Bad install routine for ESS 6

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by tosbsas, Jan 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    Hey there

    what a mess - after trying to update ESS 6 RC to newest version within the app - it downloads, starts doing something and the install routine ends. On reboot still ess 6RCC

    I downloaded the offline installer - it recognizes the old version, and ask to keep settings - I pressed yes, and install started - in another folder and with 5 "cannot install" cause some files are in use (logs and an charon.ndb file of eset itself) that were kept used by ekrn.exe and now I have to different folders with eset files - original install folder and new one - that's baaaaaad
     
  2. HealingStargate

    HealingStargate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    160
    Location:
    USA
    Hey tosbsas-

    I have the same situation and I am going to wait awhile before I try this upgrade again.

    The install begins and then stops and I have NO ESET running until I reboot and the RC comes up and the protection is restored.

    I really like ESET, so I will keep hanging in and probably have to UNinstall and start over with a clean install.

    KOR-
     
  3. Shankle

    Shankle Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    510
    I had trouble also until I found that be clicking on the Icon on the task bar
    and updating from there, worked very well.
    I now have the latest ESET SS on my puter running very smoothly.
    Good luck
     
  4. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    read my post - Tried this three times
     
  5. tommy456

    tommy456 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Posts:
    137
    I tried this from v5.2.15.1 lol, it goes through the uninstall existing product then somewhere near the end of the install of v6 the process stops,as did my pc no mouse no nothing , had to power off /on the pc, after a lenghty load up time, at first it appeared to be ok, but it soon became clear that eset was only partially installed, (not listed in add or remove programes) although ekrn.exe was running in tm ,
    I had to perform a uninstal using the uninstalled tool in safe mode and download and re install from stratch

    So far performance is similar to v5, but i think that i is in some way impacting my online gaming as since installing v6 the game is not running as sweet as it did, gamer mode is enabled, maybe it's scanning in files the background ?
     
  6. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    have you tried the uninstall tool for eset??

    see here run in safe mode

    http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN2289

    also try to re-download the installer for v6 and run the installer. i have found in a few systems that running either the uninstaller from the programs list or the updater from eset it did not work properly. i then went and downloaded the current installer and used that to install over the existing one.

    one of those 2 options should work. you may have to remove it manually as the link i posted explains this is not normal and i install eset on a lot of systems and only rarely run into this type on problem.
     
  7. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Using the manual uninstaller would probably the best solution in this situation.
    You might try exporting your settings and re-import them following the manual uninstall.
     
  8. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    No problem - I know about the uninstall/install - but why having to do that when ESEt is offering update via app itself. And I still don't get why some log files of the programm itself will hinder update cause ekrn.exe hasn't released them. Looks like Eset should include unlocker (i used that to get uninstall done correctly) in its package. :)((
     
  9. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Have you manually uninstalled the program ? Please advise or submit an issue ticket to ESET for further investigation.
     
  10. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    Please read my post - I did finally - with using unlocker - I could install on top

    But those log files have been a pain i.t.a. always
     
  11. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Please explain what you mean by log files being excessive. Which log files ?

    Regards,
     
  12. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    You may wish to perform a clean install of ESET Smart Security 6 instead of trying to install it over an earlier beta test version or release candidate.

    Also, if you have any additional third-party security software installed on the computer, try disabling it or even uninstalling it temporarily until you are finished installing ESET Smart Security.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  13. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    I get the same problem - ekrn.exe is using those files - cannot delete. Only unlocker will help

    epfwlog.dat
    warnlog.dat and some of the others there

    +
    charon/cache.nbd
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.