Best Firewall for Vista? Any suggestions.

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by lllbob, Dec 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lllbob

    lllbob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    usa
    Hello all... I forgot my old username/email so had to rejoin again...sorry...

    *Whats the best firewall for Vista home preimium?

    That passes the sheilds up test... ie: All Stealth.
    Preferably free...but I guess it doesn't have to be.
    and without any blue screens of deaths reports on vista (comodo forum)
    Any good news on that online armor? I read about sum startup problems on that.. is that fixed yet?

    I liked SYGATE personel firewall pro. Which even old, worked great for my xp and old 98 pc's. But now I have a vista pc. :-(
    Any way to get sygate to run on vista? ?
    I wish I had the sourcecode to that sygate..man...maybe decompile it? l o l

    **ok im just gonna wine about some stuff here. lol------------------------
    I am currently trying out Jetico 2.0.1.2.. which has expired and I'm left with limited functionality... and my AVG email scanner has stopped functioning and will not start. and I'm really looking forward to uninstalling jetico... its probably gonna mess up something I'm sure. My avg email scanner was working while jetico was expired,but now all of a sudden it doesn't start any longer.. That started after I added my crossover lan cable.. and yes I reset avg email scanner back to dial up...cause it swapped it to lan.
    and system restore did absolutely Nothing. Nothing at all...as if I didn't even click the restore button....wtc? yet system restore continues to suck up my drive space.. yeah I really like that about vista....
    Another month of this... and the crappy vista will be wipped out from this brand new pc, and good old xp will be installed.. along with the great sygate.
    I'd rather use xp without any updates at all, along with my sygate. good greif.
    --------------------------------------
     
  2. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    If I were you I would just try out Comodo, for it's the best free one. I tried it and had no BSOD at all. Vista 64 in my case.
     
  3. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Sorry to say but Online Armor doesnt work on Vista just yet.

    Sygate? Nope. Nice try.

    Some Vista firewalls:

    Comodo (free)
    Jetico
    Look n Stop
    Outpost
    Zonealarm (free)
    PC Tools Firewall Plus (free)
    Webroot Desktop Firewall (free)
     
  4. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    Probably Comodo 3.0, but it is very intrusive. You could turn off defense+, or install it with defense+ on low.
     
  5. lllbob

    lllbob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    usa
    ahh thanks for the replies...

    So comodo is good then?
    I believe my vista home premium is 32bit.. right?.where would I look..
    I also read the uninstall of the comodo is a pain...
    and most likely this jetico 2.0.1.2 will be as well...

    also when I updated an application.. The sygate would say "this application has changed" and I hear that comodo doesn't do this?

    Jetico BUG- I noticed that if the firewall is shutdown things don't work..
    System Restore gives "Invalid Access to memory location(0x800703E6)"
    Reinstalling AVG free gives "Errors adding the avg to the start up registry etc.."
    So most likey I can exspect the worst when I try to uninstall jetico.
    When the firewall is running those things work after a popup is givin and you hit ok.
    So shuting down jetico is not shuting it down, even when the .exe is exited and the service is stopped. Sygate of course did not do that...

    * What about the Look N Stop? didnt see any info about that here..
    It looked ok to me...Although I think a software site that has it's own forum is a good thing. Like jetico and comodo have their own forum. while others do not.

    * ZoneAlarm.. nawp surely don't want that.."too bloated"
    last time I used that it was a resource hog. but did work stealthed.
    of course that was on a real slow machine many many years ago.

    Welp I suppose I may give the comodo a try I guess...
    but I better read on some uninstall tips for the jetico first eh?
    Man.. a bet sumthing is gonna mess up with that...

    and the first bsod from comodo itta be gone...
    and I'll go back to windows firewall with advance settings...l-o-l
    may even go back to X P ...huh huh...

    Welp.. Thanks for the info folks...

    ---------------------------------------------------------
    " Theres just to many firewalls and not the one I want. SYGATE! lol "
    Why exactly would it not work on vista? Looks like you could right-click on the service.exe and check "run as administrator" , select run as windows xp,and check the fancy display things off... But I guess not eh... anybody ever tried that? ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Yup.
    Yes LooknStop is Vista compatible.
    Oh but it does have a forum. Its right here at Wilders.
    I would say its because of the driver. It would need to be Vista compatible.
     
  7. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Have to agree-was never a fan of Comodo,the exact opposite,but the current version is so good that its easy to recommend,except for specialised use, but even then I guess C. could fill the bill.
    Would recommend ZA for a less technical approach-but C certainly isnt overwhelming.
    The alerts arent overwhelming at all, will get less with time and everything is controllable:thumb:
    If you are a Sygate fan,you'll be amazed by its lightness and small footprint
     
  8. lllbob

    lllbob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    usa
    Ok I just tried the latest comodo on vista home premium 32bit.
    and it was not good at all.. huh huh.. well i got no bsod's, BUT OMG!
    FREEZE FREEZE Everything was freezing...OMG...

    Thank goodness for system restore... OMG.. as soon as I'd click on anything freeze freeze freeze! Clicked on browser... dialed up.. clicked to a site.. firefox froze and would not end task.. click on comodo icon.. freeze freeze... click on avg.. nothing...omg.. nothing would work.not task manager..nothing.what a nightmare... plum horrible experience....and the first bootup, I clicked the comodo icon, and it popped up and just froze up. Never even got to see what it even looked like....

