Bit Defender 64 bit goes ballistic

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Oldjim, Mar 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Oldjim

    Oldjim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Posts:
    99
    It looks as though a false alarm is quarantining everything in sight including Bit Defender files Bit Defender Forums
     
  2. Templar

    Templar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    114
    WHOW - I just checked out their forum and this is HUGE man, it's eating the PCs alive, BitDefender is going to have a problem with the fallout from this one.
     
  3. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    Um......glad I don't have Bitdefender installed :p
     
  4. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
  5. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    wow all the vendor who uses bits def files, man i hate to be them
     
  6. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    So: F-Secure, G-Data, Bull Guard, and Bit Defender user's are going to go through many Fp's :doubt:
     
  7. IBK

    IBK AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,819
    Location:
    Innsbruck (Austria)
    http://www.bitdefender.com/site/KnowledgeBase/consumer/#638

     
  8. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    621
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    3. We're assuming you have access to another pc and that you realize that what's happened is a result of BitDefender.
     
  9. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    Another good reason to make image backups.
     
  10. Johnny123

    Johnny123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Posts:
    548
    Location:
    Bremen, Germany
    Also another good reason to not use apps that automatically delete/quarantine files without asking first.

    It's also another good reason to quit running as admin and ditch the resource hogs.
     
  11. PC__Gamer

    PC__Gamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    526
    Although this one is a bigger problem than what I've seen in the past, but I have seen similar things happen with other popular avs too, so for that reason, this won't change my mind about their product, which I've liked for years, minus the bugs and poor support channel

    Let's hope they can sort it quickly, I'm sure the person involed in creating the problem is gonna get slated by his employers, as things like this are never good especially for software that is supposed to be protecting your files.

    I'm sure they will get over it though! Just a dodgy update, I've seen them before and I will see the again (who next?) lol
     
  12. mvario

    mvario Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Posts:
    339
    Location:
    Haddonfield, IL
  13. ratwing

    ratwing Guest

    This makes the acrimony of the Avast! update debacle,and the earlier Comodo mess-up,seem mild.

    What a thread they have going!!.
    I didn't thank there were that many Bit-Defenders users in the world!
    Let alone,64 bit users!
     
  14. ggf31416

    ggf31416 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    314
    Location:
    Uruguay
    BitDefender is lucky that this didn't happen the day AV-Comparatives froze their signatures for the Febraury test o_O
    BitDefender should do more testing before releasing the signatures for updating :blink:
     
  15. Technic

    Technic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    428
    Geez! This must be sabotage. :shifty:

    Any news about G Data/F-Secure?
     
  16. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    F-Secure did not issue the problematic update so their users should be fine. Speaking of Client Security and Antivirus for Workstations.
     
  17. Technic

    Technic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    428
    Thanks for the info Sputnik. :)

    Really bad news for Bitdefender users. :(
     
  18. Martijn2

    Martijn2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    No problems here with Gdata (antivirus 2010) on a 64 bit computer
     
  19. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    G-Data and F-Secure usually only provide updates on Saturday morning, probably that saved them. I'm not exactly sure if they do their own fp tests before issuing updates, I know F-Secure did so when they used AVP (Kaspersky) engine.
     
  20. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,055
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    LOLZ, boy oh boy, I´m glad that I´m not using any realtime scanner. :D
     
  21. Matt BitDefender

    Matt BitDefender Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    Hi everyone,

    We are very sorry for the problems people may have had in regards to this issue.

    We have been providing information to our users via support articles that are updated regularly as we implement solutions:

    Home users will find solutions here: www.bitdefender.com/site/KnowledgeBase/consumer/#638

    BitDefender Business Client users will find solutions here: www.bitdefender.com/site/KnowledgeBase/consumer/#643

    BitDefender Security for File Servers users will find solutions here: www.bitdefender.com/site/KnowledgeBase/consumer/#642

    If anyone has further problems please let me know here and I will help you to deal with them.

    Best,

    Matt Hicks
    BitDefender
     
  22. Turbofylla

    Turbofylla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Norway
    Thank God I am not the only one with this thing. I did have this problem 4 days ago. I didnt have the guts to write her beacuse I thought it might be something wrong with my pc.

    One day I turned on my computer, bitdefender went NUTS!! Popping up saying I hade tons of trojans fakealert 5 something. I tried system restore and then to reinstall Bitdefender. Same problem.

    At this point I realized that it was a problem with BD. But now i had problems with acessing systemrestore. So I had to reinstall my whole W7 .
     
  23. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,786
    uuuuuuuuuuuuhhhhhhhh what a pain .:'(
    that is really awful .i do not remember BD doing such mass in sometimes now
     
  24. Templar

    Templar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    114
    Frack man.. I can just imagine some corp customers having hundreds of comps hosed within hours. Lucky them it was only W7 x64 and not XP :D
     
  25. CogitoTesting

    CogitoTesting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Posts:
    901
    Location:
    Sea of Tranquility, Luna
    64bit computers are the norm right now.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.