BitDefender 8 Released!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by hbkh, Sep 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hbkh

    hbkh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
  2. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Thanks

    I will test it... ;)
     
  3. se7engreen

    se7engreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    USA
    I put it on a virtual machine. First thing I noticed is a cooler interface and also the ability to PW protect settings changing. Still early to say if this is a real improved (bug free) prog.
     
  4. ^Ale

    ^Ale Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Italy
    Hi se7engreen, where did you find it? At that link it tells me "Product unavalaible!". Tnx
     
  5. se7engreen

    se7engreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    USA
    That link worked for me; alternatively you can just go to www.bitdefender.com and click on downloads to find the trial. Possibly their server was too busy at the time you tried...
     
  6. ^Ale

    ^Ale Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Italy
    se7engreen thanks for your help. I will try again.
     
  7. se7engreen

    se7engreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    USA
    This could be a bug: I installed the professional version (w/ fw & antispam) on a VMWare XP machine and now when choose antispam from the main program interface, the whole program shuts down. No errors or anything. I know when I very first installed this prog (earlier today) it didn't act like this. Maybe this is from a bad update? Compatibility issue w/ other installed progs? I don't know yet but I thought I'd let others know.

    Oh yeah, I also installed this on a real test machine & got the same results.

    EDIT: I was a little hasty to post, both the test machine & VM had the free version of process guard on them. I did a repair of Bitdefender on the VM with PG disabled and all was well. Also created a new VM and installed Bitdefender w/o PG and all was well.
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2004
  8. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    Installed, then uninstalled. Same bug in 7.2 that I ran across is still there. In trillian, you can double click on your email accounts which will launch a browser and log you in. Couldn't do it in 7.2, can't do it in 8.
     
  9. se7engreen

    se7engreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    USA
  10. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    50MB of memory use!!! :eek: :(
     
  11. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Wow, that's a BIG load! I believe you, VC -- but maybe it's something to do with your particular computer's set-up. So I would like to hear someone else's experience.

    Can anyone else comment on the size of BD's ram impact? {If it's 50MB, I don't even want to give it a trial just yet.}

    aloha... bell
     
  12. hbkh

    hbkh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Mine only used about 32MB. :)
     
  13. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I will format my computer at monday because I need a fresh install, but 32MB, like hbkh said, is a lot of memory to AV, in my opinion...
     
  14. ^Ale

    ^Ale Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Italy
    Me too 30-32 Mb
     
  15. hbkh

    hbkh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    But it includes the AV, Firewall, and Antispam.
     
  16. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I'm refering to the BitDefender Standard... I don't like the others versions...
     
  17. ^Ale

    ^Ale Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Italy
    Yes I'm refering to BD standard: ~30 Mb
     
  18. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    same here as well. Slightly less than 30.

    I am using the trial version. So i don't know if it is a difference .
     
  19. se7engreen

    se7engreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah, it's at about 31Mb on my VM...
    That could have a little to do with the candy interface.
     
  20. msanto

    msanto Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Posts:
    214
    I see about 45MB w/ Standard.
     
  21. DanishKnight

    DanishKnight Guest

    Only 16 mb here.. full version like bought :)
     
  22. Flaff

    Flaff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1
    Just installed Bitdefender 8 Std version here. Running about 35mbs at startup but it drops back to just under 30mb after you add all the services running (bdmcon, bdss, bdswitch, vsserv, xcommsvr - damn thats alot!)

    Has anyone noticed with the filezone in std, that it has the box for netzone, but nothing is showing in it? I installed pro 8 earlier today and it was definetly for netzone, but in standard 8, there is nothing in the right box.

    That is my only complaint at the moment, I really liked the long filezone box in 7.2. Hope they fix it in a patch.
     
  23. trance

    trance Guest

    30mb - 40mb ?!!

    AVG Free uses 1 mb (without control center)

    F-Prot uses around 3 mb...

    Resident scanners of course..

    F-Prot detection rates are way higher than Bitdefender...

    Interesting.
     
  24. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Perhaps BD version 8 will have much better detection than BD version 7. AFIK, there are NO tests now available that evaluate the detection rate of BD 8.0 -- it's too new, right?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.