BitDefender 8 Released!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by hbkh, Sep 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hbkh

    hbkh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
  2. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,534
    Thanks

    I will test it... ;)
     
  3. se7engreen

    se7engreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    USA
    I put it on a virtual machine. First thing I noticed is a cooler interface and also the ability to PW protect settings changing. Still early to say if this is a real improved (bug free) prog.
     
  4. ^Ale

    ^Ale Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Italy
    Hi se7engreen, where did you find it? At that link it tells me "Product unavalaible!". Tnx
     
  5. se7engreen

    se7engreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    USA
    That link worked for me; alternatively you can just go to www.bitdefender.com and click on downloads to find the trial. Possibly their server was too busy at the time you tried...
     
  6. ^Ale

    ^Ale Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Italy
    se7engreen thanks for your help. I will try again.
     
  7. se7engreen

    se7engreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    USA
    This could be a bug: I installed the professional version (w/ fw & antispam) on a VMWare XP machine and now when choose antispam from the main program interface, the whole program shuts down. No errors or anything. I know when I very first installed this prog (earlier today) it didn't act like this. Maybe this is from a bad update? Compatibility issue w/ other installed progs? I don't know yet but I thought I'd let others know.

    Oh yeah, I also installed this on a real test machine & got the same results.

    EDIT: I was a little hasty to post, both the test machine & VM had the free version of process guard on them. I did a repair of Bitdefender on the VM with PG disabled and all was well. Also created a new VM and installed Bitdefender w/o PG and all was well.
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2004
  8. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    Installed, then uninstalled. Same bug in 7.2 that I ran across is still there. In trillian, you can double click on your email accounts which will launch a browser and log you in. Couldn't do it in 7.2, can't do it in 8.
     
  9. se7engreen

    se7engreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    USA
  10. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,534
    50MB of memory use!!! :eek: :(
     
  11. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,157
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Wow, that's a BIG load! I believe you, VC -- but maybe it's something to do with your particular computer's set-up. So I would like to hear someone else's experience.

    Can anyone else comment on the size of BD's ram impact? {If it's 50MB, I don't even want to give it a trial just yet.}

    aloha... bell
     
  12. hbkh

    hbkh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Mine only used about 32MB. :)
     
  13. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,534
    I will format my computer at monday because I need a fresh install, but 32MB, like hbkh said, is a lot of memory to AV, in my opinion...
     
  14. ^Ale

    ^Ale Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Italy
    Me too 30-32 Mb
     
  15. hbkh

    hbkh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    But it includes the AV, Firewall, and Antispam.
     
  16. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,534
    I'm refering to the BitDefender Standard... I don't like the others versions...
     
  17. ^Ale

    ^Ale Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Italy
    Yes I'm refering to BD standard: ~30 Mb
     
  18. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    same here as well. Slightly less than 30.

    I am using the trial version. So i don't know if it is a difference .
     
  19. se7engreen

    se7engreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah, it's at about 31Mb on my VM...
    That could have a little to do with the candy interface.
     
  20. msanto

    msanto Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Posts:
    214
    I see about 45MB w/ Standard.
     
  21. DanishKnight

    DanishKnight Guest

    Only 16 mb here.. full version like bought :)
     
  22. Flaff

    Flaff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1
    Just installed Bitdefender 8 Std version here. Running about 35mbs at startup but it drops back to just under 30mb after you add all the services running (bdmcon, bdss, bdswitch, vsserv, xcommsvr - damn thats alot!)

    Has anyone noticed with the filezone in std, that it has the box for netzone, but nothing is showing in it? I installed pro 8 earlier today and it was definetly for netzone, but in standard 8, there is nothing in the right box.

    That is my only complaint at the moment, I really liked the long filezone box in 7.2. Hope they fix it in a patch.
     
  23. trance

    trance Guest

    30mb - 40mb ?!!

    AVG Free uses 1 mb (without control center)

    F-Prot uses around 3 mb...

    Resident scanners of course..

    F-Prot detection rates are way higher than Bitdefender...

    Interesting.
     
  24. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,157
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Perhaps BD version 8 will have much better detection than BD version 7. AFIK, there are NO tests now available that evaluate the detection rate of BD 8.0 -- it's too new, right?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.