Beginner's Guide to Creating a BartPE CD with a TI Plugin

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by mustang, Jan 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BillOld

    BillOld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Hi Mustang,

    I have a hard drive in a USB enclosure and Windows XP can find it without needing drivers to be loaded.

    I have created a BartPE CD and it works well but it can't see the USB hard drive.

    Are there some drivers that I should add to get access to the USB port and so be able to see the hard drive in the enclosure?
     
  2. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
  3. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    In fact I had no experience of making a Bart disk until the other week when I bit the bullet and used mustangs instructions and plug in with Reatogo, it has always seen my USB drive on boot up and is much quicker imaging than the Rescue Disk
     
  4. BillOld

    BillOld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Thanks Mustang and Como
    I have tried Reatogo and I get this error message -

    Wrong version of Reg.exe
    OS on host must be XP but is ""
    As a workaround place XP-Reg.exe into
    "C:\PartPE Boot CD\Reatogo\Reatogo-240\plugin\autohelp\files\XP-RegEXE\"
    Reatogo.cmd and REA.cmd will then use that one.

    I also got a message dialog with an error HAS_BLANK_IN_PATH

    I have searched C: for XP-Reg.exe and it does not exist.
    It has REG.EXE and copying it into the path above still gave the error.

    My XP is legit and has SP2 installed.
     
  5. BillOld

    BillOld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    I have just noticed in the log file -

    The system cannot find the file C:\BartPE


    That's because it's in C:\PEBuilder3110a\ where all of BartPE builder is installed.
     
  6. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hi BillOld,

    I don't know what the problem is with Reatogo and the Reg.exe file. I looked in the path specified and I found Reg.exe version 5.1.2600.2180. The size is 49 KB and the date of the file is 8/4/2004.

    Since you have a working BartPE disk, it may be easier to deal with the USB drive. Try pluging it into all the USB ports you have available. If that doesn't help, try a different enclosure or name brand USB drive. The chipset in your enclosure may be the problem. Make sure the USB drive is connected and powered on before you boot BartPE. Hot swapping does not work.
     
  7. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,481
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    If I remember correctly Reatgo must be installed in the root directory of the drive your running it on. I have my old Reatgo-240 build on drive D:. Reatgo is completely independent of a standard BartPE install. When you extract Reatgo it should create a Reatgo-240 folder in the root directory of the drive. You run Reatgo_Start from that directory.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. BillOld

    BillOld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Thanks Mustang
    Yes, I found Reg.exe with that date and copied it but the problem was still there. The odd thing is that it wants "XP-Reg.exe" which isn't anywhere on C drive.

    Thanks Thomasjk
    Yes I noticed it said that it should go into the root but it installed itself in the directory where its installer was run from.
    It's unusual that it assumes that the installer was downloaded into the root and run from there. 'Nobody' downloads or copies files into the root, well this nobody doesn't.
    I'll install it into the root tonight.


    I also tried a BartPE CD with the XPE plugin.
    It loaded to the BartPE screen with the 'Go' button visible but hung half way through a progress bar "Creating WMI Supository".
     
  9. BillOld

    BillOld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Ooooops I forgot to mention this from Mustang-
    >The chipset in your enclosure may be the problem.

    It seems that lots of problems are due to chipsets, but the enclosures/drives/etc are detected by XP so the problem is really due to BartPE, Reatogo, XPE, etc being a too small a version of XP.
    The compromise is of course that the CD has as much room as possible for other apps, etc.

    Perhaps there could be two versions, one without USB support to allow plenty of space for lots of apps, and one with USB support where you intend to have only Acronis TI installed for disk imaging.
     
  10. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hi BillOld,

    Looks like Tom hit the nail right on the head. You must run the setup exe from the root of your C Drive. You must also be using an NTFS file system. FAT32 will not work. I took the following quote from the Reatogo website. Go to the Downloads page and click on System Requirements.
     
  11. amb7247

    amb7247 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    Has anyone been able to get the restore disk to work on a Intel Core 2 Duo running on an intel i975 chipset with windows vista? I havn't been able to as I get a kernal error when it tries to load in normal mode. Safe mode sorta works but it has errors when scannign the drives but no USB or SCSI support
     
  12. Cavediver

    Cavediver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Posts:
    14
    Mustang,

    I wanted to thank you again for all your help. I was able to try the BART-PE DVD today and it actually worked. It booted up and I selected the automatic DHCP network button and got the following error message: "Unable to install network adaptors." I ok'd out of that message and proceeded to run Acronis. Low and behold it worked and it recogonized the external usb drive where I have made my back-ups. I took it all the way through selecting the partitions, then stopped because I don't need to re-install my stuff. Any suggestions on the network error? And any suggestions on how to get Acronis to respond to a service request to help me with my differential back-ups which aren't working because of some stupid password error?
     
