Backup to "New" identical laptop

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by max0071, Sep 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. max0071

    max0071 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Posts:
    201
    Hi:

    I just returned my Toshiba A100 (long story) for a new one which is the identical machine. I am presently restoring from within windows and it is taking two hours (took 25 minutes to image). USB 2.0 external HD.

    Firstly, I presume since it is the same model and make that this restoration should worko_O?

    Secondly........two hours.......as compared to 10 minutes to backupo_O?

    Thanks for listening.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2006
  2. max0071

    max0071 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Posts:
    201
    worked like a charm.......so far!!!!

    but 2 hrso_O??
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2006
  3. starsfan09

    starsfan09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    352
    Are you trying to Restore an Image that you made from your other Toshiba...onto your NEW Toshiba?
     
  4. max0071

    max0071 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Posts:
    201
    YES!!!!!
     
  5. starsfan09

    starsfan09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    352
    Why would you want to Restore an Image from a Laptop you don't have anymore...to a brand New Laptop?
    I think you should really be making a New Backup Image of this New Laptop.
     
  6. max0071

    max0071 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Posts:
    201
    They are the same laptops. All my data and settings were restored.

    The alternative if I follow your logic is to reinstall the recovery disk, upgrade windows xp, the microsoft updates, redo my settings, all my programs, all my data.....I could of course do this if I mount my images and drag and drop...etc.........etc...........buy why would I do that and then "make a New Backup Image of this laptop"o_Oo_O?? Of course, I imaged my new toshiba 2 after it was all setup, but I still have Toshiba 1 backup in case anything goes wrong.

    I bought the exact same laptop.......wouldn't it be more sensible to transfer (restore) the hours it took to setup these settings on toshiba laptop 1 to laptop 2 o_O?? All the same drivers, and factory installs. So I imaged from laptop 1 to laptop 2 the long way round.

    The only issue in my mind is......I booted from windows and it took 2 hrs. to restore when it took me 8 minutes to backup.

    Be well
     
  7. starsfan09

    starsfan09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    352
    JMHO, I think you should've made an Image of the New Laptop in its Original state... instead of applying an Image from another machine. But oh well.

    When you applied the Image of another computer ...to your new Laptop, how many "Popups" did you get when Windows detected all the new Hardware? I assume you got a lot.

    Well good luck Max. Hope you solve all your problems. I'm out!!
     
  8. max0071

    max0071 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Posts:
    201
    I effectively have the New Laptop it its Original state.......my recovery disk that came the toshiba, so no need to take any image in the "original state".

    Actually I didn't get any popups.......why do u suggest I wouldo_O??

    Thanks
     
  9. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, max0071

    At least One because of a different [new] HDD. :(

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    max0071,

    I'm with you. That's what I would have done. It must have saved a heap of time not having to set up your data, programs and settings. After all, that's what Acronis Universal Restore is for but I realize you didn't need to use it.
     
  11. max0071

    max0071 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Posts:
    201
    It would make sense that I should, but I don't recall any. But my memory fails me at times.
     
  12. max0071

    max0071 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Posts:
    201
    JMHO=o_Oo_O?
     
  13. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    It stands for "Just My Humble Opinion".

    As far as I'm concerned, I would have done the same you did, the new laptop being exactly the same as the old one. In fact, before the Universal Restore add-on for the Workstation version of TI, that was the very condition that would allow for a successful migration to another computer. And in the instance that some unspecified different components were installed in the new computer (a later production of an officially same model), I would expect problems with the restored image working in Windows, or with Windows activation, but not 2 hrs to restore.

    What about the speed of other TI functions, in Windows as well as from Rescue CD?
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2006
  14. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    I think some of the comments were from people who missed the fact that this was a replacement with an identical new laptop (under warranty I hope :). Since the hardware is identical, the restore as you did it should have worked perfectly and it did.

    Your original question was why 2 hours to restore when the backup (under Windows) only took a few minutes. The difference is the USB drivers. The Windows drivers for your hardware are much better and therefore faster. The restore is done in a Linux environment, and the Linux USB drivers just are not that well suited to your hardware.

    There's not much that can be done about this except to check newer builds to see if the Linux drivers improve. An easy way to test is to make a backup after booting from the TI Recovery CD. The current Recovery CD should take about 2 hours to make a backup. If new drivers are provided in the future, a new Recovery CD will backup faster.

    If you have to restore frequently such that the two hours is a real pain, consider creating a Bart PE disk. This runs Windows from a CD and runs TI in a Windows environment where you will have the faster drivers.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.