Best Terabyte Unlimited product to copy a HDD to SSD

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Mister X, Mar 26, 2016.

  1. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,774
    Location:
    Mexico
    Which is the best product to do the following:

    Migrate/Copy an entire 160GB WD HDD with two partitions, one C: (Windows) and two D: (Data) to a new SSD (120GB).

    I like IFL now very much, but you tell me which one. Then I need assistance to set it up accordingly to get the best results.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2016
  2. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,305
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Any Terabyte product can do that for you. They are all (pretty much) the same. But I prefer IFL because it's faster.
     
  3. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,774
    Location:
    Mexico
    Thank you. I like IFL a lot now too. Silly me I was just using IFD for years but never tried IFL before until a few weeks ago.
     
  4. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,774
    Location:
    Mexico
    Thing is how to configure IFL correctly to copy/migrate my current HDD to SSD. I've never done this before. I don't know which parameters (partition alignment, resize partitions, etc) to check and to take into account for my HDD. Btw my OS is Windows 8.1 x64.
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Mister X,

    I've done this a lot recently. Can you post a screenshot of your Disk Management? What size SSD are you proposing to use? In IFW or IFL click Backup, select the Win8 partition (highlight it) and click Information. What is the "MiB to Restore" number? What are the LBA numbers? What are the Used and Free numbers?

    Edit.. You mentioned SSD is 120 GB.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2016
  6. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,774
    Location:
    Mexico
    Thanks for your reply Brian.

    diskmgmt.png

    Yes it is 120 GB.

    26418 MiB Used
    13247 MiB Free
    31951 MiB to Restore

    LBA: 14336-81248255

    Device CHS: 1022/254/63
    Device Sector Size: 512
    Device ID: 0xCE7D764D
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Thanks for that. You have no problem with the data or sectors in use fitting on the SSD.

    14336/2048= 7. An integer so your partition is 1MiB aligned and it will remain so after the restore.

    I'd create an Entire Drive image of the HD. Then remove the HD, install the empty SSD (to the same SATA port if it's a desktop) and boot into IFL. Restore the Win8 image first (out of the Entire Drive image) to Free Space. For Options, choose Set Active and Restore First Track. It will restore as a 38.74 GB partition. Then restore the DATA partition to the remaining Free Space. No Options are needed. In both cases you can choose Validate if you desire. Done.

    Edit... I omitted to ask, what is the MiB to Restore for the DATA partition. It needs to be less than 73000 MiB.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2016
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    The reasoning behind MiB to Restore...

    Let's say you had a 500 GB HD partition with 50 GB of data. You would expect the image to restore to a 100 GB SSD. But it depends on the data spread. If the data was spread over 200 GB (200000 MiB to Restore) the image wouldn't restore. In this situation you would use IFL to compact the data to a figure less than 100000 MiB. Then create your backup image.
     
  9. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,774
    Location:
    Mexico
    94198 MiB to Restore
     
  10. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,774
    Location:
    Mexico
    I guess:
    14336 is taken from LBA: 14336-81248255
    and
    2048 is taken from ?

    Should I always take that first number from LBA parameter?
    Should I always take 2048 as a fixed divider?
     
  11. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    2048 is 1MiB on disks using 512B sectors. You use the starting LBA (first sector) of the partition.
     
  12. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,774
    Location:
    Mexico
    Thanks.
    In this case, isn't a good idea to "Align to target" to get the best sector size for SSD disk to increase performance and lifespan?
     
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Mister X,

    On the same screen where you selected Information, highlight the DATA partition and select Compact. Compact the data to say 60000 MiB. Then you are ready to create your backup image.
     
  14. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,774
    Location:
    Mexico
    It says something like there's a risk of loss of info. Do you think it's safe enough to skip this warning?
     
  15. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,774
    Location:
    Mexico
    Just asking. Isn't better in these cases just to use Copy operation? Instead of Backup > Restore operations.
     
  16. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,774
    Location:
    Mexico
    One more thing. I decided a couple hours ago, to use a 2.5" 500 GB HDD for DATA storage, instead of dividing my SSD in two.
    Why? Because I use to run programs that renders video, Minecraft server which forcibly uses a page file which I intend to put it on the HDD, also make use of WMware activity a lot, also Shadow Defender which makes a hidden partition on each volume but I'm going to redirect it to the HDD as well. Then I think this would reduce SSD wear.
     
  17. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    It's safe but have an image backup before you start the Compact.

    You still have to use Compact. Copy is fine but the new drive should ideally be mounted internally for the copy and you have to be careful to not boot the computer after the Copy has completed. Remove the old drive before booting. Or use "Change Disk ID and GUIDs". If you do an Entire Drive Copy the new OS partition will be proportionately smaller (160 GB to 120 GB drive). I prefer image/restore when going from a larger to a smaller drive as I have more control but it's personal.

    Then there is no need to compact any data. Restore the OS partition image to the empty SSD and in the "Resize after Restore" field enter the Max number (or your own number).

    The SSD should outlast your computer.
     
  18. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,774
    Location:
    Mexico
    Thanks Brian. What about my question above?
     
  19. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    "Align to Target" is really for changing partition alignment, which you don't want to do. It has nothing to do with sector size and isn't a relevant option for your project.
     
  20. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,774
    Location:
    Mexico
    Ok, thanks a lot.

    I am ready for my project now!
    Before undergoing my project I need to do family things and chores today and will work on it tonight... :D

    Have a nice Sunday @Brian K and @MudCrab
     
  21. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,774
    Location:
    Mexico
    Everything went well. Thanks guys.
     
  22. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Good news!
     
  23. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,774
    Location:
    Mexico
    Just a minor issue with disks IDs. As I re-utilized the old one as D: then IDs of both disks collided. Fixed with diskpart...
     
  24. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Nice work.
     
  25. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    ifw and acronis so far are the two go to's for me for swapping a hdd to a ssd. as much as i love macrium it seems to sometimes take forever when doing this task. i did however find yesterday a hdd that for some reason no matter the settings i used ifw just didnt want to copy. it was only 5% done and had been running for nearly 1.5 hours already and there was only about 50-60gb total to be moved. the drive was mounted internally in the desktop (not through usb) on a new 990fx board. first time for me ifw in years has ever had any kind of issues. i still wish i knew why. i dont have the system anymore to run tests on so im curious now. also btw the hdd was fine according to chkdsk and showed no errors. os was windows 10 x64
     
Loading...