BETA: Today's bugs

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 v3 Beta Forum' started by Thorz, Aug 4, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Thorz

    Thorz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Posts:
    124
    These ones are the bugs that I found today on the beta:

    1. Windows update not working correctly. (IMON)
    2. Moving files in Windows XP not working correctly.
    3. Still the slow XP shutdown / restart problem that was reported by several users 6 months ago. (IMON)
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Slow shutdown, IMON related, also on my machines, only annoying when I want to leave work in a hurry ;)

    Lsass discussed here:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=42450

    and here:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=35206&highlight=IMON

    Cheers :D
     
  3. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    As for the slow shut down on XP... Since I have installed SP2 RC2 the problem has diappeared. Hopefully the situation will remain the same in the official release.
     
  4. steve_h

    steve_h Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    As far as Windows update not working correctly, make sure that under IMON setup/Compatiblilty setup, that Mozilla 4 is set to 'higher comaptibility' (all instances of Mozilla 4.) This should fix this problem

    Steve
     
  5. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    You can't use Mozilla for Windows Update. I think you mean that should be IE set to higher compatibility, but I thought WU uses https and then ftp for file transfer. This isn't even an issue on my system. I didn't have any problems with the end of July update for IE.
     
  6. Thorz

    Thorz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Posts:
    124
    I am installing now the last beta from a link that I got from ESET. I have had ONE mozilla 4 in High Performance as it is by default. It is the only thing that was in high performance, all the other things were in "Higher compatibility", even IE, extrange (as I told I have not moved anything in this section, it is all defaults), maybe they are still in compatibility mode because it is just the beta, hopefuly we will enjoy high performance in some more apps when the final version is ready.
     
  7. steve_h

    steve_h Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    In IMON HTTP compatibility setup, IE is identified (properly) as Mozilla 4.

    Steve
     
  8. Thorz

    Thorz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Posts:
    124
    The last beta didn't work, but Steve advise about "higher compatibility" did. The thing that really worries me is the issue whith moving files. It goes away right afr\ter disabling AMON. This is something really critical. I will keep you all posted.
     
  9. Thorz

    Thorz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Posts:
    124
    I have returned to the official version. I think the moving files between partitions bug was really scary. You all should run a small test to see if you are having this problem also. Move a folder (with explorer) with lots of subfolders and lots of different files (exe triggers the problem easy, I have had lots of documments, zip, rar and exe files) between 2 disks or partitions and see if AMON is not making the process quit with a Windows error.
     
  10. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    No problems here - win2k

    Ruben
     
  11. GScharoff

    GScharoff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Scarsdale, NY
    I transferred files without any problems :D But I am having problems with SLOWWWWWW shutdown :( sometimes as long as 10 minutes or more. I did have that on the previous version not the Beta...but when I removed the Beta and temporarily restored the current version the long shutdown seemed to be gone...but I have reinstalled the Beta (thought the Beta was causing a different problem) and now the slow shutdown has reappeared. Since I am new to the board and spent months trying to figure out why I was acutally falling asleep faster than my computer was shutting down, I am sort of glad to find out that it is NOT a problem with the computer but somewhat concerned that it is infact NOD32 causing the problem.

    Gary
     
  12. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    10 minutes is WAY too long, 30 seconds is way too long... :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.