BitDefender 2010, Malware detected! Is it FP?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by MrGSM, May 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MrGSM

    MrGSM Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Morocco
    Hi everyone.
    I have BitDefender 2010 and i wonder for this detection of BitDefender for this URL witch is my url of everyday.
    Can anyone confirm if it is a false positive of bitDefender?
    URL: http://www.islamway.com/
    I enter in that URL with avast! with no problem.
    Thanks
     
  2. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    No problem encountered with Avira Personal Version 10. Also WOT gives it a good (Green) rating.
     
  3. MrGSM

    MrGSM Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Morocco
    Thanks The Hammer for this answer, but Avira Personal doesn't have Internet Scanner and protection, It can detect only files in execution.
    But Avira Premium have this protection.
    Thanks a lot.
     
  4. markcc

    markcc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    185
    Location:
    Michigan, usa
    It must be a Bit Defender thing because I have Trustport A/V on this laptop & I get a trojan script warning from the Bit Defender engine. I will try it with my main computer which runs GData & it also uses the Bit Defender engine.
     
  5. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,951
    Location:
    USA
    No flags with ESET Smart Security either. That doesn't mean its a false positive though. It could also be a malicious or infected link on the page redirecting you to a malicious page if you click on the link. It doesn't have to be the page itself. I would submit the URL to bitdefender.
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2010
  6. CogitoTesting

    CogitoTesting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Posts:
    901
    Location:
    Sea of Tranquility, Luna
    Please use these two websites from F-Secure and Trendmicro to verify whether or not your website is malicious:

    F-Secure Browser Protection
    http://browsingprotection.f-secure.com/swp/

    Trendmicro Malicious URL info:
    https://qa.securecloud.com/reputation/query?locale=en-US


    Both F-Secure and Trendmicro did not find anything malicious. I also checked the English version of the website http://english.islamway.com/
    and it is also clean. It seems to me it is a false alarm from Bitdefender. Moreover, you could also download Drweb Link Checker as an add-on to IE, FF, and Opera.

    http://www.freedrweb.com/linkchecker/internet explorer/

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2010
  7. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    No problems here too checked with Dr Web
    Info
     
  8. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
  9. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    FF Addon LinkExtend also reports its clean and has a good rating.
     
  10. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
  11. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    LinkExtend already does the same thing.
     
  12. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Yep but that's a toolbar, It's a webform. So, can be used by Chrome, Safari, Opera also.:D
     
  13. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    I dont have a toolbar. Please show me where I have this toolbar?

    Bottom right is XMarxs, top right is AdBlockPlus. Other than that not a single toolbar or icon that doesnt belong to firefox.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Martijn2

    Martijn2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Websites like Siteadvisor or MyWOT are unreliable since green websites can be hacked. Gdata (with the bitdefender engine) gave a warning
     
  15. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Following that train of thought is illogical. Gdata and bitdefender can also be bypassed with specific infections. If those websites are hacked with those infections your AV solution doesnt have a warning and is useless. Might as well get rid of those too.
     
  16. progress

    progress Guest

    ... but you have a lot of messages (39) :p
     
  17. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    So, you don't have linkextend..:D
     
  18. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Yes I do. I clearly have linkextend and you clearly have no clue.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    So you have the plugin. I have not used link-extend for long. So it has added an option to hide the toolbar..!! Anyway I don't use plugins because I prefer sandboxed browsing and check about websites that I feel suspicious. So, that webform is useful to me.:)
     
  20. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    I also have sandboxie.
     
  21. Martijn2

    Martijn2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Where did I say that AV scanners are reliable? Just pointing out that it gave a warning, can be a FP or a real infection.
     
  22. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Yup and I pointed out the flaw in your logic. You compare 2 totally different services and their reliability against each other when you stated WOT isnt reliable, but Bitdefender is because it warned you.
     
  23. Hayki_

    Hayki_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Posts:
    13
  24. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
  25. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I thought Engine A meant Avast and Engine B meant Bitdefender:gack:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.