BartPE build problem

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Phil B., Apr 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Phil B.

    Phil B. Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Posts:
    63
    Location:
    Clermont, Fl
    When I try to build a BartPE CD using the files on my HD it stops after it reaches 10 files missing. When I use the XP recovery Cd that came with my PC (Dell 4600) it gives a warning about using OEM files. It does complete the BartPE.

    Question is did I create a good BartPE using the Dell supplied XP disk? If not, where do I get the XP files to create a good BartPE?

    Any help appreciated. Thanks.

    Phil B.
     
  2. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    I created my BartPEs with a regular Windows installation CD, not a vender supplied “recovery” CD.
    Boot with your BartPE CD and see if it works.
     
  3. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Normally a real Windows XP SP2 installation CD is required to create a Bart PE disk. Most manufacturer's recovery CD's don't meet the requirements.

    However, as TheWeaz says, try the Bart disk you created and see if it works.
     
  4. Phil B.

    Phil B. Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Posts:
    63
    Location:
    Clermont, Fl
    TheWeaz & jmk94903

    Tried the BartPE CD I created from the Dell recovery Windows XP CD. I was able to boot up and go as far as the BartPE window. I then shut down and tried again going futher this time. I was able to find Acronis True Image in G0-System-Storage. I brought up TI and verified the image I had made earlier which checked out OK. Next step will be to delete one of the small partitions on my Hard Drive and try to restore it using the BartPE CD.

    One concern I have is that when I clicked on "about" it showed the OS as Windows 5.1, service 0.0 and build 2600. Does this mean I would be using a Win XP that came with my system and not one with all the updates and updated drivers? Would this create any problems?


    Thanks.
    Phil B.
     
  5. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    AFAIK, the main reason for a BartPE CD is to use Windows drivers instead of the Linux ones on the TI Recovery CD (especially USB drivers).
    If the BartPE CD you created does what you want without any performance degradation, you should be fine.
     
  6. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I am a long way from being a BartPE expert but IIRC it has an area you can put drivers. So if you find the "old" drivers are inadequate you may be able to add updated drivers to the BartPE build.
     
  7. Phil B.

    Phil B. Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Posts:
    63
    Location:
    Clermont, Fl
    Ran the restore of one partition, 3.48GB data, and it took 3 minutes to restore with BartPE. Ran the same restore with the TI8 build 937 bootable CD. Took 52 minutes to restore.

    A few months ago I had to restore my C partition, 9.53GB of data because of a Registry failure. It took 16 hours using the TI8 build 937 bootable CD. I am backing up to an external USB2 hard drive so using the windows drivers in BartPE is a big improvement in restore time.

    Thanks for the help.

    Phil B.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.