Beginner's Guide to Creating a BartPE CD with a TI Plugin

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by mustang, Jan 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hi dld,

    You may have the answer here. A faulty burner would certainly explain why no method of burning the ISO works.
     
  2. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,546
    I see several posts about creating a BartPE for Dell computers. I created one several months ago for a Dell 9150 (Windows XP SP2 Home), which works well, although without network support.
    Checking my notes, I see two important points: I used the fixdellxp.cab plugin, and I instructed the BartPE builder to search for the Windows files in the hard disk (C:), *not* in the Windows XP CD supplied by Dell.
    Hope this may be useful.
     
  3. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hi Robin A.,

    Thanks, this is helpful. Do you have an I386 folder on your hard drive? When you run pebuilder.exe now, what is shown as the source in the first box?

    Would you please provide a download link to fixdellxp.cab.
     
  4. data_dude

    data_dude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Not all of us are running XP - some are still running Win2K.

    Is a person with a Win2K box completely shut out of using a BartPE disc?
     
  5. data_dude

    data_dude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Posts:
    8
  6. DriveBy

    DriveBy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Posts:
    27
    As a Dell user, my factory-imaged drives come with an i386 folder onboard. Without the i386 folder on the drive, BartPE fails, such as when I clean reinstall XP myself - no i386 folder gets installed.

    Hope this helps.
     
  7. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    I just bought a LiteOn LH-20A1H186C DVD Writer. I let the PE Builder burn and verify a BartPE disk. There were no errors and one warning about Dell Reinstallation disks. The BartPE disk boots. However I still get the error message that True Image Home cannot find the serial number although I have pasted the s\n in the TI inf file.
     
  8. whobie

    whobie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Mustang,
    How can I verify that the slipstream worked properly? I was slipstreaming SP2 into a CD version (folder I386). I did not see any lines scrolling in the command window like you mentioned but did get the popup showing the files being extracted to a meaningless work directory. Is there something in \bcd\cds\wxphome\files\i386 that I can check to be sure? Date and timestamps of all files are still the same as on the CD.

    Thanks!
     
  9. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hi dld,

    Good to hear the problem was due to a bad burner.

    I think I know what the problem is with the serial number. Menorcaman had to snip your number from two places. The first, near the beginning of the inf file, was the old way of putting the number in manually. The second, at the end of the file, is the new way that was picked up automatically from the registry when the plugin was created. If you pasted the number to the first location, you need to remove the semicolon from in front of the line. A semicolon means the line is a comment and will be ignored. You would also need to remove the second section at the end of the file with the incorrect number. The second section would overwrite the first section.
     
  10. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hi whobie,

    The first thing you should see is the Extracting files box. As you said, the files are being extracted to a meaningless directory. I was wrong about seeing the files scroll by in the command window. I'll change the guide. When that closes, you should see another window entitled Windows Service Pack 2 Setup Wizard. You should see a progress bar showing the slipstreaming operation. When that is finished, you should see another window telling you Slipstreaming has been completed successfully. I see three new folders show up in C:\BCD\cds\wxphome\files\I386. They are called win9xmig, win9xupg and winntupg.

    EDIT: The guide has been updated.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2007
  11. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    Hi Mustang... I don't follow what you are trying to tell me. It's 5 A.M. here and I just got up. Maybe the brain cells aren't functionning properly. Menorcaman edited my post here in this forum. How can that edit affect the Acronis True Image plugin which is in a folder on my C: drive? In any case I'm aware of that of that semicolon at the beginning. I highlight everything from that semicolon right up to the end of that line, then Ctrl-V to paste the S\N.
     
  12. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    It may be me, but it appears that you have left the semicolon at the beginning of the line, if so remove the semicolon.
    Additionally place a semicolon at the beginning of the second line which contains a serial number, as mustang's post, and re-save the file
     
  13. mfabien

    mfabien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    227
    Location:
    Montreal
    Don't give up dld, it's coming!
     
