BartPE & TrueImage problems

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Colvin, Dec 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Colvin

    Colvin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    USA
    It's been nearly 2 years since I have created a BartPE boot disk. Back then I found creating one taxing, to say the least. But after reading several threads here I decided to give it another go. I successfully created a BartPE disk with the TrueImage plugin but experienced a couple of issues which I'm sure someone here can help me resolve:

    1. When I access TrueImage from within BartPE and go through the "Restore" feature, my external USB drive isn't recognized, even when it on before rebooting. Is it necessary to have the drive running during the initial creation of BartPE? When I created BartPE, the external USB drive was not running.
    2. If I switch my external drive to connect via eSata and boot with BartPE, TrueImage does recognize the drive and I can see my backup images. However, selecting any of them results in a "Corrupt image" error. The backup images are NOT corrupt as I have validated them and even used them to do a restore earlier.
    So, I would appreciate some help in regard to these two issues.

    THANKS! :D
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    #1 - It isn't necessary to have the external USB drive connected and powered up when creating the BartPE cd. Perhaps your computer isn't using a standard usb controller? Does windows have to have drivers installed to see the usb drive? If you post your computer specs it may help. Also the version and build of TI.

    #2 - I don't have any experience with TI using eSata drives from BartPE. Does the image verify correctly from normal windows when the drive is connected as eSata?
     
  3. Colvin

    Colvin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    USA
    1) My Specs:
    Windows XP Home
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ 2.5Ghz
    ASUS M2N-E MB
    Mushkin SP PC2-5300 2GB 2X1GB DDR2-667
    WD Caviar SE16 250GB SATA2 (2 - 1 internal; 1 external)
    Thermaltake Silver River Duo enclosure (IDE/SATA - USB 2.0/eSATA)
    EVGA E-GEFORCE 7600 GT
    True Image Home 9.0 build 3854

    2) Yes, I can mount any/all of the backup .tib files on the external drive with it connected via the eSATA cable.
     
  4. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    You may want to look here for BartPE general questions and issues. http://www.911cd.net/forums//index.php?act=idx. This is where the BartPE experts are.
     
  5. Colvin

    Colvin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the link. I spent about 2 1/2 hours this afternoon reading through quite a number of posts. I also decided to try the "Reatogo" version of BartPE and reading through myriad posts on the forum on that application. Bottom line.... the only thing I succeeded in doing is creating the same frustration I had when I last tried to create a Bart PE disc with the True Image plugin. The boot disc works great.... True Image starts but using the USB 2.0 connector my external drive isn't recognized. If I use the eSata connector the external drive is recognized along with my backup files. But when I try to restore an image, I get the same Failure: image is corrupt error.

    Methinks I've had enough of BartPE. http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/igiveup.gif I don't have a problem accessing True Image either via Windows or with the True Image Boot Disk. My interest in creating a working BartPE disc was purely curiosity and I succeeded in killing the cat. BTW, lots of other functions within BartPE didn't work either, e.g., network connection, internet connect, et al.

    Thanks for trying... let's call it a day. http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/wink3.gif
     
  6. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Well, all I can say is I've used Reatgo, UBCD4WIN and it works for me. I just have IDE internal drives and USB external. If the other functions didn't work it could be lack of the correct drivers. As long as you have a solution that suits you. That's what's important.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.