    YET I assume since other people has comodo running smoothly, I would think maybe it has something to with windows vista updates. Ok people, I haven't exactly had 6 hours just yet to install the 62MB of updates. I'm on dial-up cause dsl is unavailable. So most likey that could have been the problem.
    I will post that in their forum, so someone else doesn't have to go through that experience.

    After all I still had SP1 on XP home and never ever updated it, and never had a problem. That and I don't much care to wait 6-7 hours for updates that may improve or may make things even worse.

    Anyway.. I reinstalled Jetico 2.0.1.2, and behold I got a month left back, and everything is back working great...including the avg email scanner.
    So as long as jetico is not expired and running in limited functionality it works pretty good. Guess I'll be buying that in a month then...
    I only reinstalled it because the stupid restore,restored the jetico files even though I had uninstalled it. So I was gonna install it and then uninstall it to remove the files, But then it was all back working good.
    So guess I'll use that for now then. and jetico also uninstalled perfectly.
    and comodo did not, which is why I did the system restore.

    I bet I make a habit of making a restore point before installing stuff like that again. That's the first time I'v Ever had to use a system restore. Never ever used it on xp or anything else. Thank goodness for that...now I don't mind it using up 33gb....LOL


    and that concludes this new years horrible nightmare. omg..lol
     
  9. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    PC Tools Firewall Plus V2 or ZoneAlarm AntiVirus 7.1.078.000.
     
  10. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
  11. Gren

    Gren Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    93
    Using Comodo 3.0 here with D+ turned off and Threatfire installed and UAC left on.

    Hardly any popups at all and those are the expected ones from Comodo when a program is run for the first time or updates itself. Most of the time its just a little box to say its 'learning'

    Gets my thumbs up - been using it for around 2 weeks now alongside NOD 32 v2.7
     
  12. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    At the risk of being OT, or sounding rude, my conclusion is the solution for most Vista problems is XP. I ran Vista from its release until about 2 months ago and finally gave up. It just seemed to get worse over time. It might be a while until security software developers completely catch up. A lot of software touted as Vista compatible is not.

    NOn withstanding what I said earlier about Comodo 3, the built in firewall at least contributes the fewest issues, uses the least resources in a resource hungry OS and does not slow things down at all in an already too slow OS. My only other recommendation is to resist the temptation to turn off UAC.
     
  13. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Diver, I have to admit that finding programs to work with Vista can be tasking at times. Sometimes you can use a program for a while before you discover irregularities (such as in the case of NIS conflicting with my USB memory reader card). As of now AVG and Comodo seem to be getting along with each other and with Vista.

    But I will tough it out with Vista. It seems I went through a similar experience years ago when I had installed MS's latest OS: Windows XP :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2008
  14. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Oh, to the original poster, if you install CFP during the install select the "use database to decide outgoing programs" (or similar) and have the firewall set to Train with Safe mode and Proactive Defense set to Clean PC. This will not show a lot of popups. I had used the "Let me decide..." mode and the difference is between night and day.

    If you decide that you do not like Proactive Defense (because of installing programs or having to review files for approval/disapproval) you can go to the Defense+ window, click on Advanced on the left side and then click on Defense+ Settings. In the next window check the box next to 'Deactivate the Defense+ permanently' and reboot. When the system comes back up only the firewall module will be there.
     
  15. TouchuvGrey

    TouchuvGrey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    441
    Location:
    South Mississippi USA ( ya'll )
    Currently running Look n Stop here. It plays
    very well with Vista. I had Esets ESS but my
    30 days ran out. Hoping Mike Nash will make
    Online Armor Vista compatible soon.
     
  16. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    I would like to try out OA myself when the Vista version is available from what I have been reading about it.

    [btw, howdy from McComb! :) I have that "touch" myself :D ]
     
  17. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    Several well known bloggers have reported good results using AVG on Vista, including Long Zheng (istartedsomething) and Len Silverman (Houston Chronicle). Anyway, the price is right.

    There is so much latency in vista that you really have to watch out that resident programs (as in firewalls, AV's and othr security software) do not compound the problem.
     
  18. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Use the clean pc mode and you shouldn't be getting popups.

    Yea better be quick though. I read MS is phasing it out. To be fair to MS, it wasn't like vista was a stealth release or anything. It was in development for 5 years and they, at developers' request, delayed its release until after the 06 Christmas to give developer's extra time to program drivers.
     
  19. Chris12923

    Chris12923 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    Agnitum's Outpost Firewall Pro 2008 was one of only two firewalls that scored perfect in matousec.com tests the second being Online Armor. It works on Vista and I highly recommend it.

    Thanks,

    Chris
     
  20. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Jetico works fine with vista/xp and it's free. Oh and it's not filled with useless spyware scanners or mail scanners whatever.
     
  21. JASTECH

    JASTECH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Posts:
    38
    I have Vista Ultimate 64 on this rig and Comodo does just fine. I also tried KIS 7 and ti has a firewall that does real nice too. Now I am beta testing KIS 8 and you should see the new stuff they have implemented do to our suggestions! And ti will be one of the top security programs I think. Thanks, JAS
     
  22. randle

    randle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Posts:
    30
    Forget about Webroot Desktop Firewall. Lots of problems. Had to uninstall it. Terrible. Just try Vista's firewall. Does a pretty good job and actually works!

    Cheers.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.