Bitdefender 2016

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by darts, Aug 23, 2015.

  1. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1,292
    Location:
    USA, MICHIGAN
    Yea but im having trouble with a 3 PC key, it's only allowing me to install it on one PC!! frustrating.
     
  2. Diazruanova

    Diazruanova Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    Log into your Bitdefender Central >My devices>Install Bitdefender>Select Windows> I want to install Bitdefender: select "On another device">"Send the installer link by email" and write down the e-mail of one the other computers and once you receive the mail with the download link, proceed to download and install.
    Of course we are assuming that you already UN-installed the previous version on the computer you want to install the 2016 ver.
     
  3. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1,292
    Location:
    USA, MICHIGAN
    I thought of that and did that, but I get a connection error saying check to make sure your linked up to wifi when I try to log onto central with that(second pc)Pc to DL the software, ill try it again...

    from the GUI of BD once installed I cannot log into my BD central
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2015
  4. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    Location:
    USA still the best. But barely.
    Thanks superssjdan for the link.

    So far so good. Final word in a couple days.
     
  5. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,933
    Ok silly question here but I am a BD n00b. I am checking this out in a VM (at work). All is well except for the fact that it is preventing it from mapping network drives upon boot. What setting can I uncheck so that the drives will be mapped. This is with trialing BD Total Security 2016.

    Thanks,.
     
  6. Diazruanova

    Diazruanova Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    I
    I don´t know if this will help, but here it is: Open BD control window by double clicking the red icon on the task-bar>modules>protection>Antivirus>Exclusions>Scan mapped network drives> select what you need there.
     
  7. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    815
    Location:
    A Non-Sh*thole State
    STILL looking for the BD 2016 offline installers for the paid products... :eek:
     
  8. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    499
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
    Not sure if there are any, per their forums.
     
  9. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    675
  10. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,485
    worked for me too on windows 10. Slowness seems to be gone now, I assume it is thanks to their remover tool. I also ran remover tools for other AV software I had once installed. And I uninstalled MBAE, because who knows, maybe it causes a conflict.
    Only time will tell if the problem is gone also with the accumulating ram and cpu usage.
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2015
  11. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I found Bitdefender internet Security 2016 a bit heavy on the system and it uses a lot of memory. does anyone nitice this too?
     
  12. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,485
    on first install, I and a lot of other people definitely found that to be true.
    it seems the key to success is to use the bitdefender remover tool BEFORE installing 2016.
    To quote Dianazruanova:

    you may want to check this out http://www.bitdefender.com/support/-1479.html
    This link is the key to a successful and trouble free upgrade from previous BD Ver. to newer 2016 versions .
    I upgraded two Win 10 and one Win 7 machines to Bitdefender AV plus 2016, in less than two hours and everything is running fine and fast, at least as fast as previous 2015 version.
     
  13. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    Location:
    USA still the best. But barely.
    One week later & BDIS 2016 is reporting my subscription is expired AGAIN!

    Called the 24hr BD support line 954.414.9655. Now I wait 24-48hrs for 2nd level support.
     
  14. Rohugh

    Rohugh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Posts:
    56
    It happened to me earlier, I just used the link to log in with another account but entered the same account. It logged me in instantly
     
  15. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    Location:
    USA still the best. But barely.
    @ Rohugh Thanks I'll try right now. Using the same PC but from a LXLE LiveCD. :)


    :( Didn't work. Dropped Avira Free & Comodo Free Firewall on the desktop through LXLE. In case there's no satisfaction ahead.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2015
  16. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,630
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Happened repeatedly for me with BD Total Security. Multi Device 2015. So far have lost more than. 6 month's of my sub. It started 3 weeks after product was released (I purchased first day), then on again - off again ever since.
     
  17. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    Location:
    USA still the best. But barely.
    Not holding my breath for BD support already installed Avira Free.
     
  18. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,630
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Did you ask for help on BD Forums? Georgia, BD employee/moderator, can be very helpful with such issues.

    Frankly, I'm not sure if it's a BD or an Avagate issue or a combined issue. I found in my case that at times it was repaired, but then break again. and then fix again w/o any intervention by me. At times BD will acknowledge on it's forums having issues with My Bitdefender and in your case whatever it is that links your subscription to your software. I am often switching security suites.

    I just got that free 6 month license mentioned in a thread here on Wilders, would like to try the product, but given past experience afraid it might not be worth the effort if the license doesn't properly link with my install.

