Best Detection For On Demand Scanner:

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by apathy, Jan 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. apathy

    apathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    461
    Location:
    9th Circle of Hell(Florida)
    Hey Guys/Gals,

    I bought Avira a year or two ago and love it. Yet Avira is a bit too heavy for my 3 year old laptop. I'm running OA, SBIE, FDISR and I was thinking that I could just run an on demand scanner to keep the nasties off me without sacrificing my memory/cpu.

    If you guys could give me some suggestions I'd appreciate it.
     
  2. Zimzi

    Zimzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Posts:
    289
    I am using Avira on one of my machines which is 7 years old. Avira is one of the lightest antivirus.

    Also, recommend A2 Free as a great on-demand scanner.
     
  3. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    Well the thread is wrongly started. There is no best i think.Better then what you have ther should be something like giving up some of your set up and stick with Avira and a simple firewall
     
  4. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Keeping in mind that a thread like 'this av versus that av' is not allowed ...

    If you're cautious, maybe you don't need an AV ! Considering the other security software you're using. Have you considered that especially your security software combo may place an undue burden on your laptop ? Especially if there are conflicts ?

    VIPRE (Sunbelt Software) offers a fully-featured (15 days?) free trial, and many people say it's light, although I've also read the opposite. I have no idea how it fits in your security combo. I also haven't seen any good/decent comparative review, sadly.
     
  5. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Use Avast on demand with only the standard shield installed. That should be light enough.
     
  6. TechOutsider

    TechOutsider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Posts:
    549
    I use various online scanners.
     
  7. rOadToIS

    rOadToIS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Posts:
    168
    I really don't think you would need any antimalware softwares since you're using Sandboxie. However, if you want to be 100% safe, use Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware free. It's light on system resources and has great detection rate.:thumb:
     
  8. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    Avira heavy? :doubt: I put Avira on 8 year old pc's and it runs fine. It sounds like you should invest a little time maintaining your current OS install. ;)

    Honestly this thread is going to turn into A vs. B really quick.
     
  9. TechOutsider

    TechOutsider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Posts:
    549
    Avira added quite a bit of load time to my 9/10 yr. old Dell XPS. I hated the splash screen.
     
  10. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    Takes <30 sec to disable.
     
  11. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Yes it's always good to have a few on hand.
     
  12. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I don't agree with you. Boot time is 10 seconds faster on my Dell Inspiron 8200 notebook running 1.7MHz with 1 GB of ram using Avira Premium AV or Suite as opposed to NIS 2009. In addition, you can easily disable the Avira splash screen.
     
  13. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    I think a2 is best for on demand. High detection for both spyware/adaware and viruses and good removal.
     
  14. tipo

    tipo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Posts:
    408
    Location:
    romania
    the lightest on system resources is NOD32 AV. have tried them all untill i got to this conclusion...trust me! use nod32 and comodo firewall pro you`re safe & fast :D
     
  15. risl

    risl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    581
    I think you didn't quite understand what the topic is about.
     
  16. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Why not run Avira as on-demand scanner? I do that with Avira AntiVir Personal... just did not install the Guard. Since you already own the Premium version, or the Suite, you could disable the Guard or uninstall and re-install, unchecking Guard, whatever the case may be. :)
     
  17. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    Hi apathy;

    With your other security applications, Avira on-demand should serve you well;
    I use it that way in several of my installs and love it's detection capability and scan speed.

    I assume you also have the (Kaspersky engine ?) scanner in the OA firewall.

    Other posts have mentioned online scanners, and I'm a big fan of many of them.
    One I've played with recently and really like is the new Eset (beta) scanner; you might give that a try as well.
    Here's a link.

    http://beta.eset.com/eos
     
  18. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Forgive the slight OT. Does Avira on demand require a background process running all the time?

    Thanks.
     
  19. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    No it does not. :)
     
  20. virtumonde

    virtumonde Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    501
    There is a portable Version of Avira here .It's not officially suported,one of the main users on their forum have reccomand it.
    Also i have to say that the on demand scanner in Avira detects'l less than the Guard.Probably it should be like this but just wanted to let u know.
     
  21. PiCo

    PiCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    352
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    I believe you should also uncheck the Scheduled daily update within the program.

    Also a start up entry for the tray icon not to appear.
     
  22. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Thank you Page 42 and Virtumonde. I will add Avira Personal on demand. :D
     
  23. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Agree. I set the scheduler service to manual. Then I put a shortcut to preupd.exe from the Avira installation directory on my desktop. http://forum.avira.com/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=74097 :thumb:
     
  24. PiCo

    PiCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    352
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    I installed Avira on demand too, disabled scheduler service, removed start up entry, eliminated nag screen and put a preupd.exe shortcut in Start Menu folder.

    This is great workaround and you can easily and very fast scan files by right clicking them.

    One question:In installation I got a choice for W32 file heuristics or sth between low, balanced and high and since I'll run it on demand I set it to high.

    But how can I cahnge that now if I want to?
     
  25. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    See image...
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.