Backup to USB

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by starsfan09, Jun 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. starsfan09

    starsfan09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    352
    I'm already using a Disc Imaging program, but have to use DVD's all the time. Would like to get away from having to use DVD's. :shifty:

    Someone told me about Acronis, and I thought I'd give it a try. But before I do, I'd like know if I can back up the Acronis Disc Imaging file to my external Hard Drive USB 2.0 (WD Essential 120gb), and then use it from that.

    Please let me know if I'm wrong here, but I'm assuming Acronis will save the backup file to the external HD, and when I need to use it ...I just turn on the external, reboot the computer...and press F11. Then it would show me the Acronis files on the external, and give me a choice of which Acronis Backup's I'd like to use. Then I choose the one I want, and start the process. Am I on the right track? :doubt:
     
  2. pepegot1

    pepegot1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    57
    Yes, it will. We do all the time.
     
  3. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    Hi starsfan09,

    To be able to boot into the True Image rescue environment (Linux based) by means of F11, you must create the Secure Zone and activate the Startup Recovery Manager. Having an external drive, you don't really need Secure Zone and the activation of Startup Recovery Manager will modify your Master Boot Record whereby you will loose the option to boot into Windows Safe mode by means of F8.

    Just don't rush with the activation of SRM. You can always restore the system partition by booting with the Rescue CD you will create. Start with the basics.
     
  4. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I think I have two USB ports in the frontside of my computer case and I will have an external harddisk very soon.
    Can I use one of these USB ports for my external harddisk? I'm not really good in hardware.
     
  5. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    Normally, yes.

    But I have a not fully compatible USB drive, that won't work from the front ports, but would work (though not always) from the rear ones.

    I don't use it anymore for TI work. Got a new enclosure that works well from any port.
     
  6. dmj99

    dmj99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    I would test it out first before you rely on it. I used TI for several years, religiously backing up my system onto an external USB hard drive. When my system crashed and I needed to restore the image, TI wasn't able to recognize my external USB drive when I booted up from the TI bootable CD rescue disk.
     
  7. John Farrar

    John Farrar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Posts:
    194
    FWIW
    I have a Freecom external USB drive and the TI images are on that and restore perfectly when required.
    HTH
    John
     
  8. starsfan09

    starsfan09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    352
    I have another computer, and freshly reinstalled XP Pro, along with drivers & software. Later, added some programs. Then ready for test.
    Well, after testing Acronis ...I've discovered this.

    1. First, I had to create the "Boot-Up" disc on a CD. This was simple, and took about 42 mb to create. Then, made the backup to my external USB HD. I was able to name the file anything I wanted. Later, I actually performed the backup. It was kinda complicated at first trying to figure out what settings to use, but eventually used the default settings.
    When "Restoring", I had to put the CD in the Rom drive, and booted into the recovery window. After figureing it out, I was able to restore it properly. Didn't notice any glitches, or lagging. :D

    2. Later on, I tried the DVD/CD backup option. After 3 burns, and many tries....Acronis was not able to notice the Backup file on the DVD ...like it did on the USB external HD. Don't know what I'm doing wrong with the CD/DVD backup option, but I can't figure out how to make it work. As far as using DVD or CD to make a backup...I think there is a few bugs yet discovered. I followed the same procedure...and the USB external HD option worked great, but the CD didn't. o_O

    Any advice??

    I really want to use the DVD option as well as the USB External option.
    There seems to be issues with the CD/DVD burn options. I don't know if I want to give up NTI DriveBackup for this.
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2006
  9. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954

    Yes, the direct burning feature introduced in Build 3633 is buggy. If you need this feature badly, search this forum for what works and what doesn't in that respect. Menorcaman carried out a thorough research.

    Until Acronis iron that out, you may use the two-step method: store the image to HD first and then burn it to DVD with some burning software like Nero or Roxio. If you have only C: available, you can even use that for this temporary storage.
     
