BitDefender 10 Freeware

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by IceCube1010, Feb 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Hi

    I really like this antivirus as a backup on-demand scanner. I noticed that it expires? Do you need to re-register it every 6 months?

    thanks
    Ice
     
  2. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
  3. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    I have used it a while ago and no registration needed but that may have changed ricently . It was two or three months ago though
     
  4. progress

    progress Guest

    BitDefender 10 Free has no real-time protection, am I right? :rolleyes:
     
  5. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    Correct
     
  6. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    Supposedly every 12 months but I can't recall ever actually re-registering it personally.
     
  7. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    thanks for the input. I tried googling and the BitDefender forums but I could not see if you needed to re-register. I'll leave it on, it's a good backup scanner even though it has 4 processes that take up 10m of memory. No problem, I have A2 free and it takes 5m also.

    Ice
     
  8. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Just an FYI- if you decide to disable the BD running processes whatever is in quarantine may be able to phone home. I had this issue with BD in the past and asked about it in their forums but to no avail. Perhaps they addressed the issue, perhaps not.
     
  9. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    You mean BitDefender connects with their site to give them info about the file in quarantine?

    Ice
     
  10. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    No, disabling a certain process then any malware in quarantine will be able to phone home like ET
     
  11. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    That's not good. I guess I'll leave the processes running, or better yet, if I know the file in question is bad, delete it.

    Ice
     
  12. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    As GES/POR said, yes. Just be sure and don't delete a false positive.
     
  13. dw2108

    dw2108 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Posts:
    480
    For 2000, XP, and higher, it has an email scanner IF you choose the complete install option.

    For 9x/ME systems, BD Free has on access protection, BHAVE, and VM protection from all malware known known to BD at the time of updating, again with the complete install option.

    It expires after 1 year. To continue using it, d/l their uninstall tool, run it, reinstall and update.

    It works well withe most AV apps.

    Dave
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.