Belkin routers

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Infinity, Sep 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    I have purchased two months ago a belkin router.

    I am experiencing two issues here: one is when I am looking for being stealthed, I see one port open (I know behind this router I have a software firewall making me stealth after putting myself in dmz to check)
    can I do something for this? I looked at the control panel but cannot find anything

    another issue is this : is belkin a reputable router/good router? Does anyone have the same experience here in this?

    thanx anyway
     
  2. Q Section

    Q Section Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    771
    Location:
    Headquarters - London & Field Offices -Worldwide
    One bit of information to look for in a good router is can it be set to WPA manually and can a user generate their own passkey of almost any length? If not then is is not secure.

    Be seeing you.
     
  3. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    Thanx Q, I was wondering if I didn't purchased it too quick...

    it seems I have cause now there are even routers with outbound protection (basic).

    not so happy after all I guess.:(
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,779
    Location:
    Texas
    I have a Belkin UPS that I am having a problem with. I talked to support by phone and they are going to replace it.
    Excellent support for their products.

    If in the U.S.

    Tech Support:
    Phone: (800) 223-5546 ex 2263
    Phone: (310) 898-1100 ex 2263
    Fax: (310) 604-2089
    Business Hours
    Mon-Thurs 7am-5:30pm
    Fri 8am-5pm
    Pacific Standard Time

    Off topic but maybe info you can use.
     
  5. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    Thanx Ronjor, problem is I live in a very small country named Belgium,

    that is at the trafic lights but then straight ahead for some miles... :D


    I guess mine will not be replaced by not being completely stealth ;)
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,779
    Location:
    Texas
  7. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Which port is showing as open? Is it in any way related to any remote adminstration option?

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  8. Pikeman

    Pikeman Guest

    The experience I have had with a few routers shows that port 113 is open or closed instead of stealth. If this is the port that is open on yours, all you have to do is go in the port forwarding section of your router (sorry can't be more helpful here because I have never used a belkin router) and forward that port to a non existant computer.

    For example: if the router gives your computer the address 192.168.1.100 and you have 2 other computers hooked up to this router, they will probably have addresses of 192.168.1.101 and 192.168.1.102. Forward the port 113 (TCP) to computer address (non existant) of 192.168.1.150, this should give you a stealth result on any online scan that you do.

    Hope this helps!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.