  14. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hi dld,

    No wonder TI can't find the number. Let me give you a short explanation of this line in the inf file. Each line is treated according to the category that precedes it. In this case, it is in the [Software.AddReg] category. Lines in this category will be added to the BartPE registry under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software. So "Acronis\TrueImage" translates to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Acronis\TrueImage. The 0x1 designates the type as (REG_SZ) string. The "standard" designates the name. The "serial number" is the data value. You need to remove the semicolon to activate the line. You need to highlight only the data value, leaving the quotes, and hit Ctrl-V. You also need to delete the serial number line at the end of the inf file. That line has the wrong serial number value. If you leave it in, it will overwrite the first line and you'll be right back where you started.

    When you boot into BartPE, you can check this line in the registry. Run regedit and go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Acronis\TrueImage. It should look exactly the same as it does in normal Windows. If TI doesn't see this line in the registry, it complains about an invalid serial number.
     
  15. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi mustang,

    I only snipped the Serial Number data from the section marked [Software.Addreg]. My comment at the end was inserted to indicate that I had been responsible for the edit under that section. So it seems that dld had pasted his S/N in the old location rather than at the end of the inf file as per your instructions in Post #18.

    Regards
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2007
  16. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    Hi Mustang... The one thing I still cannot understand is when you say: "You also need to delete the serial number line at the end of the inf file. The line has the wrong serial number value."

    I'm sorry but I don't see any serial number line at the end of the inf file, a line with a wrong serial number value. Here is the inf file as extracted to pebuilder\plugin




    ; ================= Acronis True Image 9 Home =================

    ; PE Builder v3 plugin INF file
    ; For Acronis True Image 9 Home
    ; Created by Paul Larini (mustang)
    ; Thanks to dg112 and FileCity for help with image mounting
    ; =============================================================

    [Version]
    Signature= "$Windows NT$"

    [PEBuilder]
    Name="Acronis True Image 9 Home"
    Help="TrueImageH9.htm"
    Enable=0

    [WinntDirectories]

    a="Programs\TrueImageH9",2
    b="Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files",2
    c="Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files\CDRecord",2
    d="Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files\Common",2
    e="Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files\Drivers",2
    f="Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files\Schedule2",2
    g="Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files\TrueImage",2
    h="Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files\MediaBuilder",2
    i="Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files\RemoteInstall",2
    j="Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files\TrueImageHome",2

    [SourceDisksFiles]

    AutoRun0_StartAcrSvc.cmd=2,,1

    files\*.*=a,,1
    files\Common Files\CDRecord\*.*=c,,1
    files\Common Files\Common\*.*=d,,1
    files\Common Files\Drivers\*.*=e,,1
    files\Common Files\Schedule2\*.*=f,,1
    files\Common Files\Schedule2\schedhlp.exe=a,,1
    files\Common Files\TrueImage\*.*=g,,1
    files\Common Files\MediaBuilder\*.*=h,,1
    files\Common Files\RemoteInstall\*.*=i,,1
    files\Common Files\TrueImageHome\*.*=j,,1
    files\Drivers\MSVCP71.DLL=2,,1
    files\Drivers\MSVCR71.DLL=2,,1
    files\Drivers\SNAPAPI.DLL=2,,1
    files\Drivers\SNAPMAN.SYS=4,,1
    files\Drivers\TIFSFILT.SYS=4,,1
    files\Drivers\TIMNTR.SYS=4,,1

    shfolder.dll=2


    [SetValue]

    "txtsetup.sif", "SourceDisksFiles", "snapman.sys", "1,,,,,,_3,4,1"
    "txtsetup.sif", "SCSI.Load", "snapman", "snapman.sys,4"
    "txtsetup.sif", "SCSI", "snapman", """Acronis Snapshot Driver"""
    "txtsetup.sif", "HardwareIdsDatabase", "STORAGE\Volume", """Volume"",{71A27CDD-812A-11D0-BEC7-08002BE2092F}"


    [Software.Addreg]

    ; ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ User information +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    ; Copy the value from HKLM\Software\Acronis\TrueImage\"standard" to the following line.
    ; 0x1, "Acronis\TrueImage","standard","Copy and paste your value here"

    ; +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++



    0x1, "Acronis\CDRecord","","\Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files\CDRecord\"
    0x1, "Acronis\CDRecord2","","\Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files\CDRecord\"

