Best AV/ Internet Security Suite

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by goodgameral, Feb 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. goodgameral

    goodgameral Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    The way I found this place was just searching for Ewido, when I found out you had the official forum for Ewido, I knew you guys were really good; now here's my question, I need to get a new security suite, and am wondering on what to get. I've heard PC-Cillin 06 has way too many pop-ups, ZAPRO messing things up, the usual Norton crap, etc. etc.

    Please help me in choosing the best one!
    Also, if any of you do run PC-Cillin, does it really have that many pop-ups?

    BTW- I don't need spyware protection.

    Thanks guys for any help!
     
  2. metallicakid15

    metallicakid15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    454
    Kaspersky Security Suite or you might want to wait until kapsersky releases the actaul internet security
     
  3. metallicakid15

    metallicakid15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    454
    f-secure is also a good internet security but alot of $$$$
     
  4. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,522
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I agree. Go with KIS when final. But imo separate is better.
     
  5. goodgameral

    goodgameral Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    so wait, how much will Kaspersky's cost? Also, I'm thinking of going multi-user with it, like maybe a 3-pack, but maybe not too.

    But do any of u kno about PC-Cillin or any of the bigger brands too? Just curious I have a hard enough time leaving Norton just because it's all I've ever used, but I will remember what you guys say.

    Thanks,
    GGA
     
  6. metallicakid15

    metallicakid15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    454
    not sure if you like mcafee
     
  7. goodgameral

    goodgameral Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    I've had Mcafee under consideration... ButI heard they were a pain to uninstall like Norton... Or that might be AVG...

    Any owners of PC-Cillin here? Just curious, I had heard so much good about it last year, so just wondering...
     
  8. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,522
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    No. But I use & like Trend Micro Anti-Spyware by the makers of PC-Cillin.
     
  9. betauser2

    betauser2 Guest

    Give Norton Internet Security 2006 a try and then tell us what you think, instead of what you heard.

    It has a very impressive firewall and is not a resource hog.

    betauser2
     
  10. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    I USED to have PC-Cillan Internet Security, but switched. Before trying PC-Cillan, I had used Norton ISS.

    I purchased and installed Norton, and within the first two weeks I had a major problem. First, on DSL....it took nearly 45 minutes to "update" virus definitions. It would hang, then give me an error message, I'd try again, and get the same result. Finally, after about 45 minutes, it said that the new definitions took. Immediately afterward, my Outlook Express froze up and would not open, no matter what.

    So I called my ISP, and we discovered that the problem with my email was on Norton's end. I called Norton customer service, and after waiting on hold for a rep for about 55 minutes, I was told that he could correct the problem, but that it would cost me $30 (incident charge). I told him I had just purchased the Norton product two weeks earlier, and that I shouldn't have to pay for a problem that I incurred as a direct result of their product just two weeks into using it. He placed me on hold, talked to his supervisor, and then came back and said that they would "waive" the fee for this time only. His instructions then resulted in placing two icons on my desktop that I didn't want, as well as my having to click two acknowledgement buttons at startup and shutdown - every time I started and shutdown my computer. Needless to say, I replaced it with PC-Cillan within the next week or so.

    Then, shortly after switching.....PC-Cillan caused my system to constantly "reboot". My machine was only a year old, and I had no idea what was causing that. So I took it to a shop in Cincinnati that specializes in computer repair.....they even have a local AM radio show weekly on Saturday afternoons as well, called "Geek Talk", where they discuss computer related issues.

    They had my machine for a week, and couldn't figure out what the problem was. They "THOUGHT" they had it fixed, but shortly after bringing it home, the rebooting problem started happening again. The end result was I wound up buying a brand new PC.

    The new PC came pre-installed with McAfee ISS. I used the new PC for a couple of weeks, problem free. Since I had a year's subscription for PC-Cillan, where as McAfee was a 90-day free trial only, I uninstalled McAfee and installed the PC-Cillan. Within a matter of just a few hours, the "reboot" problem began on my brand new PC! That's when I put two and two together and realized that PC-Cillan ISS was causing the reboot problem. I uninstalled it, reinstalled McAfee (which I wound up purchasing), and have been problem free for the past 9 or 10 months since.

