BartPE Plugin Paragon Backup & Recovery

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by TheArtfulDodger, Nov 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheArtfulDodger

    TheArtfulDodger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Hello:

    I have been attempting to read through the Sticky "BartPE Plugin Paragon Backup & Recovery 10" and while it must have answered many questions when it was first done, nothing seems to be of value - the links don't work, there seems to be a bunch of secondary threads and all in all, it is of little use to me. I am attempting to do what Paragon_Terry was doing in his answer to the initial question. Unfortunately, his second link doesn't work.

    Therefore, I would appreciate it if someone could answer the original question "Where do I get a Bart PE plugin for Paragon Backup & Recovery" again with updated information, links, etc.

    Thanks in advance.

    Sparky
     
  2. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Are you specifically trying to make bartpe - or would a more recent pe - e.g winpe3 do the job?

    What os do you have to create it on?
     
  3. TheArtfulDodger

    TheArtfulDodger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Hello, SIW2:

    I am not sure of the answer - I was trying to put together a bootable USB drive with as many useful tools on as I could find - I really didn't know exactly what would be on the 'creature' the article would create - I simply wanted to see - but to no avail!

    I am working on Windows 7, Home Premium, 64-bit.

    Thanks for replying.

    Kind regards,

    Sparky
     
  4. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    I am intending to make a little program which will create winpe media for paragon users.

    It basically just uses what is already on your HD. Dependibng on the o/s you are running - it does not contain any MS files , and it will download whatever is needed from MS - not the whole of WAIK - just the needed bits.

    That will vary from from nothing needed to 120mb - depending on the o/s that is running.

    I have it working already ( tested on 7x64, 7x86,Vistax64, Vistax86 - not tested on XP,which I don't have installed ) - just needs tidying up.
     
  5. TheArtfulDodger

    TheArtfulDodger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Hello:

    I'll be waitin' - let me know!

    Thanks:D

    Sparky
     
  6. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
  7. John Doe Genius

    John Doe Genius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Posts:
    140
    Interesting project, SIW2. I have run the process three times (v4); everything seems to work well, I end up with the encouraging “Enjoy!”.

    However, it is not possible to boot from the CD: “The boot selection failed because a required device is inaccessible.” The screen advices me to run the Windows “Repair”. I have done; no errors reported. I have tried to burn Paragon.iso with my regular burning app, but the result is the same.
     
  8. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Hiya John,

    That is odd.

    Could you have a look at it with poweriso ( free unregistered version will be fine ) or any other isohandler.

    It will tell you at the bottom of the main window if the iso is bootable.

    Thanks.
     
  9. John Doe Genius

    John Doe Genius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Posts:
    140
    Unregistered PowerISO 5.4: Tools > Test file reports “C:\PARAGONPE\ISO\sources\BOOTx86.wim The file format is invalid or unsupported.” I have the same result with C:\PARAGONPE\BOOTx86.wim. I think I have to perform a new d/l?
     
  10. John Doe Genius

    John Doe Genius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Posts:
    140
    I have re-downloaded BOOTx86.wim and burned c:\PARAGONPE\PARAGON.iso with PowerISO. Still Windows fails to boot from the CD.

    I open c:\PARAGONPE\PARAGON.iso in PowerISO; the bottom line says “Bootable Image, total 178 MB --- 25%”.

    I do not understand what I am doing wrong.
     
  11. John Doe Genius

    John Doe Genius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Posts:
    140
    I have performed another test with PARAGONPEv4 including a new d/l of BOOTx86.wim. Still a CD burned from PARAGON.iso is unable to boot.

    I have examined c:\PARAGONPE\ISO\sources\BOOTx86.wim. The wim includes the two Paragon programs I added, namely HDM2012 (PAR1) and B&R 12 Compact (PAR2). I was not allowed to add a third Paragon app (PAR3).

    I added drivers for USB 3 (2 inf files) through the option D. The project files responded correctly: “Found 2 driver package(s) to install...” But I cannot find nusb3hub.sys/nusb3xhc.sys in the resulting wim file.

    I have used c:\PARAGONPE\ISO\sources\BOOTx86.wim as a source file for my manual creation of a WinPE environment. The burned iso does boot, the Startnet.cmd is executed (with 'wpeinit'); after that nothing more happens. winpeshl.ini is ignored (never executed).

    Your cmd files are impressing, SIW2. In some mysterious way you seems to succeed to d/l WINPE.WIM from waik_supplement_en-us.iso as BOOTx86.wim.