    0x1, "Acronis\CommonComponents","rpc_client.dll","\Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files\Common\rpc_client.dll"
    0x1, "Acronis\CommonComponents","spawn.exe","\Programs\TrueImageH9\spawn.exe"

    0x1, "Acronis\MediaBuilder","ExePath","\Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files\MediaBuilder\MediaBuilder.exe"
    0x1, "Acronis\MediaBuilder\Products","TrueImageFullMedia","\Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files\TrueImageHome\media_full.config"
    0x1, "Acronis\MediaBuilder\Products","TrueImageSafeMedia","\Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files\TrueImageHome\media_safe.config"
    0x1, "Acronis\MediaBuilder\Products","TrueImageRescueCDMedia","\Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files\TrueImageHome\media_rescuecd.config"
    0x1, "Acronis\MediaBuilder\Products","AgentLinuxRamdiskMedia","\Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files\TrueImage\bootagent.config"

    0x1, "Acronis\RemoteInstall","BootstrapApp","\Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files\RemoteInstall\msi_setup.exe"
    0x1, "Acronis\RemoteInstall","BootstrapService","\Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files\RemoteInstall\acroinst.exe"

    0x1, "Acronis\Schedule2\Substitute","TrueImageService","\Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files\TrueImage\TrueImageService.exe"
    0x1, "Acronis\Schedule2\Substitute","TrueImageNotify","\Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files\TrueImage\TrueImageNotify.exe"

    0x1, "Acronis\TrueImageHome\Settings","AutopartExePath","\Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files\TrueImage\AutoPartNt.exe"
    0x1, "Acronis\TrueImageHome\Settings","WorkingDir","\Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files\TrueImageHome\"
    0x1, "Acronis\TrueImageHome\Settings","MainExePath","\Programs\TrueImageH9\TrueImage.exe"

    0x1, "Classes\CLSID\{C539A15A-3AF9-4c92-B771-50CB78F5C751}","","Acronis True Image Shell Extension"
    0x1, "Classes\CLSID\{C539A15A-3AF9-4c92-B771-50CB78F5C751}\InProcServer32","","\Programs\TrueImageH9\tishell.dll"
    0x1, "Classes\CLSID\{C539A15A-3AF9-4c92-B771-50CB78F5C751}\InProcServer32","ThreadingModel","Apartment"

    0x1, "Classes\.tib","","tibfile"
    0x1, "Classes\tibfile","","Acronis True Image Backup Archive"
    0x1, "Classes\tibfile\DefaultIcon","","\Programs\TrueImageH9\tishell.dll,0"
    0x1, "Classes\tibfile\Shell\open","","&Plug"
    0x1, "Classes\tibfile\Shell\open\command","","""\Programs\TrueImageH9\TrueImage.exe"" /mount:""%1"""
    0x1, "Classes\tibfile\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers\{C539A15A-3AF9-4c92-B771-50CB78F5C751}","",""

    0x1, "Classes\.tis","","tisfile"
    0x1, "Classes\tisfile","","Acronis True Image Script"
    0x1, "Classes\tisfile\DefaultIcon","","\Programs\TrueImageH9\tishell.dll,1"
    0x1, "Classes\tisfile\Shell\open","","&Execute Task Script"
    0x1, "Classes\tisfile\Shell\open\command","","""\Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files\TrueImage\TrueImageService.exe"" /script:""%1"""

    0x2, "Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce","Start Acronis Srvices","%SystemRoot%\System32\AutoRun0_StartAcrSvc.cmd"

    ; XPE Shortcuts (You can comment out these next two lines if you do use XPE.)
    0x2, "Sherpya\XPEinit\Programs","Acronis True Image 9 Home","%SystemDrive%\Programs\TrueImageH9\TrueImage.exe"
    0x2, "Sherpya\XPEinit\Desktop","Acronis True Image 9 Home","%SystemDrive%\Programs\TrueImageH9\TrueImage.exe"


    [SetupReg.AddReg]

    ;Class

    0x7, "ControlSet001\Control\Class\{4D36E967-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}", "UpperFilters", "snapman"
    0x7, "ControlSet001\Control\Class\{71A27CDD-812A-11D0-BEC7-08002BE2092F}", "UpperFilters", "snapman", "timounter"

