Best way to move to new server...

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by aschrades, May 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aschrades

    aschrades Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    We have NOD32 installed on ~ 50 workstations and everything is managed through RAC. The server RAC is on is being replaced with new hardware. What is the best way to move RAC and clients to a new server? Fresh install?

    Thanks for the help!

    -Adam
     
  2. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Are the workstations configured to check into the remote server via IP address or netbios name? Easy enough just to keep one of those the same...physically replace the box...in a short period of time they'll all be checking in and populate it.
     
  3. aschrades

    aschrades Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Thats a good idea, unfortunately it won't work in our situation. This is more of a slow migration from one server to the other. We're moving all the services (backup, av, shares) etc. over piece by piece so both servers are running simultaneously.
     
  4. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Ahh....if a slow migration...that seems to make it easy. I'd create a new config file for each type of group that you have (desktops, laptops, servers, etc)...with the remote administation section filled in with the IP of the new RAS box, as well as the update settings. Push out the config files. Update now. Next...delete those machines that you just updated...from the old RAS box. Monitor the new RAS box..you should see them populate it.

    Can copy over the saved config files easy enough.
     
  5. aschrades

    aschrades Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks! I'll give that a shot and see how it works.

    Thanks for your help!

    -Adam
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.