  10. starsfan09

    starsfan09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    352
    How long do you guys think it's gonna take them to release an update? From reading all the information on this board (from all the loyal users)...you'd think they would've already had it out. I mean...it must be a minor bug that keeps the program from READING the TI Images on the DVD...because there is no problem BURNING the TI Image to the DVD. Should be a very simple fix from a programmers prospective. :blink:
     
  11. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    Must have been a couple of days ago that Acronis said they were testing it.

    I think it will be any time now.
     
  12. starsfan09

    starsfan09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    352
    I restored my Acronis backup with great success. Then added more programs, and decided to make another full backup to the External HD. Everything seems fine ...until I click on the last step ("Proceed") button. Then I get this message.
    I didn't schedule a task at all.

    What does it mean??
     

    Attached Files:

    • 21.png
      21.png
      File size:
      14.4 KB
      Views:
      220
  13. starsfan09

    starsfan09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    352
    Fixed it!!! Was able to create the backup to the USB External ...AFTER...I put this on "Manual". I had it disabled because I thought it was about "scheduling" backups. I think it's useless to have "Automatic Scheduled Backups" because 9 out 10 people just don't feel secure about making a backup UNLESS they're sitting infront of the computer and watching the process. But none the less, this "Acronis Scheduler 2" option here MUST be set to either "Manual" or "Automatic".
     

    Attached Files:

    • 22.png
      22.png
      File size:
      19.1 KB
      Views:
      214
  14. starsfan09

    starsfan09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    352
    I tried this, and it finally recognized the TI Image on the DVD. Whereas before, it wouldn't using the Acronis burn plug-in. I didn't go through with the Restore from the DVD, but finally confirmed there is something wrong with Acronis' CD/DVD burn feature. I'm sure it's because burning straight to the CD/DVD is very new to them. They're accustomed to backing the Image up to an Internal / External Hard Drive. But, once they squash this little bug, this is going to be very fine and handy program.

    PS> Do you always have to use the "Boot CD"?? Is there anyway to get this Boot-up information to burn on the DVD along with the TI Image file...so you won't have to use the Boot Up disc? :blink: :ninja:
    That would be nice for people who want to use the DVD option. :D
     
  15. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    See this post by Menorcaman


    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=776059&postcount=3
     
  16. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    You've done a survey then ? ;)

    I use automatic scheduling every day. It runs in the evening and I am no where near the machine. If you turn verification on you only need to check the logs if you don't trust it. It works well for me.

    F
     
  17. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    All I can add is to say you must have some very insecure if not down right paranoid contacts in your survey. I have had my backups run automatically ever since I first installed Version 8 a long time ago. Version 9 does the same job perfectly. The only requirement for a backup to take place is that the computer needs to be switched on. If I was away on holiday and my house sitter wanted to use my computer whilst I was away.... No problem as it would be backed up automatically and any problems could be put right in minutes after my return.
    I use TI as an invaluable tool, not a hobby.

    Xpilot
     
  18. starsfan09

    starsfan09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    352
    Ok, you guys are right. I should've taken a survery before saying something like people wouldn't actually use an "Automatic" unassisted backup.
    I personally will never use this option because ...well...I'd rather manually do it for now...in case there is a problem. The first thing I always do before a backup...is to "Defrag" the computer many times.
    Until i actually use Acronis awhile, and do my own testings that will give me confidence in using the "Automatic" backup option with NO supervision...then I may try it one day. But I doubt this will become a habit.

    No, ...I don't take backing up a computer as a hobby. I take it very serious indeed. I've been doing it along time, and have been using "NTI DriveBackup 4.0" from New Tech InfoSystems. Never had a problem with the program at all. It burns to DVD with ease, and also to External HD's as well. But I always used the DVD option. NTI has saved my bacon many times, but just wanted to try Acronis. So far, I like it. It's a little faster at backups, and restores than NTI. But however, speed is not an issue for me when it comes to using "Disc Imaging" programs.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.