    0x1, "ControlSet001\Control\Class\{1860459D-4692-4825-B761-44A725991050}","Class","AcronisDevices"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Control\Class\{1860459D-4692-4825-B761-44A725991050}","","Acronis Devices"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Control\Class\{1860459D-4692-4825-B761-44A725991050}\0000","ProviderName","Acronis"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Control\Class\{1860459D-4692-4825-B761-44A725991050}\0000","MatchingDeviceId","root\timounter"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Control\Class\{1860459D-4692-4825-B761-44A725991050}\0000","DriverDesc","Acronis TrueImage Backup Archive Explorer"


    ;Enum

    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\ACRONISDEVICES\0000","DeviceDesc","Acronis TrueImage Backup Archive Explorer"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\ACRONISDEVICES\0000","ClassGUID","{1860459D-4692-4825-B761-44A725991050}"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\ACRONISDEVICES\0000","Class","AcronisDevices"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\ACRONISDEVICES\0000","Driver","{1860459D-4692-4825-B761-44A725991050}\0000"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\ACRONISDEVICES\0000","Mfg","Acronis"
    0x7, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\ACRONISDEVICES\0000","HardwareID","root\timounter"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\ACRONISDEVICES\0000","Service","timounter"
    0x4, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\ACRONISDEVICES\0000","ConfigFlags", 0x00000000
    0x4, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\ACRONISDEVICES\0000","Capabilities", 0x00000000
    0x0, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\ACRONISDEVICES\0000\LogConf"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\ACRONISDEVICES\0000\Control","ActiveService","timounter"

    0x4, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\LEGACY_ACRSCH2SVC","NextInstance", 0x00000001
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\LEGACY_ACRSCH2SVC\0000","Service","AcrSch2Svc"
    0x4, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\LEGACY_ACRSCH2SVC\0000","Legacy", 0x00000001
    0x4, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\LEGACY_ACRSCH2SVC\0000","ConfigFlags", 0x00000000
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\LEGACY_ACRSCH2SVC\0000","Class","LegacyDriver"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\LEGACY_ACRSCH2SVC\0000","ClassGUID","{8ECC055D-047F-11D1-A537-0000F8753ED1}"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\LEGACY_ACRSCH2SVC\0000","DeviceDesc","Acronis Scheduler2 Service"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\LEGACY_ACRSCH2SVC\0000\Control","ActiveService","AcrSch2Svc"

    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\AcroVBus\BACKUPHDD\1&33bc641a&0&0","DeviceDesc","Disk drive"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\AcroVBus\BACKUPHDD\1&33bc641a&0&0","LocationInformation","Acronis Virtual Bus Controller (0)"
    0x4, "ControlSet001\Enum\AcroVBus\BACKUPHDD\1&33bc641a&0&0","Capabilities", 0x000000a6
    0x7, "ControlSet001\Enum\AcroVBus\BACKUPHDD\1&33bc641a&0&0","HardwareID","AcroVBus\BACKUPHDD"
    0x7, "ControlSet001\Enum\AcroVBus\BACKUPHDD\1&33bc641a&0&0","CompatibleIDs","GenDisk"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\AcroVBus\BACKUPHDD\1&33bc641a&0&0","ClassGUID","{4D36E967-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\AcroVBus\BACKUPHDD\1&33bc641a&0&0","Service","disk"
    0x4, "ControlSet001\Enum\AcroVBus\BACKUPHDD\1&33bc641a&0&0","ConfigFlags", 0x00000000
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\AcroVBus\BACKUPHDD\1&33bc641a&0&0","Driver","{4D36E967-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}\0000"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\AcroVBus\BACKUPHDD\1&33bc641a&0&0","Class","DiskDrive"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\AcroVBus\BACKUPHDD\1&33bc641a&0&0","Mfg","(Standard disk drives)"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\AcroVBus\BACKUPHDD\1&33bc641a&0&0","FriendlyName","Acronis Virtual HDD"
    0x0, "ControlSet001\Enum\AcroVBus\BACKUPHDD\1&33bc641a&0&0\Device Parameters"
    0x0, "ControlSet001\Enum\AcroVBus\BACKUPHDD\1&33bc641a&0&0\LogConf"