    So in my personal experience....Norton caused problems, PC-Cillan caused problems, but McAfee has not. I haven't tried Kaspersky ISS, although I have heard that it is excellent......but I just wanted to relay my personal experience in this matter for referrence......
     
  11. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I have used PccInternet security and the only complaint I had with it is the TMproxy is resource hungry 60/90 megs. and Norton internet security 2005/2006 is a very good suite which runs very light and have had no problems with.
     
  12. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    BitDefender 9 Pro+ is not bad either. AV is one of the best, firewall is ok and it also has Antispam.
     
  13. mnosteele

    mnosteele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    181
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA USA
    Hands down Kaspersky, if you buy the current suite your license will be good to upgrade to the new Kaspersky 2006 suite when it is finally released. The new technologies that are being implemented in this new suite will blow everything else away.

    :)
     
  14. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Does BD9 Pro detect spyware? It doesn't seem so from their website......:(

    Kaspersky Security Suite is very good, but I find it too costly :(

    NOD32 3.0 should also be a very good suite. ;)
     
  15. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    It does but only the most obvious things. I guess you need Internet Security package for full antispyware protection.
     
  16. metallicakid15

    metallicakid15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    454
    kaspersky security suiteonly 34$ at newegg
     
  17. Crappopotamus

    Crappopotamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Posts:
    157
    Location:
    Illinois
    I'd like to like it, but I REALLY don't care for those damned ADS (alternate data streams) that it tacks on everything it touches. If it didn't do that I'd use it exclusively.
     
  18. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    I'm fortunate to be provided F-secure Security Suite free of charge from my ISP on up to 3 computers and have used it the past 2 years.And i will tell you its a monster on not only viruses,but trojans,worms.I downloaded a zip file yesyerday that F-secure warned had a trojan hiding in it.I knew it was harmless unless i opened it, so just delete it right!.Well what do i do?.I decide to give F-secure a little workout and despite its continued warnings, unleash this trojan on my system.Then the warnings start and i sik F-secure after it.It shows up here, then there, then trys to hide in system restore where F-secure finally brings it to its knees.Rebooted and scanned with F-secure, Ewido and Trojan Hunter.No signs of infection.Even compared Hijack This logs before and after, no changes.The main reason i did this is because i'm always hearing so many good things about Kaspersky and have contemplated switching because of it even though F-secure has never let me down.This could of certainly turned out a bad move on my part or as my girlfriend said "Bonehead move", but it proved to me that i'm using the right product and you readers should be aware that there are AV's out there like Kaspersky,F-secure that handle different types of malware really well.
     
  19. chia

    chia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Posts:
    89
    If you were referring to KAV then the use of ADS has been optional for awhile now. You can choose not to use it during installation.
     
  20. Crappopotamus

    Crappopotamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Posts:
    157
    Location:
    Illinois
    not in either KIS, released or beta though that I've ever found.

    Love to know where it can be turned off, most I've see was in the released one asks if you wish to delete the streams on uninstall..
     
  21. chia

    chia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Posts:
    89
    I have not tried the betas for the upcoming 2006 version so I wouldn't know how it works there.

    In KAV 5 when you install a window comes up with the option to "operate according to recommended settings", uncheck that box, click "Next" then on the next window uncheck "Use iStreams technology". Now your install will be ADS free.

    (Where's Don with his pictures? :doubt: )

    Edit: nm
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2006
  22. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Don't know about the commercial KIS, although if you can do a custom install, it might be there. As for the beta, you won't find anything there since they are not used at all in KAV/KIS version 6.0

    Blue
     
  23. ardvark

    ardvark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Posts:
    34
    o_O

    Norton light on resources? Wow, either you have a pretty powerful system or Symantec has indeed started listening to the complaints directed at them. I have a copy NIS 2003 on hand, what are some of the other differences between the two?

    Best Regards...
     
  24. Crappopotamus

    Crappopotamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Posts:
    157
    Location:
    Illinois
    not in 6? Something sure scattered them all over every file on my C drive then.. I've not installed any Kaspersky except for the 6 beta. hmmph.
     
  25. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Nope, see here, post #9 from the KAV Version 6.0 Project Manager. He's in the best position to know.

    Blue
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.