  13. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hi Cavediver,

    You're welcome. It's good to get it working after all that effort. Thanks for your contribution.

    I'm sure the network error means you need to include drivers for your network adapter before you build the BartPE disk. Put the drivers in the pebuilder\drivers\Net folder. On the other hand, if you don't need to access the network, why bother.

    I'm sorry I can't help you with the support question. I don't have any pull with Acronis support. They don't like me very much.
     
  14. Cavediver

    Cavediver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Posts:
    14
    I did include the network driver under the "Net" folder. That's why I was surprised when I got the error. Actually, now that I think about it, I should not have used the DHCP button because I have my main computer on a fixed IP for remote access/VPN purposes. I'll try it again, but not use the DHCP option.
     
  15. Sawbonz

    Sawbonz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Mustang,


    I am having the same Slipstream problem as Cavediver (not really sure what this means, but I can generally follow directions). I have a new Dell (could also be an issue I read) and am using the I386 folder copied to C:\BCD\cds\wxppro\files\i386.

    Soooo, can I not make the disk CD for me) as mentioned above, regardless? Am I ready to try to make one without Slipstreaming?

    Also, I have 5 Tablet PCs, 7 desktops with XP, 1 with 2k, and a server with 2000 Server. Should I try to make one disk with all drivers for all of these computers? If so, how....o_O?

    You are one fantastic person to put up with all these questions Mustang. Thanks in Advance.

    Karl
     

    Attached Files:

    • 0003.PNG
      0003.PNG
      File size:
      10.2 KB
      Views:
      3,363
  16. fphall

    fphall Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Posts:
    21
    Mustang,
    Do we now need a new plugin for Version 10 build 4940?
     
  17. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hi Sawbonz,

    If I were you I would skip the whole process of making a Windows disk and go right to making a BartPE disk. When you run pebuilber.exe, point it at the I386 folder for the Windows source. As for drivers, you can include all the drivers you want under pebuilder\driver\Net or pebuilder\drivers\SCSIAdapter. Each driver should be put in a separate subfolder. It has become evident that a lot of people don't understand what I mean by a driver. Each device not directly supported by Windows needs a driver installation package. This package can include many files and subfolders. Just looking at Device Manager and copying the few files listed under drivers won't work. Most of the time, the drivers are supplied with the computer in case they ever need to be reinstalled. They may be on the hard disk in a Drivers folder or on a CD that came with the computer. You can look under Device Manager to help you identify what devices will need drivers. Look under Network Adapters and SCSI and RAID controllers. You will need a driver for most, if not all the devices listed there. Sometimes you will see a device for a virtual CD from a software package like Nero or Daemon Tools. You don't need to include those drivers.
     
  18. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hi fphall,

    No. I tested build 4940 this morning. It works perfectly.
     
  19. fphall

    fphall Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Posts:
    21
    Thanks. Appreciate all your hard work. :)
     
  20. Sawbonz

    Sawbonz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Mustang,

    I have been following the directions on your web page. Doesn't that lead me to making a BartPE disk? I have to claim ignorance of what the difference is, as I have never made any bootable media....

    Karl
     
  21. mfabien

    mfabien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    227
    Location:
    Montreal
    Updated with build 4940.

    BartPE remains with build 4871 but works without trouble.

    Validated full archive image done this morning (under 4871) via BartPE,
    Validated same archive with the new version 4940 in internal HDD.
     
  22. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,481
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Yes it does. BartPE is a windows based bootable disk you can use in place of the Linux rescue disk you should have created when you installed TI. BartPE has better support for many hardware drivers among other benefits. I would recommend that you create a Linux rescue CD also.
     
  23. BillOld

    BillOld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Hi All,

    I can make the basic BartPE CD and it runs ok.

    With Reatogo the ISO builds with no errors.
    When it runs it gets to "Detecting PnP Devices" and stops.

    I know detecting devices can take a while butI have left it for a very long time after all disk access has stopped.

    1 - Any ideas how to find the problem?

    2 - I have spent several entire days trying to make bootable CD that can access a USB drive.
    Is anybody willing to send me config files etc that I can use to build a successful CD?
    Or is anybody willing to send me a working CD?


    Thanks for any help, Bill
     
  24. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,481
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Did you follow Mustang's instructions at Begginer's Guide to Creating a BartPE CD. My BartPE disk recognizes my USB drive. What is your machine configuration like? It sounds like there are some drivers missing from your Reatgo build. Post your Reatgo problem here The CD Forum (Powered by Invision Power Board). Sigfried the Reatgo developer hangs out there.
     
  25. amb7247

    amb7247 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    thanks mustang. right when I was going to do this the 4940 update worked perfectly using the intel 975 chipset with the core 2 duo.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.