    The BD Removal Tool takes forever - at least on my PC you cannot see the item selection and have to wait for it to load every BD product's uninstall program and uninstall it one by one till it completes all of them. (It will tell you what product it is uninstalling as it actually does so - whether it's the product installed on your PC or not, but you have zero control over the process - it might require Java to be able to select the specific program to uninstall and I do not have Java installed on my PC.)
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2015
  19. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,630
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Has anyone successfully installed any BD 2016 Product and had any issues with it running with an anti-exploit program such as Malwarebytes Anti Exploit or Hitman Pro Alert? For example, not sure if it's been fixed yet, If you used KIS 2016 (and sometimes with Emisoft IS 10) and MBAE together you could not open a browser. Malwarebytes figured out the issue and a fix and sent it to Kaspersky but never heard back from them the last I heard. Not sure about the status of the issue with EMIS 10.
     
  20. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    Location:
    USA still the best. But barely.
    Maybe that's it, I don't have Java installed either. Would've liked to stay but too much hassle for now & very aggravating.
     
  21. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,630
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Hi zapjb :) Nothing like paying something for nothing. Sorry about your issue. I know exactly how you feel.

    The licensing problem is not connected to java. I was referring the BD Removal Tool. There is only one that includes a removal tool for all BD Products. There is a window in the top left corner where I guess you are supposed to be able to select your product, but for me it remains all black so you have to wait while the tool uninstalls every BD product in existence whether you have it installed or not till it finishes. Takes about 15+ minutes of total frustration.. The loading of every product's uninstaller one at a time is what takes the most time. (BD AV, BD Windows 8 IS, BD IS, BD Total Security, BD Total Security Multi Device)

    It's that BD has an odd, buggy way of linking your subscription to your account that's the cause of our problem. For me it fails about 75% of the time. Once it's installed your fine, but if you want to uninstall and later reinstall it, that's when the problem can occur.

    I'm a NewEgg Super Special Junkie and have active subscriptions to KIS, EMIS 10. BD TS MD, a 6 mo. freebie to BD 2016, and NS 2015. I'm using NS 2015 now cuz of all of these which I consider to be superior, at least on on-demand scanning, it's the only one that causes no issues or conflicts with any other program on my system. I am fairly confident of it's blocking ability and just kinda like it. I run it with MBAE and HitMan Pro Alert and BD Anti Ransomeware with zero apparent conflicts or issues. It's only NS 2015's on demand scanning that I know could be better. I'd like it more if it challenged PUPs like EMIS 10 , (but I frequently scan with HitMan Pro), and did not delete some types of files without asking to quarantine.
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2015
  22. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    Location:
    USA still the best. But barely.
    Just got this:

    Dear xxxxxxx,

    Please be informed that we are currently working on resolving your Customer Care request, ticket no: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, and will be getting back to you shortly.
    Thank you for your patience.

    Regards,
    Bitdefender Customer Care Team


    If they say they've fixed it. I'll take ANOTHER image of my current system before trying. Cause everything's AOK now with Avira Free. I have 4 current system images. This'll make 5. Never had so many current system images. Pffffft.
     
  23. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,630
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    For a variety of reasons I had been most recently been using NS 2015.

    Because the NS 2015 Toolbar that provides a variety of functions, only one of which is a necessary security function IMHO (Malicious Website/Phising Blocking/Warning) is not compatible with FireFox 41 and won't be for at least a month, I decided to try a free 6 month Subscription to BD IS 2016 I had received from BD last week.

    Installation was fast and smooth.

    The speed of BD IS 2016 is extremely impressive. My web browsing and page loading has never been faster with any other Security Suite.

    I am running it with MBAE and HitMan Pro Alert with no issues that I can see.

    Only two apparent problems, one of which has already been fixed (a false positive for the GreenDot Mastercard reloadable debit card website that I use for online transactions as a phising site - reported as FP and fixed within 7 hours)

    The only remaining problem I can see is that images and account login on The Washington Post website cannot be seen. On Firefox by right clicking to "show image" I get the "Secure Connection Failed...... Peers certificate has an invalid signature" warning. On IE 11 right clicking takes me to a blank page. Dunno if it's a BD or Washington Post issue but I have reported it to both.

    Windows 8.1 OS 64X
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2015
  24. kwg

    kwg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Posts:
    127
    I upgraded my Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit computer from Bitdefender Internet Security 2015 to 2016 without problem. As others have suggested (and as Bitdefender recommends), I first uninstalled 2015 with Bitdefender's uninstall utility (instead of using Windows Add or Remove programs):

    http://www.bitdefender.com/files/KnowledgeBase/file/The_New_Bitdefender_UninstallTool.exe

    I also notice that Web pages are loading much faster than before. Bitdefender updates are also faster. Video streaming is smoother. Other computer operations also seem faster.

    The speed improvements may be due to Bitdefender Internet Security 2016 dropping support for Windows Vista and XP. With Bitdefender's new code targeted to modern operating systems, it may run more efficiently.
     
  25. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,309
    The new firewall should get the credits for those improvements.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.