Beta/RC: 3.0.5.113 (Significant Changes)

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by PrevxHelp, Apr 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,372
    Hello Joe,
    The new beta is really great :thumb: , so far so good except one small problem ... after auto update to .113 Prevx disappeared from Windows Security Center. However manual reinstall cured it and Prevx is now again reported within WSC. Maybe some adjustment for next beta auto update would be necessary. Anyhow, wishing you and everybody out there a happy Easter.
    pegas
     
  2. rockdj99uk

    rockdj99uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Posts:
    24
    I'm using Windows 7 64 Bit and now in Action center I'm getting the message "Prevx3.0 is on but is reporting its status to Windows Security Center in a format that is no longer supported. Use the programs auto update feature or contact the program manufacturer for an updated version."

    Its recommending I turn on Windows Defender.

    Prevx Auto Updated to 3.0.5.113.

    Any ideas?

    Just seen the post above. Will try that.
     
  3. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,372
    I also don't see that small dialog. I have added one banking password to all HTTPS sites but I am seeing nothing. Working under administrator rights with UAC enabled.
     
  4. rockdj99uk

    rockdj99uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Posts:
    24

    It doesn't install over the top and Prevx will not uninstall. If I try the uninstaller it closes down Prevx and says it is finished. When I restart Windows Prevx is back?

    I need an over the air update it looks like. The uninstaller needs looking at as well.

    The only other security software I'm running is Winpatrol.
     
  5. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello all,
    Nothing has been changed in many months regarding security center integration so I suspect it may be an installation issue. The best way to ensure that Prevx is fully uninstalled is to use the Uninstall Prevx link in the start menu, let it uninstall, reboot, andf then run our uninstall tool if needed from http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=csiuninstalltool

    The uninstall tool doesn't remove everything from the newer builds of Prevx but if you run a normal uninstall first, it will recheck that everything has been removed.

    The key step, however, is rebooting after uninstallation and ensuring that all uninstalls/installs take place from an administrator account to ensure that everything has the proper rights in the OS.

    Let me know if there are any issues running this sequence and ill investigate further :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2010
  6. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    599
    Location:
    UK
    There are definitely some issues with this version not installing properly. Installation took ages (even under my admin account) and the "learning scan" was only carried out after I first rebooted. Also installing over the top didn't work.

    I'm afraid that when I logged in evening this new version didn't run again.

    I'm going to revert back to v 106 for now as this RC just isn't reliable.

    I'm sorry, I can't give more positive feedback.
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,818
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I find it easy to upgrade if I leave the RC version on even when it goes final and if another RC comes along it will Auto-Update but that's just me of course! And I always use Admin Account I find no use for LUA or UAC as I'm the only one that uses my computer! Again this is my personal preference and I find it's less trouble! ;) Also I did the upgrade of Prevx on all of my VM's which I have XP Pro SP3, Vista SP2, Win 7 all 32bit without any problems what so ever and I didn't even disable VIPRE AV! FWIW

    TH
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2010
  8. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    599
    Location:
    UK
    LOL Triple Helix.

    There's more to UAC than that though. The default setting for Vista and Windows 7 users is that UAC will be enabled so PrevX should be trying to work with such settings as this is what the majority will have.

    I did try to see if auto-protected credentials worked under my admin account using IE8 but it didn't. I haven't tried disabling UAC; I think PrevX need to ensure their product works for LUA and UAC users to minimise problems for the majority of their user base.

    I stress that everything was fine under LUA and UAC with version 106. It's just this version that seems to be giving trouble.
     
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,818
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Do you disable all of your security before installing? I see you have more running than I do! Maybe give that a try because I'm mostly concerned about Windows Defender could be the culprit in this version installation because it does add a BHO in IE https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1652108&postcount=8 ?

    TH
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 3, 2010
  10. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    599
    Location:
    UK
    I uninstalled 106 as admin, reboot, run prevx uninstaller, reboot again.

    I disabled KIS2010, Windows Defender before I re-installed PrevX 113 as Admin.

    I don't know but I suspect the BHO doesn't work under UAC. We need to wait until PrevxHelp can confirm this. The other issue is that the tray icon doesn't always appear when I reboot, and the SafeOnline tab is then missing.
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,818
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes you need some help to get this sorted I think it's just a botched install when you tried to install over an Official Release with and RC! IMO it's best to uninstall an Official Release reboot then install the RC! Like I said before I always keep the RC even if goes final as it's the same Build but mine will always say Release Candidate in GUI which does not bother me and I never had any problems with Upgrading! Again this is my Personal Opinion :thumb:

    I hope you get sorted soon because I really like this version and I know you would to!

    TH
     
  12. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    599
    Location:
    UK
    I found out what is wrong with the prevx BHO! :D

    It doesn't work when IE8's protected mode is enabled (under tools/Internet Options/security tab).
    :'( :'(

    If I disable this, then the automatic credential protection prompt appears whether I'm logged in as Admin or as a Standard user.

    Hopefully PrevxHelp will confirm this and advise if it can be fixed.

    I persevering with 113 for now. My main concern is that the icon keeps disappearing when I reboot. I think I've done a clean install now.
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,818
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes I see now as I don't use IE8's protected mode as I have that disable also! But for the Icon in the tray go into the GUI under settings basic config uncheck show in system tray and and click save then close window and go back a check that box and click save and it should appear!

    HTH,

    TH
     
  14. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    599
    Location:
    UK
    For someone who's runs such a lean mean machine, I'm suprised to see the Adobe reader plug in in your list of BHOs. It would be much faster with Foxit Reader. :D

    Thanks for the tip for making the tray icon come back.
     
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,818
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I use the full version of Adobe Acrobat Pro that's why it's there ;)

    I hope the Icon stays there after reboot! :thumb:

    TH
     
  16. Dark Star 72

    Dark Star 72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    769
    No comment needed :cautious:
    Submitted as a FP
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    This credential lock is a great addition. I have been around to anywhere I have to log in trying it out. Only small problem is on a few sites I use the same password...I know, I know, but just have to allow it and all is well.
     
  18. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,818
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hey TD I do the same with passwords but I have 2 or three different ones that I mostly use!

    TH
     
  19. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,761
    Update of this release went well. Noted the BHO subkey addition. However, as I have IE 6 installed and rarely use...:D see screenshot.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    599
    Location:
    UK
    I have done several re-boots. It all seems to be working fine with 113 now. :D
     
  21. PC__Gamer

    PC__Gamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    526
    i did notice the download goes over the 1mb mark, im sure Joe wont be happy with this!

    1.02mb reported by IE8,
     
  22. ViVek

    ViVek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    Moon
    no problems here with latest Beta\rc
     
  23. lubieplacki

    lubieplacki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Posts:
    151
    Location:
    Poland
    Reporting from the front - everything is OK with this Relase Candidate.
     
  24. rockdj99uk

    rockdj99uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Posts:
    24
    Managed to get it installed so it now communicates correctly with Security Centre but no BHO getting installed in IE8. o_O

    From my experiences something would appear to be wrong with this release.

    Auto-Update not installing update correctly
    Uninstall not straightforward
    No BHO in IE8
     
  25. Technic

    Technic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    430
    Hi!

    SOL is causing frequent (annoying) browser crashes. Chrome and W7 64-bit here. o_O
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.