Backups stopped working

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by brettr, Apr 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. brettr

    brettr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    My incremental backups have stopped working this week. I backup to a another computer on the LAN. I have admin rights on both machines. For whatever reason, I now get this error in Acronis when the backup fails:

    User name or password for the remote resource R:\data\Backups\XPLaptop\Fin\Fin.tib is incorrect. Please check user name and password and type it again.

    I'm sure once it is time for the full backups to go this weekend, they'll fail too. I never put in a login for the remote computer. I always had it as automatic in Acronis. I did try putting in a login but that didn't work.

    Nothing has changed on the network that I know of. Do you have any suggestions on how I can figure this out?

    Thanks.
     
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    What version of TI are you using?

    If you try to create a manual update to the same network location, what happens? Are you asked for a password, etc.

    Could anything have changed on the network computer where you store the images such as how the user logs on, the folder where the images are stored, firewall settings, etc.
     
  3. brettr

    brettr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    I'm using 10.0 (build 4,942). I created an incremental test against a small amount of data. I sent it into the same location without any problems. I'm guessing it isn't a network permission issue.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
  5. brettr

    brettr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    I tried the full UNC but get the same error.

    Why did the test backup I created, which used a mapped drive, work?
     
  6. brettr

    brettr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Is anyone going to answer?

    My backups started working again by themselves except for one. I have changed it to the UNC path but it still does not work. Please assist.
     
  7. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    If only one doesn't work, I'd delete it and recreate it being careful to use the same format as the ones that work. If that works, you are done.

    The real question is why did they stop working and then start working. What changed?
     
  8. brettr

    brettr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    This software has become so unreliable. Two days ago all of the backups stopped working again. They give the login error. I'm using UNC paths.
     
  9. Annex

    Annex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Running 9.0 True Image Home. Same issue. Backing up to 2 different sources manually. Randomly it will fail with "User name or password for the remote resource is incorrect". I will try again and it will work just fine. I am not using mapped drives but to external USB connected hard drives. Whats going on?
     
  10. brettr

    brettr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    The problem had been claimed as fixed a while back but isn't. My backgrounds ran fine this morning. But tomorrow they will probably fail again with the login error. I'm not changing anything on the network. TrueImage 10 (4942) is doing this all by itself. Backup...fail...backup...fail... That's how it's been going for the past couple of weeks.
     
  11. pitmancd

    pitmancd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Please help! I am having the same issues as BrettR. Sometimes the scheduled backup to the UNC works, and then other times it fails saying wrong username/password.

    I can do a manual backup and all seems well. This is very frustrating!
     
  12. Annex

    Annex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Any solutions to this problem?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.