Bart PE vs Rescue disk

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by andy32901, Nov 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. andy32901

    andy32901 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Melbourne Florida
    Can someone explain the benefits of Bart PE over Acronis Bootable Rescue Disk. The Bart PE seems like a very intensive thing to create while the acronis disc is one step.

    I don't have a XP installation disc (it came preinstalled on my HP) so it makes it more difficult to create Bart PE.

    Just wondering if I really need the Bart PE or if the Acronis Bootable Rescue disk is all I need.

    andy32901
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    There are quite a few threads on this.

    If the TI CD is working okay for you, then you probably don't need to build a BartPE CD.

    There are several reasons to do so (if you need/want to):
    • USB2 can be many times faster in BartPE (this is especially true if the Linux drivers used on the TI CD are not optimized for your chipset)
    • You can add drivers (RAID, SATA, network, etc.) that the TI CD doesn't support
    • If you have DD or other programs that you can add to BartPE, then you can easily switch between them without having to reboot (I do this a lot)
     
  3. 1wolf

    1wolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    Niagara Falls, NY
    Well, if you have TI11, you need a BartPE disc so you have rescue media that works. Unless you are lucky enough to have TI11 make a functioning rescue media. I have been working with Acronis support for over six weeks trying to make a rescue media that will boot my machine. I have over sixteen coasters that Acronis support had me burn with a custom .iso, and none of them work. I have over tirty five message from Acronis support asking me to try this, or try that and see if it works. None of it has.

    I made a BartPE disc and had a functioning rescue media after two tries. Difficult to make? Not really, Mudcrab has an awesome guide that was really easy to follow.

    So for me, The BartPE is the only way I can reliably restore my system if something were to happen. How sad is is that Acronis can't make rescue media for their product??
     
  4. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    The main benefit for me is i have an old system that runs an SiS raid setup. The standard trueimage boot media doesn't recognize it so i have to use a bartpe disc with trueimage plugin in order to backup/restore to it.
     
  5. andy32901

    andy32901 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Melbourne Florida
    Well I used Mustangs “Beginners guide to Creating a BartPE CD with a TI Plugin” . It was a little involved but I was able to create the BartPE CD with TI plugin. I tried the BartPE CD and did a restore on my secondary hard drive. It was faster than the TI disc. I had originally created a TI rescue disk and tried that. I was able to do a restore with the TI rescue disk but I just wanted to try the BartPE CD. Both work so I have two options if I need them.

    The advantage was that I was able to create a Windows XP Installation Disk which I did not have because my os was preinstalled.


    Andy32901
     
  6. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,283
    "I don't have a XP installation disc (it came preinstalled on my HP) so it makes it more difficult to create Bart PE."

    A XP installation disc is not necessarily required. In fact, sometimes the BartPE cannot be created from it. This happened to me when I created a BartPE for a Dell Dimension 9150.
     
  7. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    So are you saying you were able to create the BartPE without the XP installation CD or that you were not able to create one with your Dell CDs? Maybe those Dell CDs are Factory Restore CDs and not XP installation CDs - there is a difference.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.