    I am running a localized Win7; could that be the reason for the failure? Does you project only work with en-US version of Windows? (It is hard to believe this is the reason; I was running en-US version of WAIK before I d/l'ed the localized versions of WAIK and 3.1 supplement.)

    Could I possibly give you more exact information? If so, please tell me.

    Regards, JDG
     
  12. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Thanks John.

    If you could run dir command on the PARAGONPE\ISO\sources\bootx86.wim and post it up that may help.

    Like this:

    imagex /dir C:\PARAGONPE\ISO\sources\BOOTx86.wim 1 >C:\PARDIRINFO.TXT
     
  13. John Doe Genius

    John Doe Genius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Posts:
    140
    Hi SIW2,
    I have attached the PARDIRINFO.TXT according to your instructions.

    But now I have just experienced SUCCESS after this operation:
    > Copied c:\PARAGONPE\ISO\sources\BOOTx86.wim to c:\winpe_x86\ISO\sources\boot.wim
    [ c:\winpe_x86 is the default folder for my WAIK system ]
    > Created the .iso with this cmd:
    Oscdimg -n -bC:\winpe_x86\Etfsboot.com C:\winpe_x86\ISO C:\winpe_x86\PARAGON.iso
    > Burned the iso to a CD

    And voilà!
    SUCCESS!

    Regards, John
    PS What a great solution ... when it works! I am going to use your project!
     

    Attached Files:

  14. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    The wim is fine.

    It seems you need a standard iso - the one it makes by default is udf with bios and efi support.

    Glad it is working for you. :D
     
  15. John Doe Genius

    John Doe Genius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Posts:
    140
    Could you please tell me how to obtain 'a standard iso' with the use of mkisofs.exe? I have studied the prog's -help, but I am not sure what parameters I have to change. Is it -iso-level?

    I should really like to have a working cmd file for my Win7 computer; this is the easiest method I have ever tried for creating an adaptive WinPE recovery media!:D
     
  16. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    mkisofs.exe -iso-level 4 -force-uppercase -volid "SIW2" -b BOOT\ETFSBOOT.COM -no-emul-boot -boot-load-size 8 -hide boot.catalog -duplicates-once -o "PARAGON.iso" "%CD%\ISO"

    If you want to use oscdimg, like this:

    Oscdimg -n -bC:\PARAGONPE\ISO\BOOT\ETFSBOOT.COM C:\PARAGONPE\ISO C:\PARAGON.iso
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2012
  17. John Doe Genius

    John Doe Genius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Posts:
    140
    I should report: 05.12.2012 I re-downloaded SIW2's PARAGON PE MAKER project. This time I successfully created a boot-able iso file (using the mkisofs.exe inside PARAGONPEv4.zip).

    However, the disadvantage is that the project uses the en-US keyboard; this very cumbersome to users with a localized keyboard.

    The project includes another excellent product from SIW2, the DismGUI.exe. This project has three input fields to set 'locale and keyboard':
    “Input Locale”: I enter '0414:00000414'
    “Timezone”: I enter 'W. Europe Standard Time'
    “Install key”: Whatever I enter, an error 87 is reported.

    “Input Locale” and “Timezone” perform the processes I previously started manually:
    Dism /image:C:\winpe_x86\mount /Set-InputLocale:0414:00000414
    Dism /image:C:\winpe_x86\mount /Set-TimeZone:"W. Europe Standard Time"

    To obtain a correct localizing, I have to manually execute:
    Dism /image:C:\winpe_x86\mount /Set-SysLocale:nb-NO
    Dism /image:C:\winpe_x86\mount /Set-UserLocale:nb-NO

    Then I can check the result with:
    Dism /image:C:\winpe_x86\mount /Get-Intl

    Does anybody know how to use “Install key” in SIW2's DismGUI?

    Tip: How to find the proper values for localization? Use Dism.exe to report your computer's settings:
    Dism /online /Get-Intl

    The command returns:
    Default system UI language : nb-NO
    Spare language for UI: en-US
    System locale : en-US
    Default time zone : W. Europe Standard Time
    User locale for default user : en-US
    Location : Norge (GEOID = 177)
    Active keyboard(s) : 0414:00000414, 0409:00000409
    Keyboard layered driver : PC/AT Enhanced Keyboard (101/102-Key)

    Installed language(s): nb-NO
    Type : Partially localized language.


    [Comment: I have translated the text from Norwegian to English. The keyboard value '0409' is the alternate EN keyboard, '0414' is my active keyboard NO. You may switch between NO & EN with Alt-Shift]

    [Comment2: The Dism commands above shows 'C:\winpe_x86\mount' as the 'Mount Directory'. DismGUI has an input field for this variable.]
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.