Bitdefender 2016

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by darts, Aug 23, 2015.

  1. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    815
    Location:
    A Non-Sh*thole State
    I (for one) am VERY DISAPPOINTED that BD is not making the offline installer versions of their 2016 product line available. As a result, I am no longer installing BD on any of my customer's machines. :mad::mad:
     
  2. snippits

    snippits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Posts:
    200
    Got the free six moths 2016 Bitdefender Internet Security here on the forums, and all I have to say is it's working great. I was using Norton Security for the last year, and it's expiring soon, so I thought I would give BD a test drive again. I have to say compared to NS that BD seems faster on my Window 7 64 bit rig especially web browsing. BD is a keeper for now.
     
  3. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,309
    I tested the Internet Security 2016 and it seems a lot better than last year release, but it still slowdown my web browsing. Overall a good release ...
     
  4. hamlet

    hamlet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Posts:
    229
    I decided to try out Bitdefender Antivirus Plus 2016 since I have a license that is good until sometime next year. My initial impression is reasonably favorable. I do detect a slight bit of a slowdown in my web browsing as compared to Avira Antivirus Pro but I might be just dreaming that up.

    I do have one question for you Bitdefender 2016 users. Do you leave "Scan SSL" enabled in the web protection options? My recollection is that the scan SSL option caused me problems before so I am hesitant to turn it on.

    Thanks.
     
  5. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    I leave it on, but it is causing a major problem. Well either it is or The Washington Post is. I am unable to view images on the Post site. If I click on right context menu "view image" I get taken to a Security Certificate Error page saying the Peers Certificate is not signed and invalid. I also can not see my login screen. I have had countless communications with the kiddies at WP Support and have been given such brilliant suggestions as clear cache, clear cookies, update to latest browser.

    I have also opened a case with BD. The fact that The Washington Post is the only site this happens on leads me to believe the problem is theirs. It happens on both IE 11 and FF 41.

    https scanning as you know is controversial. The Electronic Fronteir Foundation has a strong policy against https scanning for privacy concerns. In some products the way it is handled leaves the security product open to exploits, e.g., Kaspersky. The only Security Vendor I know of that does not scan https traffic is Emisoft for the forementioned reason - privacy.

    I do have some issues with browsing with BD 2016. Generally page loading is very fast, but sometimes I will go to a site, the URL of the site will appear in the address window, in FF the "x" is still their meaning the page has not fully loaded (and it never will.) I have to click on the "x" to stop it and then click on reload to get the page to show, I have not been watching to see if this happens only on https sites.

    I spend a lot of time daily on the net (retired) and the only problem I have had that I know for sure is related to SSL scanning is the Washington Post.

    The only problem I have seen reported on the BD Forums is by one user who says that SSL scanning stops for no apparent reason on occasion on his system.

    I had been using Norton Security but their toolbar is not compatible with FF41 and won't be for at least a month. I had received an offer of a free 6 month trial so I dumped NS and starting using BD IS 216. I am very please with it. It has no noticeable effect on the speed of my system , is very smooth, no glitches I have experienced, and has been stable. BUT, now I am afraid to uninstall it. At least one user has reported on the BD Forums that he is unable to fully uninstall it even with the BD Removal Tool. The BD Agent (real time scanner) remains and is operational.

    BTW: I run it with MBAE and HitMan Pro Alert with no conflicts or problems that I am aware of.
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2015
  6. snippits

    snippits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Posts:
    200
    Look at your program list. BD Agent is another program, and it has it's own uninstaller. Why they did it like this I don't know.
     
  7. snippits

    snippits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Posts:
    200
  8. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Well my Bitdefender Free Trial of IS 2016 has been removed. "SafePay", which has always been problematic on BD, not sure they ever debugged it and got it working, borked my internet connection. I tried Safe Pay for a site to test it.To use Safe Pay you open the Safe Pay browser and set a bookmark for the site by entering it's URL. Then to access the site via Safe Pay you can either open Safe Pay and click on the bookmark, or set it so that if you go to the site via your normal browser Safe Pay will automatically take over. So after setting the bookmark, I could connect to the net for any site only with the Safe Pay Browser. Could not connect by FF or IE 11. Also, as far as I could see there is no way to remove a bookmark from Safe Pay.

    May reinstall at some other time and just never use Safe Pay cuz it's otherwise a fast program that offers Ransomeware protection by protecting a default set off folders, e.g., Documents, and any other files or folders other than system files.

    And yes - BD Removal Tool leaves the BD Agent on your system and active. But was a simple uninstall via Windows uninstaller, I hope. Haven't checked task manager yet.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2015
  9. snippits

    snippits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Posts:
    200
    I don't use SafePay, but I figured it would be buggy. Otherwise, it's a keeper for me for the time being.
     
  10. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    LOL :)

    Bitdefender IS 2016 is back on my system. I really like it - just will never use Safe Pay. Runs fine with MBAE and HitmanPro Alert. Running on a free six month subscription. It's Ransomware Protection is a bit exuberant, but asks if its ok to let a program to it's thing, so no harm done and shows the damn thing really works, which is great for a Crypto-whatever Phobe like me

    Emisoft IS 10 wouldn't let me download Windows Update (being fixed soon in up-coming beta update.)

    Kaspersky IS 2016 TOTALLY borked my system. First no icons showed and my PC froze, then it wouldn't boot to Windows. Thank Gawd for System Restore. I KIS doesn't play well with the current stable version of MBAE (but does with the latest MBAE Beta) so I disabled that. Was probably not HitmanPro Alert compatible. Either that or it totally s*x, which I doubt. Whatever it was will never try to install it again.