    0x4, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\LEGACY_TIFSFILTER","NextInstance", 0x00000001
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\LEGACY_TIFSFILTER\0000","Service","tifsfilter"
    0x4, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\LEGACY_TIFSFILTER\0000","Legacy", 0x00000001
    0x4, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\LEGACY_TIFSFILTER\0000","ConfigFlags", 0x00000020
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\LEGACY_TIFSFILTER\0000","Class","LegacyDriver"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\LEGACY_TIFSFILTER\0000","ClassGUID","{8ECC055D-047F-11D1-A537-0000F8753ED1}"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\LEGACY_TIFSFILTER\0000","DeviceDesc","Acronis TrueImage FS Filter"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Enum\Root\LEGACY_TIFSFILTER\0000\Control","ActiveService","tifsfilter"


    ;Services

    0x4, "ControlSet001\Services\AcrSch2Svc","Type", 0x00000110
    0x4, "ControlSet001\Services\AcrSch2Svc","Start", 0x00000002
    0x4, "ControlSet001\Services\AcrSch2Svc","ErrorControl", 0x00000001
    0x2, "ControlSet001\Services\AcrSch2Svc","ImagePath","""\Programs\TrueImageH9\Common Files\Schedule2\schedul2.exe"""
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Services\AcrSch2Svc","DisplayName","Acronis Scheduler2 Service"
    0x7, "ControlSet001\Services\AcrSch2Svc","DependOnService","RpcSs"
    0x7, "ControlSet001\Services\AcrSch2Svc","DependOnGroup"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Services\AcrSch2Svc","ObjectName","LocalSystem"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Services\AcrSch2Svc","Description","Allows Acronis products to schedule automated tasks on this computer. If this service is stopped, these tasks will not be run at their scheduled times."
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Services\AcrSch2Svc\Enum","0","Root\LEGACY_ACRSCH2SVC\0000"
    0x4, "ControlSet001\Services\AcrSch2Svc\Enum","Count", 0x00000001
    0x4, "ControlSet001\Services\AcrSch2Svc\Enum","NextInstance", 0x00000001

    0x4, "ControlSet001\Services\snapman","Type", 0x00000001
    0x4, "ControlSet001\Services\snapman","Start", 0x00000000
    0x4, "ControlSet001\Services\snapman","ErrorControl", 0x00000001
    0x2, "ControlSet001\Services\snapman","ImagePath","system32\DRIVERS\snapman.sys"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Services\snapman","DisplayName","Acronis Snapshots Manager"

    0x4, "ControlSet001\Services\tifsfilter","Type", 0x00000002
    0x4, "ControlSet001\Services\tifsfilter","Start", 0x00000002
    0x4, "ControlSet001\Services\tifsfilter","ErrorControl", 0x00000001
    0x4, "ControlSet001\Services\tifsfilter","Tag", 0x00000019
    0x2, "ControlSet001\Services\tifsfilter","ImagePath","system32\DRIVERS\tifsfilt.sys"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Services\tifsfilter","DisplayName","Acronis TrueImage FS Filter"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Services\tifsfilter","Group","Filter"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Services\tifsfilter\Enum","0","Root\LEGACY_TIFSFILTER\0000"
    0x4, "ControlSet001\Services\tifsfilter\Enum","Count", 0x00000001
    0x4, "ControlSet001\Services\tifsfilter\Enum","NextInstance", 0x00000001

    0x4, "ControlSet001\Services\timounter","Type", 0x00000001
    0x4, "ControlSet001\Services\timounter","Start", 0x00000000
    0x4, "ControlSet001\Services\timounter","ErrorControl", 0x00000001
    0x4, "ControlSet001\Services\timounter","Tag", 0x0000000e
    0x2, "ControlSet001\Services\timounter","ImagePath","system32\DRIVERS\timntr.sys"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Services\timounter","DisplayName","Acronis True Image Backup Archive Explorer"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Services\timounter","Group","Extended Base"
    0x1, "ControlSet001\Services\timounter\Enum","0","Root\ACRONISDEVICES\0000"
    0x4, "ControlSet001\Services\timounter\Enum","Count", 0x00000001
    0x4, "ControlSet001\Services\timounter\Enum","NextInstance", 0x00000001


