Best Google Chrome alternative?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by acr1965, Sep 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Google Chrome's updates are driving me a bit batty. It seems they have release after release and I never get to see what the release notes are and usually there's a bug or two. Anymore every time I open Google Chrome it looks like a whole new browser with buttons disappeared and new configuration options. It gets frustrating although I still love the speed.

    What is the best Chrome option? Chrome Plus? SRware Iron? Something else? A portable version? ChromePlus web site/contact info looked a little fishy, Iron seemed too slow to update, I still cannot find the open source Chromium browser people talk about that Google Chrome is based on.

    I need a Chrome based browser that gives the option to update, has regular updates but not so frequent that they come out everyday. I also need one that I can import all my current Google Chrome bookmarks.

    Any suggestions.
     
  2. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    I would go for SRWare IRON ... And i also suggest you the same..:)
     
  3. microbial

    microbial Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Posts:
    156
    Location:
    UK
    I've only just started using Iron and from what I understand it's come a long way in the last year or so. The updates are more regular than they used to be (maybe still a bit slow in this respect) but overall I think it's a polished browser. It seems to avoid some of the privacy issues inherent in Google Chrome if that sort of thing bothers you.

    Not sure where you can find the open source Chromium repository but I can guarantee folks will be along to let you know its location as well as giving more detailed info than I can.

    Give Iron a try. It's pretty good. Now there's a catchline ;)
     
  4. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    You can turn off the google updater and use Chrome as long as you wish without having to update.

    Sul.
     
  5. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
  6. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
  7. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    But these snapshots are mixed, gem n stones together in them!!
     
  8. Reimer

    Reimer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Posts:
    217
    It doesn't sound like you're using the Stable build. It doesn't update that often. Are you sure you're not using a beta, dev, or canary build?

    As for Chromium, you probably don't want to use that if you're afraid of bugs. Chromium is essentially a nightly of Chrome.
     
  9. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    Use Iron! :D
     
  10. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I'm most tempted to give Iron another shot. I see the download says-
    > Download < (Installer for XP,Vista)

    does this run fine in windows 7? (32 bit)
     
  11. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    Avinash,

    Can you post the user agent string that Iron reports?
     
  12. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    My gripe with Google Chrome is that there is no way whereby the user can configure the maximum size of Chrome's cache. As long as I continue surfing, Chrome's cache just keeps on growing & growing. For example, after just ~2 hours of surfing, CCleaner cleaned out more than 160MB of cache from Chrome!

    QUESTION: Does Iron enable the user to set the maximum size of the cache? Does Chrome+?
     
  13. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    yes! :-*
     
  14. LockBox

    LockBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    2,275
    Location:
    Here, There and Everywhere
    You know, for some reason (laziness), I've never given Iron a try. How is the start-up (launch) time? Is it pretty snappy overall as well? I may have to spend my day off playing with this.
     
  15. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Quick - and opens in less than 2 seconds on my machine!.
     
  16. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Iron :thumb:

    Add new tab behavior, WOT, SiteAdvisor for Chrome extentions and start up with --safe-plugins switch and you are ready to roll (on all our PC's les than 2 secs cold, less than 1 sec repeat start ups)
     
  17. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    So.... does Iron enable the user to set maximum cache size?
     
  18. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    All switches for Chrome work also for iron

    But I thought you did not like Chrome?
     
  19. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Which means that Iron also does not enable configuration of cache size. :mad:

    I do not like the facts that Chrome:

    - gives no option for where I want it installed

    - does not enable setting cache size

    I like Chrome' speed, but Chrome+ attains equal speed with much greater configurability. Here are screenies showing just a couple of MANY possible examples of Chrome+'s greater configurability. . .

    ScrHunt01 16-Sep-10.gif

    ScrHunt02 16-Sep-10.gif

    Also, Chrome+ can be installed wherever the user desires.
     
  20. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
  21. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    screw google chrome, run opera sandboxed *puppy*
     
  22. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    Anything you say! Whatever. :rolleyes:
     
  23. Pinga

    Pinga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Posts:
    1,420
    Location:
    Europe
    Why not post sandboxed?
     
  24. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    OT & crude. :thumbd:
     
  25. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    You can install Google Chrome to %PROGRAMFILES%, either by installing the so-to-speak classic installer with the following command line switch:

    <path where the installer is, including the installer> /systemlevel

    Or, you can install using Google Chrome enterprise installer, which will ask where to install, if I well remember.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.