    My Restore Point took me back to having no AV and Firefox 40,something, so I considered reinstalling Norton Security, but couldn't find My Symantec Account on the net and didn't feel comfy searching with only Windows Firewall Protection.

    My Restore Point was made with no AV installed and BDIS ready to download so I went with that. Hate when stuff like my KIS experience happens. Was up untill 5 AM repairing the damage and installing BD, which didn't complete on the first attempt.
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2015
  11. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    5,163
    Location:
    USA still the best. But barely.
    BD Anti-Ransomware is available as a stand alone Freeware. It's called BDAntiCryptoWall on the BD download page & the current version is 1.08.13.

    http://labs.bitdefender.com/projects/cryptowall-vaccine-2/bitdefender-offers-cryptowall-vaccine/
     
  12. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    5,163
    Location:
    USA still the best. But barely.
    Add on edit cause editing above added blue linked colors.

    Anyways Freeware BDAntiCryptoWall which reads on mouse over in taskbar as Bitdefender Anti-Ransomware plays well with Malwarebytes Ant-Exploit Free & Avira Free Ant-Virus. Pretty good combo for me since BD2016 borked my remaining BDIS 1 1/2 yr+ subscription & BD CS is impotent in their responses to my support requests.

    As far as I'm concerned BD CS, "killed Kenny, those B______s!"
     
  13. ttomm1946

    ttomm1946 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Posts:
    217
    I have the 6 month free trial ..anyone try it on Windows 10?
     
  14. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    The two appear to work work differently. I used to always run with AntiCryptowall (Later named Anti Ransomeware in one of the versions on the GUI). AntiCryptowall prevents programs from starting from (I think) an App Data File and another file. The Ransomeware Protection in BD IS 2016 prevents any program (not sure may be any unknown program - I forget :) from changing a file in a protected folder. There is a default set of protected folders, e.g. Documents, Pictures, and you can add your own to the set. Because they operate differently I have been considering reinstalling AntiCryptowall in addition to BD IS 2016. I suffer from extreme Crypto/RansomWhatever Phobia.

    When it was first introduced Anti Cryptowall was effective against only two versions of Cryptowall. Don't know if that has changed. It sought to stop the encryption code from running rather than protecting files in designated folders. Because the ransomeware protection in BD IS 2016 protects the target rather than stopping the code, it would seem to be effective against all ransomeware.

    I make no pretense of being 100% certain about the above, but I believe it to be correct.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2015
  15. Rohugh

    Rohugh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Posts:
    56
    The free trial is exactly the same as the paid version so it will work on Windows 10.
     
  16. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    5,163
    Location:
    USA still the best. But barely.
    This is part of the most recent email I sent BD CS.




    For simplicity I have c&p your suggested process with my results in all CAPS.

    To solve this situation we recommend you to open your Bitdefender interface from the product installed on your computer and click on the option Switch
    User. [BITDEFENDER CENTRAL LOGIN TAKES AROUND 5 MINUTES TO LOAD. NOTHING IS WRONG IN ACCESSING OTHER WEBSITES.]

    Then, please click logout [FIRST I HAVE TO LOGIN. AND I CAN'T LOGOUT.] and try to login again using the same Central account.

    XXXXX I tried the above like 20 times & subscription still came up invalid every time. I used different browsers, reboots & closing windows & boxes at different points in the process since I could not logout.

    I then walked away from my PC in disgust. Came back 30 minutes later & poof! magically my subscription is valid.

    I have made recent backups of my OS when BDIS2016 was borked & I was using another AV. Because I wouldn't be surprised if in any time in the next couple months my subscription could come up expired AGAIN. As it did after BDIS2016 was running fine for the first week.

    You folks at BD have to figure this out. This was/is? one of the biggest pains ever upgrading software. It should have been easy & painless. The way it should work is an internal upgrade through BDIS2015. Instead of the convoluted processes outlined on the BD site & forum.

    As it is I would NEVER recommend BD products to any but the less than 5% of my tech savvy friends.




    So I'm sorted for NOW. lol
     
  17. snippits

    snippits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Posts:
    200
    After about 10 days using BD Internet Security on two computers, it's time for me to dump it again. BD has updated the program, and now my boot time on my desktop has increased considerably. On my laptop, boot time seems to be forever staring at a blank screen. Both are using Windows 7 64 bit, and when I uninstalled BD the boot problem went away. It was happening on cold or hot boots.

    Anyway, every time I try to use their software, bugs just turn me away from it every time. I like it because it is a powerful antivirus, and it's fast too, but the bugs are a deal breaker for me. I was going to buy a sub too, but maybe next year BD.
     
  18. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    8,005
    As long and as far back as I can remember using BD products off and on, maybe 10 to 12 years, they have always been buggy... Looks like this hasn't changed.
     
  19. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    Yes. Adds bit to start up and lots of memory usage even with Photon Technology.

    Very low CPU, though, expect during full system scans...
     
  20. snippits

    snippits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Posts:
    200
    Forgot to add this on my last post. I also had the activate bug on one computer while the other was fine. When they recently updated the program, they broke more than they fixed as far as I am concerned.
     
  21. escalibur

    escalibur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Posts:
    118
  22. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

  23. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    LOL :)

    I typically in the past have referred to BD as a great A/V Engine housed in junk software. Whenever I used it at some point I would have to uninstall it cuz of some hiccup, like losing its downloaded data base. BUT

    I have been using BD IS 2016 on a free 6 month trial license and its been excellent. An occasional bump in browsing to an https page, but just have to stop the loading and reload. Not a big deal to me. I think BD IS 2016 is a much improved product.
     
  24. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
  25. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    5,163
    Location:
    USA still the best. But barely.
    It's upgradable but not fun to do. Per my posts.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.