    ; ++++++++++++++++++ Make Directory Profiles section +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    [Software.AddReg]
    0x2,"Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList","ProfilesDirectory","%temp%\@ProfilesDir@"
    0x1,"Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList","DefaultUserProfile","Default User"
    0x1,"Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList","AllUsersProfile","All Users"

    [SetupReg.AddReg]
    ; Add ProfilesDir environment variable
    0x2, "ControlSet001\Control\Session Manager\Environment", "ProfilesDir", "%temp%\@ProfilesDir@"
    0x2, "ControlSet001\Control\Session Manager\Environment", "USERPROFILE", "%temp%\@ProfilesDir@\Default User"
    [Software.AddReg]
    ; Following line added to trick True Image into running properly.
    0x1, "Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList","AllUsersProfile","Default User"
    ; ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++


    [SetupReg.AddReg]

    ;Setup

    0x0,"Setup\AllowStart\acrsch2svc"
    0x0,"Setup\AllowStart\tifsfilter"


    [Append]
    nu2menu.xml, TrueImageH9_nu2menu.xml
     
  17. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    Hi Mustang... I think my problems with BartPE go deeper than finding the right place to paste my S\N. You say I should see the same thing for HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Acronis\TrueImage in nomal Windows as I do in BartPE.

    Here is what I see in normal Windows:

    http://img57.imageshack.us/img57/3313/screenshot0761di.jpg

    And here is what I see in BartPE:

    http://img149.imageshack.us/img149/6241/img0352small2eh.jpg

    BartPE does not see the majority of my programs.
     
  18. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hi dld,

    The inf file you posted is what it looks like when you first download the plugin. Notice the "Enable=0" line near the beginning of the file. That means to plugin is disabled. "Enable=1" means the plugin is enabled.

    Let's start over again. Delete the entire TrueImageHome9 folder from the plugin folder. Unzip the plugin file you downloaded to C:\pebuilder3110a\plugin. Go to C:\pebuilder3110a\plugin\TrueImageHome9 and double click TIH9-Get_Files+Lic.cmd. That will collect the files, pick up the serial number from the registry and enable the plugin.

    Now when you look at TrueImage9.inf, you should see the following three lines at the end:

    Code:
    ; License key from registry
    [Software.AddReg]
    0x1, "Acronis\TrueImage", "standard", "xxxxxxxxx"
    Where xxxxxxxxxx is your serial number.

    If you get the same error about an invalid number, it means that TIH9-Get_Files+Lic.cmd didn't get the number correctly. You can correct it with the copy and paste method.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2007
  19. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hi dld,

    I only meant that for the one key with the serial number, not the entire Software hive. Your digital picture of the BartPE registry shows that the True Image plugin was not enabled.

    Please follow the directions in my previous post and let us know what happens.
     
  20. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    Hi Mustang... Everything running as it should. :thumb: You deserve a medal!
    Thanks ever so much.
     
  21. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,546
    1. Yes. I have C:\i386.
    2. Sorry, I do not have pebuilder installed at the moment.
    3. In http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/faq/index.php?p=1, search for "fixdellxp".
     
  22. mfabien

    mfabien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    227
    Location:
    Montreal
    Congrats dld.
     
  23. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hi dld,

    Good for you. Enjoy the disk.
     
  24. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
  25. whobie

    whobie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Hi Mustang,
    I just can't seem to get the slipstream of SP2 to kick off on my desktop. I went throught the whole process on my laptop no problem (I have a working bootable disk for it! Many thanks!). But when I run
    xpsp2_en_x86.exe -s:c:\BCD\cds\wxphome\files\ on the desktop all the files are extracted but the process to integrate SP2 just does not kick off. No errors, no messages, nothing. I am running out of ideas and things to look at! I am trying to update an OEM XP Home CD I purchased when I built this machine a few years ago. Have complete CD load into c:\BCD\cds\wxphome\files\. Any ideas would be appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.