognized in the Security Center.

    Am I missing something? Does it actually not work?
     
  24. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I absolutely hate it when companies know a functionality breaking upgrade is coming and they simply don't care. ~ Snipped as per TOS ~ BitDefender.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 30, 2015
  25. haakon

    haakon Guest

    Hmmmm. Imagine my surprise to find that BD Free in my Windows 10 test system didn't snag this Edge downloaded Trojan (among other baddies). Or AVC didn't hit the same legacy utility I've used used for ages and allow for exception. :D (That utility has been hit FP by AVC in BD versions over the years and in Ad-Aware Pro.)

    001599.jpg

    It also blocks almost all same-day bad Web sites posted on CleanMX and PhishTank in Edge. Sigs update as expected.

    The only snag so far is upon reboot, MBAE Premium Trial won't initialize; blocked by either the HIPS User-Mode Module (most likely) or the Proxy Redirection Module - haven't had a chance to debug or workaround that and I'm not sure if I'll take the time to do it. But I can start the service manually and mbae dlls will inject OK. (Log file is found in the GzLogs directory).

    001598.jpg

    BTW, this isn't to say BD Free is OK. BD is surely aligning on the side of caution, as they should, and does need an official Windows 10 version ASAP.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 30, 2015
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.